Coolblue Reviews | Glassdoor

Coolblue Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 178 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Coolblue CEO Pieter Zwart
Pieter Zwart
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "goed, veel uitdaging in mijn werk en verantwoordelijkheid(in 30 reviews)

  • "Doorgroeimogelijkheden: je groeit net zo snel als het bedrijf(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "primaire arbeidsvoorwaarden zijn minder vergeleken met andere bedrijven(in 16 reviews)

  • "Aangezien je de hele dag met een glimlach loopt(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Coolblue

      Pros

      freedom of work, nice colleagues, nice boss

      Cons

      badly paid, old technology, old methodologies

      Coolblue2016-03-24
    • "Teamleader logistics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teamleader Logistics in Antwerp
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Coolblue full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Informal communication Great values Lots of social activities

      Cons

      Incompetent management Low pay Bending the rules when it suited them.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your people. Happy workers make happy customers

      Coolblue2019-07-16
    • "Nice Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Rotterdam
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Coolblue full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Friendly people and nice work place

      Cons

      Lower salaries than the market no bonus

      Coolblue2018-08-22
    • Helpful (5)

      "Not the company it was, not the company they promote they are."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Rotterdam
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Coolblue full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - Learned a lot because of the unique situations given within the company - Met amazing colleagues which I still consider friends.

      Cons

      - Coolblue turned to the worse when changes left an incapable management layer in the IT department. People not suited to fulfill the "leadership" roles were promoted. - Coolblue never figured out how to remove bottleneck people from key positions and thus the top-down mentality arose - Gossip is now common and seriously affects the life of developers. - Diversity is barely non-existant.

      Advice to Management

      Learn from the past. Coolblue had great management that was pushed away. Learn from your own current mistakes and build something where developers want to join and not just flee the IT Department.

      Coolblue2018-07-19
    • "Great team, minimum salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Coolblue part-time

      Pros

      Team becomes family Chance to grow within company

      Cons

      Salary is minimal no connection with upper management

      Coolblue2018-07-02
    • "Inspiring, flexible and responsible jobs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Controller in Rotterdam
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Coolblue full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Inspiring place/office, in which you work with a diversity of colleagues. A job in which you get a lot of freedom and responsibility. Room to grow and flexibility to learn a lot.

      Cons

      Processes are not carved in stone, this can be seen as a challenge and give room to change things quickly, but this can also be experienced as annoying.

      Coolblue2018-06-18
    • "Delphi Developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Coolblue full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Coolblue is a very good company to work, the salaries are not the best, but they try to compensate that with a very good balance between work and personal life

      Cons

      The IT department has changed a lot, and the new set up doesn't share the same vision as the company

      Coolblue2018-05-29
    • "Fun place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Data Scientist in Rotterdam
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Coolblue full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun and room to grow

      Cons

      Nt much room to grow, careers stays steady

      Coolblue2018-05-06
    • "Awesome Company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Junior Recruiter in Rotterdam
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Coolblue part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Company really cares about employees - Awesome working atmosphere, especially at HQ - Awesome Meeting spaces - "The Coolblue Feeling" - The Team

      Cons

      Not a lot of flex working space for part timers, but able to work comfortably most of the time.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

      Coolblue2018-02-26
    • Helpful (5)

      "Coolblue, you had so much potential"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer in Rotterdam
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Coolblue full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great meeting rooms, awesome people

      Cons

      Management overhead. Lack of transparency, especially when one of the company principles is "Open, Honest & Direct". Lack of technical direction (in the software development department). Always reducing employee conditions while bragging about the very big revenue. Creation of useless career positions that stop being available after a short time.

      Advice to Management

      Trust your employees. Hire good leaders and keep them. Give your employees good conditions (not just things that look good on paper) and they'll reward you by being loyal to the company.

      Coolblue2018-02-22

      Coolblue Response

      February 26, 2018

      Vervelend om te lezen dat je je tijd bij Coolblue zo hebt ervaren. We willen graag leren van je ervaring. Mocht je daarom je feedback met ons willen delen, dan kan je me mailen op lotte.vanvelzen@coolblue.nl. Groet , Lotte van Coolblue.

    Found 178 reviews