Cordell & Cordell "family law" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cordell & Cordell Employee Reviews about "family law"

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Cordell & Cordell CEO Joseph E. Cordell (no image)
Joseph E. Cordell
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "We also get to work within a results only work environment that allows us to achieve a work-life balance(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great work environment with lots of flexibility(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "The bonus structure is not consistent(in 9 reviews)

  • "It is difficult to think of a "con" of working at Cordell other than the normal issues involved in any other law firm dealing with family law clients(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "family law"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cordell & Cordell full-time

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers. A client management resource to deal with unruly clients and maintain good working relationships with them. Cordell really takes care of their staff with perks, benefits, and camaraderie that you very rarely find in large law firm settings. Great place to work as an attorney.

    Cons

    Some hard to reach billing expectations for family law. Account receivable obligations on the attorneys and consequences for clients that don’t pay their bills out of the attorneys control.

    Cordell & Cordell2019-06-12
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Cordell & Cordell is a fantastic and inspirational place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Litigator in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cordell & Cordell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We work extremely hard for our clients while having a very flexible work schedule. Cordell salaries are well-above the average.

    Cons

    It is difficult to think of a "con" of working at Cordell other than the normal issues involved in any other law firm dealing with family law clients.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Cordell & Cordell2019-04-29
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Litigation Attorney in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cordell & Cordell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The firm is constantly re-evaluating benefits and actively surveys the employees on an annual basis to ensure that employees are happy at work. When I was hired, Mr. Cordell spoke with my incoming "class" of attorneys about wanting this to be our career destination---a place where we never leave. The interest in attracting and retaining the best people is something I really value about the firm. Before coming... here I was looking for a "home" in terms of my career and I believe I have found it here! There are defined career tracks and if you work hard, you'll succeed here. The defined career tracks are not found everywhere, especially in smaller firms. As an employee, it's nice to know how to climb the ladder and where you are headed once you select a track. There is an emphasis on work-life balance at this firm that you won't find everywhere. The flexibility I am afforded here in terms of scheduling is something I value. I also enjoy that while our individual offices are small and the firm as a whole is very large, the firm maintains camaraderie through group events such as firm trips, continuing education seminars in St. Louis and the annual holiday party. I have built lasting relationships with coworkers in other offices and value these opportunities to interact with others outside of my individual office. In terms of individual offices, I really enjoy my coworkers (both staff and fellow attorneys) and have found that the firm does a very nice job of assembling individual offices with personalities that work well together. One last pro is that

    Show More

    Cons

    The firm reviews Clients on their satisfaction with your performance. In family law, not every Client is going to be happy, and bad reviews (especially when you've worked hard on a case) can really ruin your day. From a compensation standpoint, there could be a better reward system in place for bringing in your own business.

    Advice to Management

    Keep taking care of your employees and focusing on employee happiness and retention!

    Cordell & Cordell2019-03-14
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Wonderful law firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Attorney 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cordell & Cordell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The firm invests a great deal in its employees. The compensation and benefits are great and the firm is always looking for ways to offer more to employees. If you are a person who works hard you will be rewarded. The ROWE (results only work environment) for attorneys is priceless if you have a family or children as it provides you with flexibility to manage your work schedule. Everyone that works at Cordell or CMPG... are like a family; everyone is happy to help anyone out in need. Having spent over ten years working at a different law firm, I can really appreciate just how great my job at Cordell & Cordell is.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working in the family law field with clients is stressful and challenging. The fact that the bonus structure changes yearly is frustrating.

    Cordell & Cordell2019-02-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work - good compensation, clear expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cordell & Cordell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usually family law is high stress and low compensation. That's not the case at this firm because they have the resources to help you manage your workload and they compensate better than any family law firm in my region. They require you to do a lot of work to earn that excellent salary and benefits, but that's no trouble if you go in with your eyes open. The job is really what you make of it. There are lots of... opportunities to grow, to make more money and to make the job what you want it to be. They trust their employees to be adults, so they offer a lot of flexibility in time management. I really like how clear they are about performance expectations. It is very easy for you to know in real-time if you're succeeding as an employee.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes it is frustrating that policies change a lot. Bonus structure has changed every year I've been here, for example. (It's never a shocking change. They all have a common theme: work a lot, get a better bonus.) The top brass at the firm makes their political leanings very clear. For instance, the company holiday party is going to be at a Trump resort this year. I don't force the firm to listen to my... political views (and if I did, our marketing messages would be very different). I wish they wouldn't make me listen to their views. Also, it's confusing because a lot of the internal reality as an employee doesn't match their external messaging. The firm has such family-friendly policies and so many women, people of color, and LGBT employees in leadership positions. Sometimes the external messaging makes it sound like this is some caveman, alt-right firm. That is not the reality, and it's a disservice to our employees and the work we do to present it as such.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make a good policy and stick to it. Tone down the rightwing messaging.

    Cordell & Cordell2019-02-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A Drastic Improvement from my Last Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Litigation Attorney in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cordell & Cordell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cordell & Cordell offers a professional environment which helps attorneys learn and reach their full potential. Many smaller law firms are dependent on one or two managing partners who may not always have an associate attorney's best interest in mind, but at Cordell & Cordell I have always felt that I am truly cared for and that the firm wants to see me grow. They offer competitive salaries, a great 401(k)... match, amazing benefits, and a path upward for promotion. The people are amazing and truly look out for your well-being.

    Show More

    Cons

    The downsides are very minimal. Occasionally it's easy to get burned out, but that's mainly due to the exhausting nature of family law.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to make goals clear. Communication and security are extremely important for employees to be productive.

    Cordell & Cordell2019-02-14
  7. "Needs to Improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Attorney in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cordell & Cordell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people that I work with on a daily basis are great. The in-house designed billing software is so helpful and unlike anything anywhere else. I've been getting a lot of experience and have a lot of autonomy.

    Cons

    Cordell is a good company but it is starting to feel like the firm is just churning out hours and doesn't care much about turnover. The case load is so large that it constantly feels like attorneys are skating the fine line between competency and malpractice. There is a conflict of interest between the initial consult attorneys and the practicing attorneys - consult attorneys are financially incentivized to take... terrible clients on board even when it's obvious that the potential client will make the assigned attorney miserable and create customer service problems in the future. There are a lot of internal guidelines and requirements that are very different from other family law firms. Unfortunately, this puts a lot of strain on attorneys in a job that is already very stressful. The pay is insufficient for the market. The firm wants us to bill 1700-1800 hours, but we can make a lot more at local firms and only be required to bill 1200-1650 annually. Plus, the bonuses are not great at Cordell. The bonuses across the country are identical regardless of the market. For example, an attorney in a southern state making $60k a year will get $4,000 if he or she bills 1600 hours the prior year. An attorney in California making $100k+ bills 1600 hours and also only gets a $4,000 bonus. The bonuses should be adjusted to the market. If you live somewhere with a high cost of living, the bonuses are not very good and we don't feel incentivized to bill a lot of hours. The more I've learned about the local family law market, the more I've become disappointed in how Cordell is paying us. Finally, Cordell is not very concerned with how its attorneys are received by the local family bar or the reputation of its attorneys. Cordell attorneys do not have a good reputation because we are only known for the aggressive marketing and advertising. Unfortunately, attorneys that are doing great work are not recognized for it by our family law peers because the Cordell name dwarfs our work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise retainers and work with consult attorneys to keep problematic potential clients from becoming clients. Routinely having difficult clients who aren't able to pay really hurts morale. Our office also recently had a safety scare with an angry client threatening to come in with a weapon and I do not feel that the firm took the threat that seriously. It's scary to think that our firm will cater to dangerous,... unstable clients because they are able to pay a minimal retainer. This firm is a huge corporation and it has started to feel like profit is more important than the health and safety of its employees. Pay support staff better to attract good talent and keep them around.

    Show More
    Cordell & Cordell2019-02-25
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cordell & Cordell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked at 3 attorney positions prior to going to Cordell. Two of them were well known family law firms. There is a reason I have been with Cordell for 10 years. It is a great place to work! They always try to do right by both their employees and their clients. The firm very much cares what the employees think and are always making changes to make it a better and better firm. I have managed to maintain a... strong work/life balance because of the policies of the firm. I am raising two little girls on my own and, while I work hard, never feel like the firm is putting so much on me that I can't be a good Mom. The benefits are beyond anything I could ever expect and it is a wonderful work environment! While, yes, I am a partner here, I have had every opportunity to go anywhere I wanted to as a family attorney and I have chosen Cordell because it is the best fit I could have hoped for!

    Show More

    Cons

    Because of the large size of the firm, I think many attorneys feel like there are a lot of policies and procedures to learn. However, I don't know how you would make a family firm this large and this successful while allowing as much freedom as they do without those policies and procedures. Also, most of them are simply just good practice and, once you learn them, are pretty easy to follow.

    Cordell & Cordell2017-09-29
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Very pleased with my career (atty at the firm for 8 years)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Partner in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cordell & Cordell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This is a firm that goes above and beyond to find benefits that will truly benefit it's team members. They offer free financial planning (a service that includes advice from qualified professionals who are better than the professionals I have hired personally), free health insurance (including free for my wife and children), 401K match, short term and long term disability, and perks as you move up in the company... through the three tracks the firm provides. While it's a large firm, the way the firm is structured, you have the small firm feel because you are broken down in to small teams with managers that are not dictated in their approach so you get the support you need as opposed to a one-size fits all approach. The opportunity to advance has been significant and pay along the way has continued to increase consistently with my performance. It is not an "eat what you kill" environment so I have the consistent pay that I can expect. I have no vested interest in my client's cases which adds credibility to my advice and my client's appreciate this. The firm also does not limit my time off so I have the freedom to continue to do the pick-up/drop-offs for my kids at daycare, attend school activities and take the time off that I need to spend time with my family.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a fulltime job. It's family law and so it's client's who are going through the worst time of their lives. So it can be a taxing job emotionally at time and you have to be able to separate your client's life and emotions from your own.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide personalized approaches to managing team members. Continue the flexibility and innovativeness that is needed when growing a firm while meeting the needs of everyone in the firm.

    Cordell & Cordell2017-09-29
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great family law firm of which I am proud to be a part."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cordell & Cordell full-time

    Pros

    Cordell & Cordell focuses on both its Clients' and attorneys' needs. Clients can expect fantastic service. And attorneys can expect a firm that demonstrates a commitment to the overall well-being and professional growth of its attorneys. The benefits are fantastic. You are not going to find better. Free healthcare. Strong percentage matching for 401(k) contributions. And, most importantly, a focus on making... sure that its attorneys develop their skills as family law practitioners.

    Show More

    Cons

    I do not have any negative comments regarding my experience at Cordell & Cordell.

    Cordell & Cordell2017-09-28
Found 12 reviews