Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews | Glassdoor

Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews

Updated August 1, 2017
118 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Rick W. Merrill
70 Ratings

118 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The people in this organization are what make it a truly great place to work (in 9 reviews)

  • CCHCS has good benefits and competitive salary (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Understaffed, poor work/life balance and turn over (in 3 reviews)

  • On the non-clinical side of operations there is not much room for advancement (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Secretary in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Unit Secretary in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    As a former empl's oyee I have nothing negative to say. No place is perfect, but this place is .

    Cons

    Health benefits are expensive but good. If your child is admitted to Cook Childrens hospital it is paid for 100%

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Apr 29, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for the feedback! We hope that you will consider coming back to Cook Children's, in the future.


  2. "Cook Childrens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    Good company. They offer a lot of benefits

    Cons

    Like many places sometimes it is sometimes too
    corporate and the bottom line gets
    in the way of caring for the patients. They do care about making patients happy and hiring very good peope.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for being a part of Cook Children's! We really appreciate the feedback.

  3. "Great place to work but HR is not fair!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Act in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Act in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work! No room for advancement if you are not a nurse!

    Cons

    HR department is the worst! I was terminated for working on leave of absence. I was not working, just receiving a salary from a part time job. When I called the HR would not discuss. My department I worked in always gave me glowing reviews!!!

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to have a management change!

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jul 18, 2017

    Please email us at reputation@cookchildrens.org so we may listen to your concerns. Thank you.


  4. "Government Account Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Government Account Representative
    Current Employee - Government Account Representative
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Our managers do not micromanage, work hours are great, the benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    moral needs a lot of help

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees' concerns and actually do something to help us out.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    We appreciate your feedback! If you would like to tell us more, please send us an e-mail to reputation@cookchildrens.org.


  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    People are there for the right reasons, to take care of the kids.

    Cons

    Completely corporate care now, and ran as such.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We would like to hear more about your experience. You can e-mail us through reputation@cookchildrens.org, or you can call HR at 682-885-4419.


  6. "Pharmacy Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Ok Benifits
    -It's a Job
    -No Shortage of Hours

    Cons

    -Work life balance is terrible, expect to rack up 10 hours of overtime every week
    -Problem retaining staff
    -Expect a bad schedule
    -They give a lot of PTO to use but you will never get to use it
    -Unnecessarily stressful because you will be doing the work of 3 people because
      a lot of people will show up to their shift and not do any work
    -If you get on overnights you will be stuck there until you quit
    - Supervisors are useless and its a shell game on whether or not they want to help make this place a little better to work in


  7. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great workforce. Love the clinical staff. You can really tell that everyone is there for the kids and goes above and beyond to make them feel better. There is lots of teamwork in the nursing staff and everyone tries to make it a positive work environment.

    Cons

    Not the greatest benefits in the world, but they are competitive with other employers in the metroplex.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jun 19, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We truly appreciate it.

  8. "IT leadership inexperienced, disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Employee
    Current Employee - IT Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    ○ Benefits
    ○ Occupational Health
    ○ Free parking, coffee

    Cons

    ○ Lacks leadership strength
    ○ Many managers are former analysts, non-tech types, promoted from within...haven't a clue how to manage 1) a department, or 2) top-notch people
    ○ Turnover
    ○ Decisions oftentimes based on feel, emotion, hunch, rather than fact-based
    ○ Privileged few get to work-from-home
    ○ Epic conversion has leadership worried, frazzled. Recent demotion of Epic project manager indicates reactive nature of decision-making
    ○ Epic employees expected to work O/T
    ○ Limited IT development opportunities. Work mostly on third-party apps, not the place for a dev geek/rockstar. Old technology (web forms circa 2010) No MVC, WebAPI, cloud, etc.
    ○ No casual Friday
    ○ "For the kids..." mantra is lip service

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jun 26, 2017

    Thank you for your honest feedback. Your concerns will be shared with leadership.


  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great team, caring people. Highly recommend.

    Cons

    If you work hard and contribute to the team, no downsides.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jun 27, 2017

    Thank you for the review. We are proud that you feel this is a great place to work.


  10. "Solid employer with positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Passionate administration and co-workers. It's a collaborative environment where your input is valued. You truly get to be a part of making the lives of patients better.

    Cons

    On the non-clinical side of operations there is not much room for advancement. You're hired for a specific role and unless management determines there is a need for more than you were hired to do, you can feel stuck in your duties.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being passionate about the mission statement as that trickles down to the employees.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    May 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for the feedback! We promise to be passionate about our mission statement.! We hope that your career will bring you back to Cook Children's.


Showing 118 of 125 reviews
Reset Filters