Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews | Glassdoor

Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews

Updated April 20, 2017
109 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Rick W. Merrill
66 Ratings

109 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • CCHCS has good benefits and competitive salary (in 9 reviews)

  • Awesome hours, and great work/life balance (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • High turnover due to below market pay and lack of support from upper management (in 3 reviews)

  • Lack of support from internal management (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Nurse Resident"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Resident in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Nurse Resident in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The nurse residency program is awesome! You rotate through the entire hospital for 6 months and then are placed on a unit. The program offers a great learning opportunity for new graduate nurses and allows new grads to gain confidence.

    Cons

    There are three separate tracks of the program now, so you have to choose med-surg/subspecialties, critical care, or perioperative services.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for the great feedback! We appreciate it!


  2. "Care Partner"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Partner in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Care Partner in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits
    Caring for children
    Beautiful hospital

    Cons

    Food is pricey
    Long shifts
    Parking is a long walk

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Feb 27, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for telling us about your experience! We appreciate the honest feedback.


  3. "Awesome Employer!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Vocational Nurse in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Licensed Vocational Nurse in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Awesome medical, dental, and pet insurance benefits including affordable rates. This company cares about its employees and patients. This is where I plan to retire!

    Cons

    This is a large company with several different entities. In my opinion opportunities for career advancement doesn't exist in some areas.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Feb 27, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Patient centric culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Culture drives employees to do their very best for their patients every day they show up for work.

    Cons

    Little growth opportunity for non clinical employees.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for providing us with feedback! if you would like to tell us more, do not hesitate to reach out to us through reputation@cookchildrens.org.


  6. "Very rewarding place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Therapist in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Family Therapist in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Cook is a fun place to work. I think that, especially if you are a nurse, you have a lot of opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    If you're not a nurse, there are not nearly as many opportunities for growth within the organization.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience!


  7. "Great company, great people!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People, processes, attitudes, technology, opportunity, outlook, compensation, work/life, variety, training, more

    Cons

    None that I can think of...

    Advice to Management

    Doing a great job, thanks!

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jan 28, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us! We are glad that you are happy to be a part of the Cook Children's family!


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Rn-BSN"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN, Bsn in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - RN, Bsn in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great working with kids. They are awesome and so awe inspiring. I loved working there and thought I'd be there forever for I am a potsticker and I loved my job and the people I worked with

    Cons

    Management with all the growth over the last 8-10 years, it all came down to the bottom line instead of the safety of the children, with experienced and well certified employees. In which I was very decorated. But when issues come up that should involve the DEA, due to the amount of norcotics taken by staff.

    Advice to Management

    Need to take better care of the staff and the well decorated ones than putting your a child's life in jeapordy, they should care more.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Nov 28, 2016

    We appreciate you taking the time to respond by sharing your experiences with us, and we'd like hear more about your situation. Please contact us at: reputation@cookchildrens.org Thank you!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "So far my experience has been great. Recruiters very attentive. Managers are there to help. Parking is reserved."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Trainer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay
    Benefits
    Parking
    Management
    Everyone is my department is friendly and helpful. This has been a great transition moving to a new state and new company.

    Cons

    N/a so far it's been a great experience, I don't have any cons I've been very impressed with Cooks !

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Oct 29, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate it!


  10. "Great place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Speech-Language Program Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Speech-Language Program Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Wonderful positive culture, room for advancement, supportive staff & management, financially stable, exceptional patient care

    Cons

    No significant cons at this time.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Sep 23, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for being a part of our team!


  11. Helpful (2)

    "IT Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work. Caring leadership team. High performing organization. Employee engagement is a high priority. Consistently in the top 100 places to work. Opportunities for growth and promotion.

    Cons

    Below average pay to industry standard. Average benefits. Limited bonus structure.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Sep 1, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you!



Showing 109 of 116 reviews
Reset Filters