Constellation Wines Reviews | Glassdoor

Constellation Wines Reviews

Updated 17 Sep 2015

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Constellation Wines CEO John A. (Jay) Wright (no image)
John A. (Jay) Wright
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company, good benefits, fair pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Canandaigua, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Constellation Wines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and bonus program. Competitive wages. Excellent senior leadership. Get results while being respectful, calm culture. Ops Senior Leadership is phenomenal. Best mentoring, freedom to try new things and leadership I have ever experienced.

    Cons

    More opportunity for training/developing employees. Pockets of management can be clicky and outside the standards of company culture and allowed to continue.

    Advice to Management

    Rotate your managers once a year to teach them different areas of the business, build respect for their peers and maybe uncover issues that would have not been discovered without the change.

    Constellation Wines2013-07-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Typical Dysfunctional Big Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Constellation Wines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. The Operations folks (winemakers, bottlers, ...) are a good bunch.

    Cons

    Very short term focus. Restructure regularly. Constant pressure to meet quarterly numbers. The standing joke was the the first thing they taught new HR hires was to memorize the following greeting: "Welcome to the Constellation family! Now, let's talk about your severance package." Lots of office politics. HQ in NY will micromanage you then blame you when things go wrong.

    Advice to Management

    A good 401k matching doesn't do employees a lot of good if you likely will be restructured out of a job before it's vested.

    Constellation Wines2015-09-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Constellation Wines

    Pros

    There are a few nice people in the organization that really do care about what they do.

    Cons

    It's a political game. Catty woman-run organization.

    Constellation Wines2014-03-06
  4. "Winemaking by bean counters!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Constellation Wines

    Pros

    Decent benefits, fair pay, and I was lucky to have managers who had my back.

    Cons

    Very little respect by upper management for the lowest level employees.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to take constructive criticism. Just because one style works for fortified wine production doesn't mean that will translate to the fine wine world.

    Constellation Wines2014-02-12
  5. "Nice employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Napa, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Constellation Wines for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment in which to learn

    Cons

    Somewhat disorganized in their approach

    Constellation Wines2013-06-13
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Miserable leadership & low caliber of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Constellation Wines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They own some popular wine brands, so you will be popular with friends who want to buy wine at a 50% discount through their corporate wine site.

    Cons

    Idiots run the asylum. HR is the most unethical bunch of cronies. The HR Director was recruited by the CMO on her Facebook page, public for all to see and everyone did see. This was done while there was another HR Director already in that role that they were trying to fire. That type of classy behavior runs rampant. The HR Director also speaks out of both sides of her mouth and clearly speaks when she shouldn't.... Can't keep a secret. The backstabbing is out of control, and the worst I've ever witnessed in a company. Don't come here expecting to move up the ranks. The top level positions are all filled with white men....an old boys network is definitely in place here. Some of the men are complete morons too and why they get promoted mystifies most . They don't encourage a healthy lifestyle.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Widen the dialogue to include those who are not white males.

    Constellation Wines2013-03-27
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Stay Away! Company doesn't care about its employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Constellation Wines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Basically the only wine company based in SF (move to Napa if you can).

    Cons

    - The people are big back stabbers. Don't trust anyone. Even the Director of HR couldn't keep quiet when they were in the process of firing a VP. Everyone in the office knew about it before it happened...I don't call that respect or confidentiality. For a company that is so focused on policy and rules, maybe HR should take a look at the handbook. - Listen to the other reviews - absolutely NO room for promotion.... They end up bringing in outside people to do the job you could have done with your eyes closed (or most likely were doing with your eyes closed for the past 10 months while they were once again "restructuring"). - Poor pay. They don't give raises unless you are promoted (which if you read point one, they don't).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within, evaluate the skills of senior leadership.

    Constellation Wines2012-09-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A good group to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Constellation Wines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people on the spirits team were a good group to work for The company had a lot of team building and events for their people Insurance benefits were top notch Stock options

    Cons

    Layoff's of the entire spirits division Micromanagement

    Constellation Wines2012-07-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad place to work but there is absolutely no room for career development."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Constellation Wines

    Pros

    Good work/life balance and decent benefits.

    Cons

    No room for career development and poor compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to communicate organization changes and please don't encourage people to join this organization with the hope that they will move up.

    Constellation Wines2012-02-29
  10. Helpful (8)

    "My position became just a paycheck to me at Constellation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Canandaigua, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Constellation Wines

    Pros

    for the area, pay and benefits are pretty much unmatched. At least once a week, there is a tasting and you get to sample new products, or do a taste testing for developing products. There is opportunity for education both on the company intranet and through outside sources.

    Cons

    After working there many years, and being one of the more tenured team members, I saw the morale come to devasting low levels, the stress increase exponentially, and those fresh out of college and/or the 'favorites of management' being promoted ahead of those with experience and loyalty to the company. There is a culture of favoritism that is disheartening. When you see MULTIPLE people taking medical leave for... stress, you know something is rotten. Don't even think about offering solutions to issues that differ in opinion to the management - you'll get either ignored for future conversations or reprimanded. I routinely saw co-workers in the bathroom for 'intestinal upset', people crying at their desks. My job became merely a means of financial survival. Now that I am out of the company I am happier, healthier, and yes, while making less at my current job, feel a satisfaction that I had not had in years with Constellation. There is LIFE after CWUS, and it's a better one.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Upper management creates a bottom line for each quarter without seriously considering how it's going to get there. Good people have been cut, and their workload split up among the remaining. You can't get blood from a stone. We can have all the flowery speeches and rah rah sessions in the world, but employees would rather have the support of management rather than being told to suck it up, because there are figures... to be met. Jay Wright is a brilliant, likeable man. I do think he has the ability to improve the morale, but he has to be given good information, not be told what those in self-preservation mode think he needs to hear.

    Show More
    Constellation Wines2011-12-02
Found 21 reviews