Continental Properties Community Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Community Manager

Continental Properties Community Manager Reviews

Updated 2 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Continental Properties CEO James H. Schloemer
James H. Schloemer
7 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic environment and a team that supports it's culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Community Manager in Savage, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Properties full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very positive work environment, great on the job training and coaching, good benefits, beautiful homes and work spaces

    Cons

    I am a fairly new employee, but so far I have not seen any cons

    Advice to Management

    Continue living the culture

    Continental Properties2019-12-02
  2. "Just don’t"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Community Manager in Romeoville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Continental Properties full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    On site team becomes like family, some great residents, good pto.

    Cons

    Awful Chicago person who can’t get her story straight. Changing time cards without approval, she doesn’t offer to help but yet criticized every aspect of every employee, and talks crap about other residents and employees., overkill on the “training” lease ups can be long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your on site staff, not just the higher ups, they don’t always tell the whole truth. You have lost a lot of great employees due to awful people trying to “run” things. The people who work on your property day in and day out deserve so much more recognition for what they deal with. I felt forced to leave a job that I absolutely loved because of the bullying happening from Someone. HR was absolutely no help... either and went as far as telling me my letter of resignation didn’t match my former complaints (note complaintS). My letter shouldn’t have to match all my former complaints and that shouldn’t ever dismiss someone’s concerns with another employee.

    Show More
    Continental Properties2019-09-21
  3. "Company with TONS of potential and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Continental Properties full-time

    Pros

    Growing company, good pay, decent benefits

    Cons

    Micro managing from the Home Office. A lot of focus on the negative and not the positive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the growth!!

    Continental Properties2019-06-20
  4. "Great, but can be overwhelming at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Properties full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My regional manager is awesome about helping me with questions as I am learning, as well as other team members within Continental. The company is very tech friendly so that saves a lot of time when it comes to submitting applications, and getting other task completed throughout the day. I absolutely love the buddy system. Being paired with someone who is already familiar with the company, policies, how to use... utilize the tools Continental offers has been very helpful and beneficial for me as I transition.

    Show More

    Cons

    My first week of training I was flew out to another property to do online training classes that I could have completed at home. In that week I went over through several hours of online training, but when I got back I wasn't prepared to know what was expected such as when reports were due or how to complete those reports. Since everything is online you receive so many emails and with everything else going on its... hard to stay organized, especially because I did not have a printer for 3 weeks. Also, I had something go wrong on my trip in which I had to be off of work for 3 days to get it situated and although everything came back good, worked out, and I did nothing wrong. I didn't get paid for those days and I don't think that was fair.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start the buddy program the first week of work, so that the new employee has some type of support as they are learning all this new information.

    Continental Properties2019-04-24
  5. "Growing Rapidly, company can’t keep up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Community Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Properties full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is competitive and I like most of my co-workers, were basically family.

    Cons

    The company is growing so rapidly they can’t keep up with hiring people to make sure current staff isnt being being overworked. Promoting people to oversee a specific area and they decide they don’t think people are knowledgeable enough in their jobs, constantly sending demeaning emails and making comments about needing “new” training yet can’t give specifics, nothing is consistent, policies change depending on... who you’re talking to and what they feel like doing that day. Area managers feel they’re “above” the rules and don’t follow company policies, leaving on site staff to fix their messes. The constant training that takes away from getting work done is frustrating and if you miss a training you’ll get reprimanded

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your on site staff, believe it or not we deal with a lot of crap and don’t get enough recognition for all that we do! If a property is stabilized and meeting numbers there is no reason to be open on Sunday’s! Let people spend time with their families

    Continental Properties2019-04-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Organized, Strong Company Culture with Emphasis in Ethics & Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Properties full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company that walks the talk. SR Management values intelligence, feedback, ethics and talent. Lots of growth opportunities! I am proud to call Continental home.

    Cons

    There are an over abundance of software platforms that are not efficiently integrated. There seems to be a system for each individual operation. It would be great if the systems 'talked' to each other better. Company credit cards vs. petty cash. Petty cash seems to be a blast from the past.

    Continental Properties2019-03-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "New and Very Happy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental Properties full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've only been employed with Continental Properties for a short time, but I know I made the right decision in joining this team. The hiring process was lengthy, but well worth it. It gave me the opportunity to meet many on the upper management team that I would not necessarily have met, and made me feel as though I was empowered right from the start. One thing I've noticed is how everyone encourages and promotes... each other to strive to be the best and to provide the best customer service possible. Many preach customer service but few actually practice it. Continental Properties actually practices it! This helps create a more enjoyable and pleasing environment not only for the customer but also for the employee by cutting down and trying to eliminate the negativity. I still have a lot of Continental's best practices and policies to learn, but am looking forward to doing so!

    Show More

    Cons

    While I am still new and know I have some speed bumps to work through, I have not experienced any cons regarding Continental Properties to date.

    Continental Properties2017-03-20
Found 7 reviews