Convergys "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

Convergys Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Convergys CEO Andrea Ayers
Andrea Ayers
1,779 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Convergys ran contracts like a call center(in 175 reviews)

  • "low pay for the amount of stress(in 134 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Hazelwood, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Convergys full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I came here by accident looking for a summer job, then planned to go back to school. What I found has kept me here for 15 years. When I came to Convergys, I loved that I was helping people...and that it was one person at a time, in a clean, friendly environment. Soon after, I found We are a fun, motivated group...and so diverse that anyone can find a place with us. You can get help with education costs and... mentoring for a future - both in online learning and direct input from your managers. You can find opportunities in areas such as management, training, recruiting, HR, finance - the possibilities are endless. Their medical insurance covers some really good programs and we have access to online tools to support you being the best you possible.

    Show More

    Cons

    For the privacy and security of our clients' customers, call center agents are not allowed to use cell phones while on the production floor. As our agent scheduling is done based on client needs, so it is really stressed that agents be available for calls according to their schedule. Your start time may flex within a window of time on some programs, so you may not start the same time every day.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate your expectations very clearly in order of importance.

    Convergys2016-10-11
  2. "Typical call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at Convergys full-time

    Pros

    Pay was pretty good for the time and the fact that it's a call center.

    Cons

    Terrible team leaders and management.

    Advice to Management

    Stay off your phones during work.

    Convergys2019-04-30
  3. "Great job opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Insurance Agent in Rio Rancho, NM
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Convergys

    Pros

    Bonus. Fun people. Great work environment.

    Cons

    Commute. Call center points based.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Convergys2018-12-01
  4. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Convergys full-time

    Pros

    Nice facility, nice break room, cafeteria, and outside area.

    Cons

    Just another typical call center and the people there were ghetto.

    Convergys2018-11-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Relaxed Environment & Amazing Co-Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arnold, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Convergys full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Convergys is a great place to work. I have been here for many years, and I don't plan on leaving any time soon. My co-workers are like family; my managers are approachable and caring; I'm paid well; and my location is very accessible for people living in and around the St. Louis, MO area. I work 8 hour shifts with two paid 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute lunch, giving me plenty of opportunity to care for my... personal needs throughout my workday. I'm given 2 unpaid days off every quarter to use as I want, and I accumulate paid time off with every paycheck. I can use my PTO balance whenever I like, whether I want to leave early for a day or save my balance to take a week or two off work. Management is very good about making sure employees have a good Work/Life Balance. Our site is also very good about not penalizing employees for inclement weather days, such as not being about to make it in or being late due to snow. All of this may seem unimportant, but there are not many companies in the area who are willing to accommodate the needs of their employees. I value that very much. Whatever department you work in, you will be given the training, tools, and support needed to perform well in your role. Floor support is outstanding, and our managers are constantly on the lookout for opportunities to keep morale high throughout the day. They will answer any question you have and make sure you are successful on your calls. This is extremely important in a call center environment. Sadly, there are many people in our surrounding community who don't have high opinions of Convergys due to experiences with past projects. However, management has been working very diligently to improve the perception of working at Convergys. We have all new projects and companies. People are smiling and happy to come to work. It is amazing to see the changes that have occurred in the past 6 months. I can finally say that I have a low stress, enjoyable job that pays well. I encourage anyone who is looking for work to push what they've heard about Convergys aside and come in for an interview.

    Show More

    Cons

    No fixed days off, Work some holidays

    Convergys2018-09-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Watch Your Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN

    I worked at Convergys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    call center work is demanding but works well for some folks there are opportunities to move up or over if you mesh well with the work and the management culture

    Cons

    low level managers and their in-groups are very cliquish and thin-skinned if two or more gang up against you whatever has happened will be misrepresented upbeat toxicity

    Convergys2018-09-22
  7. "Customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Convergys full-time

    Pros

    Good pay for entry level call center work. Casual dress code

    Cons

    Training sucks. Will have to learn on the floor.

    Convergys2018-08-27
  8. "The best part was the training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Convergys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is competitive for local area

    Cons

    Chaotic call center Unprofessional management Unreliable information and policies

    Convergys2018-07-31
  9. "Meh place for meh salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Call Center Representative in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Convergys for less than a year

    Pros

    No uniform for my position. Good coworkers. Easy to climb up

    Cons

    Management is real bad. It's a call center so gotta deal with ignorant people all day

    Advice to Management

    Stop screwing over people

    Convergys2018-07-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great 1st job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Convergys full-time

    Pros

    This was my 1st job in a new city. Entry level pay is crappy but if you have a plan, you can move up.

    Cons

    Call center environment means call center issues... Gossiping, petty etc.

    Convergys2018-05-30
Found 263 reviews