KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Cook Children's Health Care System

Engaged Employer

Cook Children's Health Care System

Add a Review

Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 405 of over 429 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Cook Children's Health Care System President and CEO Rick W. Merrill
Rick W. Merrill
225 Ratings
Pros
  • "This is a great hospital to work for with great benefits(in 35 reviews)

  • "Established institution, good benefits, great culture, genuinely devoted to their mission(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Stingy upper management (often work without a tech or secretary for the unit)(in 12 reviews)

  • "Very competitive to get in nurse residency or posted jobs(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cook Children's Health Care System and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Medical assistant

      Aug 26, 2021 - Medical Assistant in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment and able to use most medical assisting skills

      Cons

      Not any that I can really think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for being a Medical Assistant at Cook Children's! We are glad that you have an environment where you can use your skills and grow your career.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good overall

      Jan 19, 2022 - Lead Applications Analyst in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay scale for area

      Cons

      To many people and no decisions made

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for being a part of Cook Children's Information Technology team! Your work is the backbone of our computer systems that serve our patients, families, and staff.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love it

      Jan 14, 2022 - Health Insurance Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work at your pace and independent

      Cons

      Not being able to work from home

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoy working at Cook Children's! We are still evaluating what jobs can be moved to a hybrid schedule. It can be harder to move positions in a clinic to a fully remote job.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Welcoming place to work

      Jan 11, 2022 - Physician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very welcoming place to work. Other employees are helpful and dedicated to the mission of taking care of the kids.

      Cons

      Easy to overwork and burn out

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your kind words! Our Cook Children's Physicians are the backbone of our amazing healthcare system, and we thank you for all that you do. You are right when you say our team is dedicated to our mission.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great people

      Jan 12, 2022 - LMSW in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with. Work from home.

      Cons

      Limited growth or advancement opportunities. Pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate all your hard work to find services and programs for Cook Children's patients. Your work is a vital part of how we keep Our Promise to our patients and families. We hope that the three percent increase in January will help with your pay concerns.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love it!

      Jan 10, 2022 - Program Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working at Cook Children's.

      Cons

      The work hours, I wish I could have more ways to get PTO

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for the great feedback! We are so happy that you love working at Cook Children's! You are an important team member in the mental health care we provide our patients.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Undervalued

      Jan 20, 2022 - Program Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Holiday Breaks Meaningful work close relationships with coworkers

      Cons

      awful management that makes meaningful work seem worthless. must take PTO when clinic is closed

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Your work as a Program Specialist at Cook Children's is very important and meaningful work. We are so sorry that you feel undervalued. We would like to hear more about your experience. Could you please reach out to us at AskTalentAcquisition@cookchildrens.org so we can hear more about your concerns?

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jan 18, 2022 - Histology Technician in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work schedule and benefits

      Cons

      I have no negative comments at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your feedback on your time in Cook Children's Lab! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our hope is that your career journey will bring you back to Cook Children's soon.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work for passionate people

      Jan 3, 2022 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cook has a mission statement they stand behind. Good benefits and fair pay.

      Cons

      Like most companies, a fair amount of politics. Turnover pretty consistent.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your leadership at Cook Children's. Our Promise drives our mission to help all of our patients.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Rewarding Work

      Jan 17, 2022 - Supervisor in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cook Childrens treats it’s employees like family

      Cons

      More training needs to be held regarding employees with disabilities.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cook Children's Health Care System Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your feedback on your time at Cook Children's! We do feel that our fellow staff members are like our family. We would like to hear more about your concerns on how staff with disabilities are treated. Could you please reach out to us at AskTalentAcquisition@cookchildrens.org?

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 405 Reviews

    Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews FAQs

    80% of Cook Children's Health Care System employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Cook Children's Health Care System 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Cook Children's Health Care System Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cook Children's Health Care System? Share Your Experiences

    or