KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cordell & Cordell

Is this your company?

Cordell & Cordell

Add a Review

Cordell & Cordell Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 194 of over 195 reviews

4.3
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cordell & Cordell Co-Founder Joseph E. Cordell (no image)
Joseph E. Cordell
151 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best work/life balance of any attorney job I've ever had(in 27 reviews)

  • "We also get to work within a results only work environment that allows us to achieve a work-life balance(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It is difficult to think of a "con" of working at Cordell other than the normal issues involved in any other law firm dealing with family law clients(in 10 reviews)

  • "The bonus structure is not consistent(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent Place to Work

      Jun 12, 2021 - Associate Attorney in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation is definitely a plus; career growth is always available; very manageable billed hours at 1,500; benefits are amazing; I really have no need to ever look for another job; love the people at this firm.

      Cons

      As with any job, there are some who are just negative and post here; a lot of what they post is just inaccurate and nit picky; nowhere is perfect, but here is darn close.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      An Amazing Office and Incredible Firm

      Feb 3, 2021 - Senior Litigation Attorney in Independence, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is so much support at Cordell - the firm truly takes care of its attorneys and staff. The pay and benefits are top notch. The training offered by the firm is fantastic. My co-workers are some of my very best friends. I love having a place that pushes me to be better and also provides me the resources to do my best. Family law can be challenging at times but we have such a strong support system that I always feel I can turn to and that will be there for me. The work/life balance is exceptional. They support my role as a parent and recognize that I have a life outside of our office as well.

      Cons

      Every big firm has some challenges and no place is going to be perfect all of the time. But I do feel that this Firm continues to make strides towards attracting and retaining top talent and providing a great place to be!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Interesting work - horrible treatment

      Jun 1, 2021 - Paralegal in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, fast-paced, nice bonuses and benefits

      Cons

      Bad management, lack of respect for non-attorneys

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      One Star

      Jun 4, 2021 - Paralegal in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, great benefits, and that's about it.

      Cons

      Everything else about Cordell is awful.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very busy practice and enjoyed working with clients.

      Apr 3, 2021 - Paralegal in Albany, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, hours and enough work to fill an entire day.

      Cons

      Poor management and leadership. No guidance for legal questions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cordell & Cordell Response

      Communications Team

      Thank you for leaving a review of Cordell & Cordell. Your comments are helpful in understanding what our firm can do better and finding how we can continue our mission of advocating for fathers before, during, and after divorce. The resources Cordell & Cordell provides to its employees are very important to us in continuing to enhance the clients' experiences. From firmwide meetings to professional development, we work to understand how we can better provide employees the tools they need to succeed.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Flexibility and Opportunity to Mentor

      Mar 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, independence to work the case with my strategy, ability to mentor other attorneys. Great opportunities for women.

      Cons

      Family law can be hard.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Mar 4, 2021 - Attorney 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work/life balance Great benefits Creative perks like trips Good training opportunities Excellent workplace environment and colleagues

      Cons

      The firm grows rapidly so there are often changes associated that affect the firm at large.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Cordell & Cordell Response

      Communications Team

      Thank you for reviewing Cordell & Cordell. We appreciate your comments - specifically how rapid growth can affect the overall success of our firm - and look forward to using this insight for future development.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good employer for young attorneys, but don’t stay too long or you’ll be stuck.

      Feb 27, 2021 - Litigation Attorney 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place for a younger, less experienced attorney to cut their teeth. Good health insurance benefits and retirement. Fairly amicable parting process where you send joint letters to clients, but not as easy to transfer your clients as it is in other firms. For some, a pro would be not having to generate your own business. The firm relies solely on its marketing to bring people in and then distributes work from there. The firm offers nice internal training through Cordell College. As a young lawyer, this would be especially valuable. However, there is no mentoring within offices generally, which makes it difficult for young lawyers to learn what matters in their own community. Annual awards gala is nice. If you’re not really motivated to succeed as an individually valuable lawyer and just kind of want to ride the coattails of an organization and skate under the radar, this is a good place to do that.

      Cons

      Overall, I think this firm is run similarly to a bankruptcy firm. It’s all about high volume and money through the door, then cutting loose those who can’t pay (and most people who respond to the firm marketing can’t pay) then replacing them with new clients. Value “box ticking” and reward lawyers who game their own internal system. They hide profitability information from employees so that you are prevented from understanding just how much $ you are making them. If you’re a young lawyer, you don’t realize why this matters so much and some Cordell lawyers may never realize the game the firm is playing here. Most law firms have an “open book” where you can see on a monthly basis what your productivity is and the $ you are bringing in. At most firms, your compensation discussions annually (as you set the next year’s salary and determine current year bonus) center around how much you made the firm that year. Cordell hides this information from you- and I am certain it is by design to underpay you. Your base really isn’t negotiable year to year. You take what they give you and there is no dispute process. At this firm, you only make bonus money for the number of hours you bill for them - and it’s a high amount to get any meaningful bonus. Salary increases are rarely more than cost of living increases annually (3% average annual). Partnership is shrouded in secrecy. No path to being an equity partner/shareholder. Firm promotes internally with made up titles that won’t mean anything to those outside of the Cordell universe, and the title increases come with more work but no increase in base pay. There is no real “no charge” time for networking, professional development, etc. The firm only cares about what you do internally, which can place you in a bad position in your legal community if you ever want to leave because you are only encouraged to make relationships in the firm. The firm doesn’t encourage civic engagement and really has no hold in the legal communities they enter. They just don’t care to do so. As a result you’ll be somewhat laughed at as a “Dad’s divorce” lawyer and not taken seriously by your peers. Bringing in your own clients is actively discouraged and is not rewarded. If you’re a young lawyer who does no networking on your own, you’ll end up with no book when you leave - which means you aren’t attractive to other employers at a certain stage in your career. Clients are treated better than the attorneys and are given a little too much power. Clients come and go, but your relationship with the legal community and those within it is forever. This firm doesn’t really recognize that. Will nickel and dime you when you leave. Don’t expect to receive your last paycheck. This is not uncommon—I spoke with several other former employees who experienced the same thing when they left and paycheck deductions for different reasons.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Cordell & Cordell Response

      Communications Team

      Hello - thank you for leaving your review of Cordell & Cordell. We genuinely value the insight provided into the experience you had at our firm and highly anticipate learning from these comments in order to continue to create the best working environment possible. As a large international firm with more than 250 attorneys practicing law with us, we are continuously looking for ways to improve employee engagement, legal community outreach, and creating valuable relationships with fathers going through divorce to advocate for their rights.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      You Matter

      Feb 3, 2021 - Attorney 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A place where you are treated as family. They care about your development, well-being, and work-life balance. Most importantly, they stand by your side every step of the way, whether that is in the office, courtroom, or personal life.

      Cons

      Nothing that I am aware of.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent Employer With a Winning Business Model

      May 13, 2020 - Paralegal in Franklin, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work with wonderful attorneys, all with great attitudes. Everyone is our office is helpful and supportive. I know some attorneys are hard to work with because you can never get them to sit in their seat long enough to do the work. Not these attorneys. They are all hard working, they take ownership of their cases and they all make you feel valued as part of the team. Before agreeing to an interview, I was truly hesistant due to some of the offputting reviews. However, I've been here for about a year and have found that everything I've been promised has been delivered, management is supportive and there is a feeling of comraderie not only in our office, but also with offices across the country. Although they are corporate run, management is rather transparent and family oriented. Mr. Cordell is friendly and approachable. When COVID-19 happened, they did everything possible to allow employees with family to work from home. Mrs. Cordell even offered to help parents with homeschooling tips! That shows great care and concern. Additionally, the benefits are amazing. If you're willing to do your part to be health conscious, you are even further rewarded. I hope to be part of this team for a very long time. Cordell Law feels like home!

      Cons

      There are none that I've found.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Cordell & Cordell Response

      Communications Team

      Thank you for taking time to review Cordell & Cordell. We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue to learn and grow from each employee's experience. Cordell & Cordell is proud of all the hard working attorneys we have and look forward to continuing to work together with dedicated family law attorneys across the country.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 194 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cordell & Cordell Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cordell & Cordell? Share Your Experiences

    Cordell & Cordell logo
    or