Control4 Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Control4 Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Control4 President and Chief Executive Officer Martin Plaehn (no image)
Martin Plaehn
9 Ratings
  1. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Control4 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the engineers I worked with were very good. I felt that the managers I worked with were good at navigating politics and letting us work.

    Cons

    Some of the management people I reported to weren’t good at defining all my responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    At the time I left there wasn’t a compensation package that involved stock grants. This was a mistake, and I believe it has been addressed since I left.

    Control42019-03-05
  2. "Average Pay, Below Average Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Draper, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Control4 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After 6 months of employment, you're entitled to beta test equipment in your own home.

    Cons

    Not a whole lot of morale, the company just got bought, benefits could be better, 401k match is weak.

    Control42019-09-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with some challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Control4 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Control4 has an amazing prospect to change peoples homes.

    Cons

    The execution of projects is not always the best and communication between teams could be improved.

    Control42019-02-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "uncertain futures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Draper, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Control4 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Writing software for home automation systems is awesome - Employee beta program means I have far more high-tech in y home than I could ever afford otherwise.

    Cons

    - HA technology ecosystem is very volatile, especially regarding security - Given increasing investment by Google, Amazon, Apple, it's hard to say how much of the high-end pie will be left for companies like Control4

    Advice to Management

    - Ignore the low-end market to your peril - Self-service, DIY, whatever you want to call it is emerging and isn't going away, don't disdain it, embrace it

    Control42018-04-24
  5. "Over all pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Control4 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits were decent. Friendly people and not a toxic environment. Good lunch facilities and gym.

    Cons

    Pay was below average. Certain departments mismanage or don't have proper experience managing software engineers. Bathrooms were severely overcrowded.

    Advice to Management

    Anyone with software engineer as a title needs to be managed by someone with a firm grasp of the languages and tech being developed.

    Control42018-03-16
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Good overall, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Draper, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Control4 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed, family-oriented environment. The work life balance is great. There some flexibility in the work schedule. The technology is good. Free and discounted equipment is available after a brief period with the company. Occasional lunch provided by the company. Some of the company activities are good. Below management level, some of the people are genuinely sincere, friendly and very helpful. Opportunity to learn different technologies and skills. The quality of pay depends on the individual.

    Show More

    Cons

    Upward mobility from within the company, career growth, bonuses and promotions are practically non-existing. Innovative technology is a figment of one's imagination. Mid management says they encourage this. However, their attitudes and actions prove otherwise. There are toxic people in this environment who seems to poison any progress of existing projects. Furthermore, it seems these people have too much clout in major decision making. Finally, the most loud and obnoxious people in a meeting room will be heard over more reasonable voices. The health benefits are sub par. Stock options have been removed as part of the benefits package. The quality of QA is terrible. This organization releases software containing known issues. The organization and its processes are in need of improvements. Mid management and project management are both questionable. There's is lack of and inconsistent vision, direction and planning. The CEO seems to care more about his image than his people, the product and the end consumer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Highly talented engineers are very difficult to find, let alone retain. Reward those high performers, and seek to make improvements in order to maintain high morale and loyalty. The toxic people must be removed or entire departments will be destroyed.

    Control42016-11-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Control4 for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No shortage of work. New products and features are constantly being spec'd out. There lots of gadgets to play with. Colleagues are very friendly.

    Cons

    The louder voices tend to be heard over the more reasonable voices.

    Control42015-08-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A normal place to work at, good colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Control4 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have a very comfortable workplace and also I have good colleagues. Sometimes the company provides us free food. And we attend some activities as well.

    Cons

    I don't see a very bright future of myself, but if you come here, please be more specific on the way you choose. Choose from Audio / Video, HVAC cloud service or security.

    Advice to Management

    Pay me more

    Control42014-06-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Control4 Rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Senior in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Control4 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and great environment. Allowed to innovate

    Cons

    Accomplishments are over looked by management.

    Control42013-12-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It was a short stop for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Control4 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    investors seem steady, home automation is fun to work with

    Cons

    work environment, management, lack of company growth

    Control42013-03-01
Found 13 reviews