Cook County Sheriff Reviews | Glassdoor

Cook County Sheriff Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Cook County Sheriff CEO Thomas J. Dart
Thomas J. Dart
9 Ratings
  1. "used to be a good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Sheriff in Chicago, IL
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are decent

    Cons

    morale is pretty low based on the current administration

    Cook County Sheriff2017-10-07
  2. "Deputy Sheriff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cook County Sheriff full-time

    Pros

    Great starting salary and benefits.

    Cons

    The retirement age has been raised.

    Cook County Sheriff2017-08-17
  3. Helpful (5)

    "SQL Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SQL Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sheriff title so amazing i loved it and it was an honor to have it

    Cons

    they walked all over me and called me with names that women and respected people will not accept everyday as a nick name where they introduce me to everyone with it.

    Advice to Management

    I thought sheriff IT would treat me as human and justify me,instead they kept abusing me while i am not talking to me walked all over me and terminated me ,i loved that title and i have 3 kids and i did not have sex for last 15 years.i loved that job and wanted it back

    Cook County Sheriff2017-08-31
  4. "Training Oversight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff full-time

    Pros

    The benefits and pay are great.

    Cons

    The training assessment structure needs to be more transparent and streamlined.

    Advice to Management

    Add checks and balances to your training system that provides fair assessment of every candidate.

    Cook County Sheriff2017-06-12
  5. "CCDOC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Deputy Sheriff in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Cook County Sheriff for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay Great Benefits Good Amount of Time Off.

    Cons

    Administration, city, jail, inmates and supervisors

    Cook County Sheriff2017-04-22
  6. "Telecommunitcator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Constant Overtime. Very good salary to start.

    Cons

    Cliques. Backstabbing. Force to resign. Training system is flawed.

    Cook County Sheriff2017-05-19
  7. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cook County Sheriff full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    County benefits are good. Wage surprisingly competitive

    Cons

    Culture unprofessional. Hierarchy tends to be reactionary like any government unit.

    Advice to Management

    Take a breath and think about it.

    Cook County Sheriff2017-04-28
  8. "Eh...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cook County Sheriff full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, pension, paid lunch, relaxed (albeit unprofessional) environment, constantly changing.

    Cons

    No room for advancement no matter where you work unless you know people. No raises or promotions. Constant Flux. There are some truly awful people there. No clear goals communicated to front line.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the little things and then the big things won't happen.

    Cook County Sheriff2017-03-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Run by a bunch of idiots."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits were excellent.

    Cons

    Everything else. The jail is filthy and should be condemned, all of the management staff are clueless because they only have their jobs because of who they knew (or screwed). Everything is unfair...the way write-ups are handled, promotions, etc. If someone doesn't like you for any reason they will make your entire time as an employee a living hell. Everything is extremely disorganized and run ineffectively,... but none of the people who make decisions want to listen to the employees on the front lines that actually do the work. Impossible to get promoted (or even transferred) if you don't know anyone. A lot of employees and management are secretly racist. That place was so mentally, emotionally, and spiritually draining I had to get out of there. It was absolutely the worst place I have ever worked in my life and was a truly traumatizing experience.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire new management. Or at least have more contact with your lower-level employees so you can see what they are going through (but let's be real, you really don't care anyway).

    Cook County Sheriff2017-03-03
  10. "great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Cook County Sheriff for more than 10 years

    Pros

    *Great benefits provided *good pay typically

    Cons

    *bad environment *limited room for advancement unless you know someone (Politicall organization) *can be quite stressful

    Cook County Sheriff2016-12-28
Found 41 reviews