Core Laboratories Lab Technician Reviews | Glassdoor

Core Laboratories Lab Technician Reviews

Updated Apr 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
8%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Core Laboratories CEO David M. Demshur
David M. Demshur
3 Ratings
  1. "Lab Tech 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Lab Technician 

      I have been working at Core Laboratories full-time

      Pros

      good medical benefits through united health care

      Cons

      No room for growth within

      Core Laboratories2019-04-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good benefits, bad atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lab Technician 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Core Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good benefits . . Z.

      Cons

      Negative atmosphere . . .

      Core Laboratories2019-01-17
    • Helpful (8)

      "Lab Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lab Technician 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Core Laboratories full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Somewhere to start and gain experience

      Cons

      Company has no good culture , management is bad, outdated and broken equipment, management does not introduce and implement changes, no training on communication skills, inspection and lab sections working against each other

      Advice to Management

      Management should constantly check on situation of things at different locations and ask for workers opinion.

      Core Laboratories2017-11-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good experience. My supervisor was very helpful. I learned a lot in the time I was there"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lab Technician in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Core Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The benefits were good. My supervisor was very understanding and willing to work with my schedule once I started attending school part time.

      Cons

      Compensation was not very competitive. Did not seem like it there were many opportunities to grow within the company. But it was a good company for an entry level technician.

      Core Laboratories2017-08-06
    • "Lab Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lab Technician in Nederland, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Core Laboratories full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Easy place to work, low stress environment. Family atmosphere. Friendly people.

      Cons

      Crude oil can be messy, instrumentation and testing methods need brought up to date.

      Advice to Management

      None.

      Core Laboratories2017-03-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lab Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Lab Technician 

        I worked at Core Laboratories

        Pros

        Ok place to start career

        Cons

        No formal training, but good handson experience.

        Core Laboratories2015-08-18
      • Helpful (5)

        "For Investment purposes only"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lab Technician in Houston, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Core Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Nice commute to work; overtime opportunites are fair

        Cons

        Advancement is strictly based on how friendly you are to management. Your work ability and experienced gained is irrelevant if you are not friends with the manager. This is proven by evaluating the management is certain areas and observing how little knowledge they have. Low pay

        Advice to Management

        Treat employees as you would like to be treated. Remember that they are adults just as you are. Be the change that the company needs.

        Core Laboratories2015-06-29
      • Helpful (3)

        "Not a terrible job, but not career worthy"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lab Technician in Bakersfield, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Core Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great co-workers, steady work, great benefits

        Cons

        Management is out of touch with their employees, opportunity for advancement is slim, pay is not on par with branches in other locations

        Core Laboratories2014-09-23
      • Helpful (6)

        "It's not the same"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Lab Technician in Houston, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Core Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Some of the ppl here are really nice and quite easy to get a along with. Easy to make long lasting friends because of the "common denominator".

        Cons

        Where do I even start. I use to love my job but after management changed it became very sneaky,secretive, and shady. I probably wouldn't recommend this company to anyone unless its for the experience.

        Advice to Management

        If you want to keep your employees, treat them well!

        Core Laboratories2014-09-02
      • Helpful (3)

        "Worst Experience of my Life - Why can't I choose ZERO stars?"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Lab Technician in Amsterdam
          Doesn't Recommend
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Core Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          They laid me off from my job with them

          Cons

          No training, two location managers, three lab managers, vindictive auditors, absolutely no training for the position whatsoever (yeah, I know I already mentioned that but it deserved noteing a second time), a collection of regional managers that would make Monty Pyton and the Three Stooges proud.

          Advice to Management

          Nothing, they would not read or listen to it anyway

          Core Laboratories2018-07-09
        Found 11 reviews