Constellation Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Constellation Engineer Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
Constellation CEO Joseph Nigro
Joseph Nigro
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "New Hire Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Engineering Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Constellation for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is excellent and the benefits are awesome. Hours/day are somewhat flexible.

    Cons

    Employees generally work over 40 hours per week.

    Advice to Management

    Add OT to over 40 hours of work to keep employees happier.

    Constellation2013-07-11
  2. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer in Lowell, MA

    I worked at Constellation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, company was flexible to work for while life circumstances changed and required me to work part time for a few years.

    Cons

    owned by the largest utility company in the US and as you can expect there is a certain amount of red tape that goes with it.

    Advice to Management

    Even though you are the largest utility company in the US, keep thinking of ways to act like a small company

    Constellation2018-03-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good company for people that fit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Constellation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, bonus, benefit and people

    Cons

    Everything has a guide and I literally mean EVERYTHING.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Constellation2014-05-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay, poor treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Ontario, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Constellation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The money is good and there is a lot of training.

    Cons

    24/7 work life, military style management.

    Constellation2013-12-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "OK Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Constellation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good group of people, ok benefits

    Cons

    Manager was not fit to be a manager

    Constellation2013-10-30
  7. "Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Constellation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High pay under great place for job growth and learning.

    Cons

    High work load and location

    Advice to Management

    More streamlining and cross-disciplinary work

    Constellation2013-03-06
  8. "Engineer III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer III in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Constellation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flex work week, 4 weeks vacation

    Cons

    bonus does not always depend on how well you performed

    Advice to Management

    match salary with MRP

    Constellation2013-01-17
  9. "I have enjoyed my time there and am looking forward to growing in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Systems Engineer in Lusby, MD
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Constellation

    Pros

    Lots of room to grow due to the retiring work force. Also the salary is good and the people are very good and enjoyable to work with. I get the feeling that most workers would do a lot for each other.

    Cons

    The benefits (health care) were recently reduced, but that is more common with the new rules. Also the demands of the work week can often exceed the normal 40 hours.

    Constellation2012-02-26
  10. "Constellation Energy Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Constellation

    Pros

    Challenging work that I enjoy.

    Cons

    Politics of management sometimes seen at odds with making this place a friendly place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Quit being so bottom line oriented. Profit is important, but you won't make a dime without committed employees. Think longer term strategies.

    Constellation2011-08-07
  11. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Constellation

    Pros

    strong benefits challenging work environment good growth potential

    Cons

    flexibility is key to development and career growth. The company appreciates those who are flexible and willing to relocate - may be a con for those with strong roots in one area or a family that may be difficult to relocate. I've had difficulty in getting "opportunities for growth" or improvement from my direct supervisors during reviews. I'm a good employee, but not perfect, I know I can improve in some... areas, but no one seems to want to give "negative" feedback. I wish managers were better equipped to help their direct reports stretch and grow as employees. change is inevitable and sometimes unpredictable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think more emphasis and guidance on career development should be taken. I also think managers should be better equipped to see the development of those who work for them not as a threat but as an opportunity to build up strong employees for the business. I also think that if we're going to do something we should not just do it to say we've done it and check it off the list. I think we should do it and do it... well - whatever that may be: Knowledge sharing, mentor programs, career development programs etc.

    Show More
    Constellation2010-06-19
Found 10 reviews