Cook County Sheriff Reviews | Glassdoor

Cook County Sheriff Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Cook County Sheriff CEO Thomas J. Dart
Thomas J. Dart
9 Ratings
  1. "Upset ExEmployee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff

    Pros

    Very easy was able to do school work while in the office

    Cons

    Nepotism! No promotions! No raises!

    Cook County Sheriff2015-10-21
  2. "A place to make a job what you want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff

    Pros

    Progressive organization open to new ideas and willing to try new things. The executive office is very open to hearing ways to improve and always looking for ideas that will help challenge the "the way we've always done it" mentality often found in government.

    Cons

    Fairly top heavy with a lot of individuals in the executive office. There has been many additional layers added over the years and I believe the decision makers have lost touch with what is truly happening with the people doing the work in the jail, courts and street units.

    Cook County Sheriff2015-09-11
  3. "Deputy sheriff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cook County Sheriff full-time

    Pros

    pay and benefits are good

    Cons

    mobility and transitioning within the organization is poorly accounted for and addressed

    Advice to Management

    improve the department mobility; there are a vast array of officers who are highly qualified

    Cook County Sheriff2015-08-13
  4. "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cook County Sheriff

    Pros

    I have nothing nice to say

    Cons

    Horrible idiot management. Business is bad

    Advice to Management

    Tear this place down

    Cook County Sheriff2015-03-30
  5. "Not for everybody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cook County Sheriff full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    County benefits and overtime for now.

    Cons

    Pension is horrible, administration not on your side.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate OFCS more and the job we do. Open up chances to move to other positions without having to know a director or politician.

    Cook County Sheriff2015-02-25
  6. "I enjoyed working for cook county"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correctional Officer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefited, hours and new people you meet on a daily basis

    Cons

    Dangerous conditions, inmate overcrowding in the facility

    Advice to Management

    Have more compassionate for employees

    Cook County Sheriff2014-10-22
  7. "Very exciting new experience, but it was not a nice environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communication in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot about cook county and the law enforcement.

    Cons

    It's kind of depressing place to work

    Advice to Management

    Not too much to complain about. Everyone is extremely nice.

    Cook County Sheriff2014-09-17
  8. "nothing but a headache"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Sheriff in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    decent pay package and good hours

    Cons

    way to much politics and political appointees

    Advice to Management

    stop being a lawyer and be a member of law enforcement dedication to the people instead your political aspirations

    Cook County Sheriff2014-07-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "An environment where doing what's right could cost you your job along with your health."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of people many who are certified professionals with compassion for the population they serve. Many opportunities to expand your skills and work with policy makers and politicians.

    Cons

    Environmental conditions are deplorable, there is very little heat in the winter and can be stifling hot in the summer. Overtime is expected including holidays. Many individuals take advantage of their position and go out of their way to bully civilian staff and I appropriately punish inmates. Benefit packages are good by government standards.

    Advice to Management

    Stop looking for the next sound bite and do the job you were elected or hired to do. Stop allowing the harassment of staff who do not agree with management. Encourage honestly, integrity and respect among peer groups. Be present in your roles and not just for the cameras.

    Cook County Sheriff2014-04-02
  10. "It allows you to learn the criminal justice system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cook County Sheriff full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Health package was excellent. Working in that industry it gives you a better respect for the law.

    Cons

    This job has an extremely high volume of work.

    Advice to Management

    I've learned how to multi task,I keep client information confidential, and I'm a hard worker.

    Cook County Sheriff2014-01-16
Found 41 reviews