Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews | Glassdoor

Cook Children's Health Care System Reviews

Updated July 18, 2017
115 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Rick W. Merrill
69 Ratings

115 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The people in this organization are what make it a truly great place to work (in 9 reviews)

  • CCHCS has good benefits and competitive salary (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • On the non-clinical side of operations there is not much room for advancement (in 3 reviews)

  • High turnover due to below market pay and lack of support from upper management (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Secretary in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Unit Secretary in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    As a former empl's oyee I have nothing negative to say. No place is perfect, but this place is .

    Cons

    Health benefits are expensive but good. If your child is admitted to Cook Childrens hospital it is paid for 100%

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Apr 29, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for the feedback! We hope that you will consider coming back to Cook Children's, in the future.


  2. "Great place to work but HR is not fair!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Act in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Act in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work! No room for advancement if you are not a nurse!

    Cons

    HR department is the worst! I was terminated for working on leave of absence. I was not working, just receiving a salary from a part time job. When I called the HR would not discuss. My department I worked in always gave me glowing reviews!!!

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to have a management change!

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jul 18, 2017

    Please email us at reputation@cookchildrens.org so we may listen to your concerns. Thank you.

  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    People are there for the right reasons, to take care of the kids.

    Cons

    Completely corporate care now, and ran as such.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We would like to hear more about your experience. You can e-mail us through reputation@cookchildrens.org, or you can call HR at 682-885-4419.


  4. "IT leadership inexperienced, disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Employee
    Current Employee - IT Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time

    Pros

    ○ Benefits
    ○ Occupational Health
    ○ Free parking, coffee

    Cons

    ○ Lacks leadership strength
    ○ Many managers are former analysts, non-tech types, promoted from within...haven't a clue how to manage 1) a department, or 2) top-notch people
    ○ Turnover
    ○ Decisions oftentimes based on feel, emotion, hunch, rather than fact-based
    ○ Privileged few get to work-from-home
    ○ Epic conversion has leadership worried, frazzled. Recent demotion of Epic project manager indicates reactive nature of decision-making
    ○ Epic employees expected to work O/T
    ○ Limited IT development opportunities. Work mostly on third-party apps, not the place for a dev geek/rockstar. Old technology (web forms circa 2010) No MVC, WebAPI, cloud, etc.
    ○ No casual Friday
    ○ "For the kids..." mantra is lip service

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jun 26, 2017

    Thank you for your honest feedback. Your concerns will be shared with leadership.


  5. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great workforce. Love the clinical staff. You can really tell that everyone is there for the kids and goes above and beyond to make them feel better. There is lots of teamwork in the nursing staff and everyone tries to make it a positive work environment.

    Cons

    Not the greatest benefits in the world, but they are competitive with other employers in the metroplex.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jun 19, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We truly appreciate it.


  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great team, caring people. Highly recommend.

    Cons

    If you work hard and contribute to the team, no downsides.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Jun 27, 2017

    Thank you for the review. We are proud that you feel this is a great place to work.


  7. "Solid employer with positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Passionate administration and co-workers. It's a collaborative environment where your input is valued. You truly get to be a part of making the lives of patients better.

    Cons

    On the non-clinical side of operations there is not much room for advancement. You're hired for a specific role and unless management determines there is a need for more than you were hired to do, you can feel stuck in your duties.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being passionate about the mission statement as that trickles down to the employees.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    May 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for the feedback! We promise to be passionate about our mission statement.! We hope that your career will bring you back to Cook Children's.

  8. "nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Cook Children's Health Care System part-time

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    all things at cook's is great

    Advice to Management

    keep up good work

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your nice comments! We appreciate the feedback, and we hope you return to Cook Children's!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nurse Resident"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Resident in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Nurse Resident in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The nurse residency program is awesome! You rotate through the entire hospital for 6 months and then are placed on a unit. The program offers a great learning opportunity for new graduate nurses and allows new grads to gain confidence.

    Cons

    There are three separate tracks of the program now, so you have to choose med-surg/subspecialties, critical care, or perioperative services.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for the great feedback! We appreciate it!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Underpaid. Love the kids."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cook Children's Health Care System full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Coworkers. The patients. Therapy dogs benefit the kids and coworkers both! Provide excellent care for children. Provide services and specialists who are at the top of their fields.

    Cons

    Extended illness bank taken away and paid time off capped - benefits progressively cut that use to be top notch.
    Magnet hospital so nurses get many benefits and incentives. Not many for others.
    Even if you are a nurse and not working as a "staff nurse" you are not included.

    Advice to Management

    Someone needs to look at mid-level salaries. Under market value and have been for awhile.
    Upper management disconnected from the day to day and who actually gets things done for the patients.

    Cook Children's Health Care System Response

    Mar 10, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for candid feedback! We would love to hear more. Please, feel free to call the Talent Management office, or e-mail reputation@cookchildrens.org, to give us more information.


Showing 115 of 122 reviews
Reset Filters