Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews | Glassdoor

Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews

Updated December 3, 2017
134 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Rick W. Merrill
81 Ratings

134 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Company has good benefits including good medical insurance (in 11 reviews)

  • Great benefits, clean hospital, gratifying experience to work with children (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Understaffed, poor work/life balance and turn over (in 3 reviews)

  • Big downfall for employees is that upper management is very out of touch with things that are really happening (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Care Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Partner
    Current Employee - Care Partner
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great staff, town, and environment to work.

    Cons

    Expansive area to live, if wanting an apartment close by.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Sep 29, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for being a part of Cook Children's! We have heard that some apartment complexes will give you a discount if you tell them you work with us!


  2. "Medical Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Technologist in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Medical Technologist in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    excellent management and fair workload. lots of opportunities to make more and to advance yourself

    Cons

    very strict with timeclocks and lunchtime punches. you get demerits for late/early punches and you can be put on administrative review if you get too many

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your comments. We would like to discuss your concern with you. A grace period is allowed of 6 minutes for clocking. Discussions are held with employees when they have excessive... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Cooks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly, Wholesome, Good Benefits, flexible, non-profit

    Cons

    Political, Nepotism, Tenure, Communication, Interfacing with clinicians is messy.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Nov 22, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    We appreciate your feedback! We value our employees, and we want to know what we can do better. If you would like to give use more information, please contact us at... More


  4. "Pharmacy technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    staff is very friendly, very good benefit.

    Cons

    walk about 5-8 miles per day as a technician.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Nov 22, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate it, and we thank you for being a part of Cook Children's!


  5. "Poor management in the warehouse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping and Receiving in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Shipping and Receiving in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Company has good benefits including good medical insurance.

    Cons

    Management not involved with their employees. Too much drama.

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved with your employees (team). Attitude reflects leadership.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    We appreciate your feedback! We value our employees, and we want to know what we can do better. If you would like to give use more information, please contact us at... More


  6. "Compliance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    great company , atmosphere is great

    Cons

    The health plan is very unorganized. it seems they are trying to gain their footing on some aspects of operations. Job title doesn't fit job duties

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for being a part of Cook Children's! We appreciate the feedback, and we will definitely review it.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Cook Childrens Health Plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are great. Flexibility with when one take PTO.

    Cons

    Racism- HR Department in the Health Plan building once gave advice to a supervisor on how to treat ' Hispanics' stating that they are overly sensitive.
    Management- Lack of leadership to the point that it becomes very disorganized. Projects can never be completed on time since everyone feels like they are in charge and they fight amongst themselves to come out on top.
    The building is old and molding. Bathrooms sometimes have no water and smell disgusting.

    Advice to Management

    Too many cooks in the kitchen cannot do anything. Get focused and organized or you will loose Alot of good employees.

  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    nice people to work with

    Cons

    salary, benefits, management needs more people friendly experience

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for the feedback! We appreciate it because it helps us grow as a company!


  9. "A Place for the Incompetent to Flourish!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The activities provided to the children seeking care and their families. Child Life and the care they provide with their highly trained therapy dogs.

    Cons

    Top heavy with incompetent management. Toxic unsupportive abusive culture with no means to report. Management/HR violate their own Code of Conduct. No growth opportunities for the competent because you may question the incompetence of others and they need someone to do the work they cannot do. Analytical thinkers are seen as a threat.

    Advice to Management

    They all need to go and start over with competent qualified professional individuals.


  10. "Medical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Fort Worth, TX

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Professional Environment
    Great Benefits
    Physicians were absolutely awesome to staff and patients

    Cons

    Pay was ok but could have been better

    Advice to Management

    I started at Cook’s in 2001. This has been my all time favorite place to work. Please continue to do what you are doing.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Sep 29, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for great feedback! We hope you will consider coming back to Cook Children's, soon!


Showing 134 of 142 reviews
Reset Filters