Continental Anesthesia Reviews | Glassdoor

Continental Anesthesia Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
27%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Continental Anesthesia Founder & CEO Howard O. Schechter (no image)
Howard O. Schechter
6 Ratings
  1. "We are a wonderful, cooperative group of anesthesiologists."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anesthesiologist in Evanston, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Anesthesia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dr. Coleman is a warm, cooperative and helpful chairperson that we all appreciate.

    Cons

    We need more staff to help with our schedule.

    Continue reading
    Continental Anesthesia2014-01-17
  2. "A product and casualty of today's healthcare environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anesthesiologist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Continental Anesthesia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy hire, pay was reliable

    Cons

    Leadership absent or ineffective. Too much call. No protection against hospital/surgeon/nursing abuse. Some dangerous CRNAs w/ no recourse for improvement. Will sell out anyone/anything to get more work.

    Continue reading
    Continental Anesthesia2018-12-07
  3. "Heavy work hours. Call schedule4 to 5 inhouse OB calls and 4 to 5 2nd calls. Work post call till around 12 noon to 2pm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anesthesiologist in North Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Anesthesia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job in Chicago. Work longer hours get paid more. You may have to work close to 70hrs per week to make up your contracted salary

    Cons

    Long hours. Poor benefits. No tail insurance offered People in managerial positions work less and probably have a sweeter deal and different contract than you. Nurse anesthetist runs schedule which comes out late so no way of having a social life. Currently unstable group with significant shortage of MD 's Apparently sold to North star anesthesia

    Continue reading
    Continental Anesthesia2016-01-28
  4. "False Promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Continental Anesthesia full-time

    Pros

    You can be flexible with your time if the rest of your time is dedicated to work. Do not expect to have a life or family time with this job.

    Cons

    3 key people run this business strictly on emotion versus business logic. I felt like I was in junior high the whole time.

    Continue reading
    Continental Anesthesia2015-05-20
  5. "Office worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Office Worker in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Anesthesia

    Pros

    Management does not micromanage your work. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Currently being purchased by a company from Florida

    Continue reading
    Continental Anesthesia2015-04-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Hard Working People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anesthesiologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Anesthesia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been with Continental since coming out of residency. I've been able to maintain my skills by working in many surgical and non-surgical cases in a variety of settings. We do both supervision and our own cases. We are able to do as much variety in cases as is comfortable. I've had great colleagues through the years. We help each other out. I've definitely become a better physician because of this job.

    Cons

    The hours can be long and this is a call-heavy job. The benefits have improved in the past year but are still below average. The company tends to run short-staffed so sometimes there is pressure to work extra hours/ on vacation, etc

    Continental Anesthesia2014-09-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "New grads take heed to negative reviews."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Continental Anesthesia for less than a year

    Pros

    I agree nothing good to say about this company.

    Cons

    Very deceptive leadership who target naive and unsuspecting future employees. Groups that have a big turnover rate will attempt to keep core employees happy-hence the positive reviews by current employees. I advise all new grads both to note negative reviews. Don't even work here if you are desperate -your career will thank you. You are better off not working or doing locums. You have been warned.

    Continental Anesthesia2014-11-02
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Continental Anesthesia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy working for Continental and feel the experience has helped me grow professionally as a CRNA. I work with many wonderful anesthesia providers, all of whom are competent and reliable. At our hospital we have a great sense of camaraderie, and everyone works together really well. I am given opportunities to learn and grow as a CRNA, and I enjoy coming to work everyday. Another positive is the open line of communication with the Chief CRNA. She is always available to answer your phone call and listen to what you have to say. Also, the Chief Anesthesiologist at my site constantly does his best to meet the individual needs of the staff.

    Cons

    As previous reviewers have stated, there are no set shifts or guaranteed hours. This can be an issue for some people. I have found if I need a day off or have issues with where I am scheduled, it is very easy to speak with the schedulers, and my concerns are heard and addressed. Benefits could be better. No change in compensation based on experience or years with the company.

    Continue reading
    Continental Anesthesia2014-09-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anesthesiologist/Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Anesthesia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    We are one of the largest providers of anesthesia services in the Chicagoland area. You can use huge disparities in contract terms to your advantage if you take time to familiarize yourself with the local market.

    Cons

    1) Extremely poor morale. It is no secret that ownership is seeking either a buyer or an IPO. Profit is the number one concern. Management leads by fear that you could lose your job if you screw up or upset the wrong person. Frequent witch hunts and iron fist solutions to minor problems. This negatively impacts both the safety culture and the quality of care that we are able to provide our patients. 2) There are a few token women in leadership. However young female employees are particularly vulnerable to harassment and hostility, especially from specific group of older female employees, who view any young employee, especially females, as a threat. Lack of effective action by management to combat this issue has been very damaging to morale. 3) Troubling lack of transparency regarding pay and promotions. Despite your contract saying that you will be paid a salary, you are actually paid strictly by the hour (based on a 65 hour work week). This is a clever way for the company to get around paying overtime to its employees and is emblematic of the way the company works in general. You will sit at the same salary unless you speak up when it comes time for a raise. You will be told that salaries are competitive with the rest of the Chicagoland area, when they are often not even within 100k of the competition. You will be told that everyone of the same experience level is offered the same contract. This is definitely not true. 4) Chronically understaffed because it has a terrible reputation and people are always leaving. There seem to be a lot of transient employees who work here until they can find something better. Despite what they promise, you will often not be working at your "home" hospital. You may live and be granted a home hospital on the North Side, but you may be asked to travel to a South Side hospital on any given day depending on staffing. You will also be asked to travel through rush hour among various hospitals even when you are on call at another hospital. 5) Family/work balance is terrible. You will constantly be asked to work on your vacation days. 6) "Benefit" package is a joke. Residents have better benefits. 7) Use of technology is actually an impediment to patient care rather than an enabler of care. iPads are used to provide OR efficiency data, medication lists, patient demographics, and anesthesia billing information. All of which is used to enrich the corporation in one way or another. Count on spending 5-10 minutes per patient hand typing all of this data in.

    Continue reading
    Continental Anesthesia2014-08-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awful company, terrible management, little disregard to its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Anesthesia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is nothing good to say about this company. They have a bad reputation.

    Cons

    The turnover at this company is extremely high. At my hospital the company lost 5 employees (2 MD's and 3 CRNA's) in less than six months due to the terrible working conditions. They inadequately staff their facilities and routinely keep employees over 24 hour call to staff the OR's the next day. The number of calls they force you to take is much higher than originally discussed in your interview, plus when you are not on call, you get stuck working late anyways because the people that are on call might be working somewhere else and you have to wait for them to show up, or they just keep all the OR's open so you have to stay anyways. You are forced to work weekends turning the 10-14 hrs shifts during the week into six day work weeks, all because they don't have enough staff and the can't retain the employees they do have. There is no extra compensation for hours worked over 40 for CRNA's and there is no extra pay for holidays. In contrast, you could have the other misfortune of being assigned to a lower census hospital and you go home everyday around 11am or noon or be called off once a week and never make the salary you were told and budgeted for. You are either overworked with no life, or underworked with no money to have a life. You are completely at their mercy with this company. They don't rotate you to places that are in your best interest, they send you where they need you. So the fact that you have to commute 2 hours to go one place and a hospital they also provide services to is down the street from you means nothing to them. Also, the vacation packages are less than many competitors. If you are a CRNA, there is one Chief CRNA for all the hospitals but a Chief Anesthesiologist at every hospital so good luck with finding someone to advocate for you.

    Continue reading
    Continental Anesthesia2014-07-29
Found 11 reviews