Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Cook Children's Health Care System President and CEO Rick W. Merrill
Rick W. Merrill
148 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The normal of having personality conflicts or some of upper management just seeming to be jaded and burned out(in 10 reviews)

  • "I was so happy to work at Cooks(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great staff, great pay, truly care about employees

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    December 28, 2020Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you so much for being one of nursing heroes! We are so glad that you enjoy working for Cook Children's! We do our best to take care of staff.

  2. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registared Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything is great at cook

    Cons

    I love everything about cook


  3. "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Occupational Therapist 
    Recommends

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System part-time

    Pros

    Pay and support was great!

    Cons

    No benefits if PRN, responsible for purchasing equipment on own.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    January 15, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for letting us know about your experience at Cook Children's! We are so happy that you liked the support you received with us. While we do not offer benefits to PRN staff, we do allow our PRN staff to participate in our 403(b) program, as well as our EAP program.

  4. "Satisfied every single day"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    A workplace that you go into each day and feel like you are making an impact in improving the local community through your actions. Our staff and leadership express strong empathy, imagination and compassion. The work is exciting. Families are our pure focus, with employee health and satisfaction HEAVILY on leadership's mind. Work that feels good. I drive in excited to contribute each day, I drive home satisfied.

    Cons

    Lots of dual-roles to manage while the system is learning to balance staffing during an important growth period. Adds to your daily responsibilities, but also keeps you on your toes ... evolving with the system.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    January 15, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for all your hard work as one of our directors at Cook Children's! It makes us so happy to hear that you come to work excited and happy every day!

  5. "Good management, average benefits"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Systems Analyst in Fort Worth, TX

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    Management really cares about the staff

    Cons

    Benefits are only average. Could use better health coverage for adults.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    January 15, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy that you can tell how much our managers at Cook Children's care about our staff. We appreciate the feedback on our benefits. Cook Children's does offer four different medical plans, but we are always open to hearing what our staff would like in those plans.

  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and shift differential

    Cons

    Difficult to advance your career

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    January 11, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience at Cook Children's! We are lucky to have great pay and shift differentials. We are concerned that you feel like you cannot advance your career here, and we would like to know more. Please, let us know your concerns by e-mailing AskTalentAcquisition@cookchildrens.org.

  7. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Enjoyed the culture.

    Cons

    Far drive from Dallas to get there

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    January 11, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your feedback on your time with Cook Children's! We are glad that you enjoyed our culture, and we hope that your career path brings you back to Cook Children's. Our Prosper medical center may be closer for you, and it will be open late this year.

  8. "Loved it!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Childcare Worker in Fort Worth, TX

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    I loved working here, it was great!

    Cons

    No cons about anything, it was great!

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    January 11, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for the awesome feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed working at Cook Children's, and we hope your career journey bring you back to us soon!

  9. "Staff Nurse"

    3.0
    Current Employee - RN, MSN in Fort Worth, TX

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    Working with children Tuition reimbursement Starbucks...when it's open.

    Cons

    -The little people (bedside nursing) that keep the place afloat don't seem to matter as much as upper admin or those that don't work the bedside anymore. You are always replaceable. -It's about WHO you know, not what you know or what you do. -Pay is 6-10% less than surrounding hospitals and Dallas Children's so it's pretty much the same level of work for way less pay. They also won't pay any market adjustments to keep up with the rising expenses of living in or around DFW. -Don't offer float pay or critical care pay when sent to critical care units, but ICU nurses continue to get their differential when floating to med surg units. -Emotional/mental abuse bedside care staff deal with from families and other staff is never addressed appropriately by management. There are a lot of biases in favor of those that have worked there a long time or families that are friends with executive personnel. -It's a business first like most hospitals, patient safety is not always a priority when it comes to saving money. -You don't really get to use the PTO you earn if your plans interfere with low staffing or managers vacation/time off. -Essentially, it's like any other hospital so don't think that because it's for children that's it a better place to work.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    January 11, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are concerned by your feedback on the treatment of bedside staff and patient safety. Please, reach out to us at AskTalentAcquisition@cookchildrens.org, to tell us more.

  10. "great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Echo Tech in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great health benefits, great co-workers

    Cons

    there was a lack of schedule flexibility

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    December 3, 2020Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your time with Cook Children's! We are so happy that you enjoyed our benefits and your coworkers. Our hope is that your career journey will bring you back to Cook Children's in the future.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 262 English Reviews