Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Reviews | Glassdoor

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
2%
Approve of CEO
Mick Mulvaney
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Travel policies are changing often making more administrative work for examiners(in 7 reviews)

  • "Growing pains from being such a new agency(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Interesting work/people in the office

      Cons

      Normal bureaucracy in this office

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2019-04-02
    • "Examiner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Examiner in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Government work, great on the job experience, meaningful work

      Cons

      Travel, buracracy, SMEs who are bad managers

      Advice to Management

      the golden rule!

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2019-04-26
    • "Good mission"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst 
      Recommends
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good benefits and time off. The mission is great, glad to help the American consumers

      Cons

      If you are an analyst in one of the regional offices, there are no opportunities for promotion unless you go to DC or be an examiner (with lots of travel).

      Advice to Management

      Don't roll out changes without having everything ready. Management in DC should figure out how to manage remotely, like the regional offices do so that people have more promotional opportunities.

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2019-04-07
    • "Great mission"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Specialist in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great mission and good people; although things have changed a lot under the current administration

      Cons

      Federal bureaucracy can sometimes slow things down

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2019-01-17
    • "Great benefits and decent pay for government work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau full-time

      Pros

      - great benefits such as time off, 401(k) match, health care, life insurance

      Cons

      - work environment highly impacted by political party in office

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2018-11-06
    • "Enforcement Attorney"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Extremely smart and committed people. Most everyone is motivated and mission-driven.

      Cons

      New administration slowed things down. Can be very bureaucratic (it is a bureaucracy).

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2018-09-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Program Assistant - Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Program Assistant in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau for more than a year

      Pros

      The employees and upper level management was very friendly and always happy to answer questions if you asked. You have access to online educational materials to increase your knowledge of a vast amount of subject matters. Government benefits are nice.

      Cons

      Lots of red tape. Very centralized in the way projects are handled, frequent lapses in communication streams. Little real engagement amongst coworkers, lack of camaraderie.

      Advice to Management

      I have no real complaints for management. I honestly wish they put more trust or had more for me to do in my time there. There were times I was getting paid to twiddle my thumbs and was eager for more work. I tried to do everything in my power to stay engaged and productive but kept checking off to do items on my list too quickly.

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2018-06-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "It’s a good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

      Pros

      Work is meaningful and not too stressful

      Cons

      Micro managers are all around

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2018-07-10
    • "Mission-Oriented Agency"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau full-time

      Pros

      Very mission-oriented, inspiring colleagues. Great work/life balance and compensation.

      Cons

      Advanced degrees are a necessity to progress. Fairly bureaucratic.

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2018-05-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau full-time

      Pros

      Goood budget, nice people and location

      Cons

      Poor leadership, no transparency, managers do not care

      Consumer Financial Protection Bureau2018-04-11
    Found 91 reviews