KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Contemporary VA

Is this your company?

Contemporary VA

Add a Review

Contemporary VA Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 20 reviews

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Contemporary VA CEO Scott Myers (no image)
Scott Myers
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I am glad I came across CVA

    Oct 4, 2021 - Assistant Virtual Assistant in Wilmington, DE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have amazing clients, work schedule, work environment, and amazing team members. If I ever need any type of support, they are always there no questions asked. This company is great to work for especially if you want to work from home.

    Cons

    N/A - I have not had any problems since working with CVA.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    So Happy I Found CVA

    Jun 14, 2021 - Client Advocate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive management team Diverse clients Steady yet flexible hours Consistent opportunities to advance Encourage work/life balance Monthly Training with professional companies

    Cons

    Great bonus opportunities for virtual assistants but not client advocates.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Ladies, protect yourself and do not over work yourself for this company

    Jun 5, 2021 - Project Virtual Assistant in McDonough, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with other intelligent women, Ability to make your own schedule

    Cons

    Low pay, No direct deposit (you'll have to wait for a check to be mailed), Some of the women were extremely catty.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    CVA's Changed...for the good

    Sep 10, 2020 - Team Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at CVA for almost 9 years. I started as a contractor and worked more internally before working my way up the VA side of the company and being a TL. The company has really changed over the last couple of years and for the better. Some of the pros are your generally work at home pro's: Work from home, no commute, etc. I've worked for three "at home" companies and I can say at this time, CVA is by far the best. I have the ability to work from home and be a bit flexible (I do work full time, so I need to be here the majority of the day) but I also can make dr appt runs, school parties, field trips, etc. I have people to talk to! I've worked at home jobs where I'm isolated all day and even for those who think they don't like the general public and are an introvert that can be lonely! We communicate via an internal system and email, etc. Once you've become a VA with clients (yes, it will take some effort) you have more consistent hours and work. I've been with CVA through the bad management years, the "mean girls" that have been mentioned in other reviews, and have seen the company come out the other side. I feel supported now when I couldn't say that a few years ago and am glad I stuck it out and saw that those few people weren't what CVA was really about. With a core team of great managers, HR staff who LISTENS, and management who really care about the team, our clients, and the success of the company, it's really turned around. When I came to CVA 9 years ago I didn't even really know what a VA was, but have learned so much and it's due to the solid training that the company provides.

    Cons

    There is a training period but it's a short window and once you've completed it, you'll be getting work. You do need to put in the effort to get the work- checking in with the team etc. The meetings that are mentioned are only once a month and are training for you to learn from, so it's a win, even if the hour is unpaid.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Nothing like described!

    Jul 14, 2020 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, which saves you on transportation cost.

    Cons

    The CEO is unreasonable, your "coworkers" will talk about you in order to advance. The job is a 1099- based contractor position. They want to low-ball you during training and then expect you to know everything they've thrown at you in a couple of days. Constantly told another way to do things by other assistants which seems like it's done on purpose to throw you off. CEO treats and talks to employees like children. Poor pay. Hours are not flexible, they make you work a minimum amount of hours and the window is non negotiable.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Contemporary VA Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review, if you could please reach out to Human Resources to discuss this further.

  6. 4.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Good but little hours

    Aug 26, 2020 - Virtual Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, lots of help, flexible hours

    Cons

    Contract positions, can be let go at any point of time without warning, not many hours available when first starting

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Contemporary VA Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. At CVA we are continually striving to better our processes and provide a stable and supportive environment for our team and clients. We will take your feedback into consideration moving forward.

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Good side job

    Aug 26, 2020 - Virtual Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Once you finally proved yourself, you had consistent work.

    Cons

    You had to fight for work by being the first on the job board. The work delegation was solely dependent on Team Leads so you had to make sure you were rubbing elbows with the right people to get work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Not as good of an opportunity as I thought

    Feb 5, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home opportunity

    Cons

    You can’t work for another VA company for two years if you work for them. The initial training is tough and unpaid. Have to compete with other assistants to get work.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Contemporary VA Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. At CVA we are continually striving to better our processes and provide a stable and supportive environment for our team and clients. We will take your feedback into consideration moving forward.

  9. 5.0
    Former Contractor

    Great work from home

    Feb 28, 2018 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many people only write reviews about a company that are negative. CVA might have been a mess to work for a couple years ago but now they are great. They cleaned house and got all new upper management they are fantastic. I have see some mixed reviews on here, the interview process was easy for me. I got assigned to an team and begun work the next day on recurring tasks. I love being able to work from home. My hours are flexible and I am always done by 5pm.

    Cons

    Unpaid monthly meeting (this has been brought up in previous post, however they don't tell you thay it is once a month and only an hour long) No insurance - but your an contractor

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Contemporary VA Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback!

  10. 3.0
    Former Freelancer

    Great company in many ways, but....

    Jul 23, 2016 - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a fantastic place for someone who is just starting out working from home, as they don't necessarily require experience and they put you through a LOT of training. They'll teach you everything you need to know about virtual assisting and digital marketing, etc. You will forget that you are working from home because everyone is constantly communicating all day long through Skype and the internal system. This can be a good and bad thing, actually. You can seriously learn so much from CVA but there are strings attached...

    Cons

    In the beginning, you are required to log in every day to their internal system with all of the other newbies, basically all day, and wait for an experienced VA to announce that they have a task available for you to do. Basically, whoever replies first gets the task. There may not be another task available at all after that but you are expected to be there and wait for one, as to not appear uninterested and also prove that you want to learn. You'll also be expected to attend weekly training/"meetings" of which you will not be paid, but if you do not attend they will use it against you on the review you must score well on to be "promoted" from a newbie to an actual Virtual Assistant and have clients of your own. If you are willing to do that, then you will have no problem. Personally, it was worth it to me to "invest" my time in order to be able to work from home and learn everything I needed to learn. Another thing... after you get promoted to VA after spending maybe a month begging for one 30 minute task a day and you FINALLY have a client - you will be pressured to delegate at least 20% of your new hours that you fought hard to get, to the new people who were hired after you. They sometimes create "contests" to see who can delegate the most work out. I see that as a way for them to pay less because the new people make way less per hour then the VA's who have been promoted, but they want you to think you're this leader/good influence for doing it. Yeah right. You'll basically be scolded if you don't, or considered not a "team player" which will also be used against you when you are up for the next review. There is also the "office politics" that everyone else has already mentioned - but it's true. There are "bullies" and they play favorites big time - management being the worst offenders. If you're lucky, you can be a favorite and you'll be just fine. You can't survive there if you think you can just do a great job and make your clients happy. You'll also need to be aware that when you leave CVA they will "check up" on you to make sure you are not working as a VA anywhere else or have a website of your own (for 2 years upon the day you leave) and if they do, they will send you cease & desist letters threatening to sue you.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Contemporary VA Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. At CVA we are continually striving to better our processes and provide a stable and supportive environment for our team and clients. We will take your feedback into consideration moving forward.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with Contemporary VA Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Contemporary VA? Share Your Experiences

Contemporary VA logo
or