Core Laboratories Reviews | Glassdoor

Core Laboratories Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Core Laboratories CEO David M. Demshur
David M. Demshur
46 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Typical Oil and Gas Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Core Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    You get to take home an average level compensation paycheck.

    Cons

    Bad morale, overall management leads with negative reinforcement.

    Advice to Management

    Don't charge PTO to employees who were evacuated due to a Hurricane.

    Core Laboratories2017-10-23
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Petroleum Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Petroleum Inspector in Port Neches, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Core Laboratories full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is laid back. Good about letting you get sleep sometimes... (read cons).

    Cons

    Most companies tell you to treat your position at the company as if it were your own business. However you cannot control what other people do I.E. damage equipment, or start a job and not do the necessary paperwork. Most people start this job as entry level because they are so desperate to find petroleum inspectors, they don't get any formal training and this leads to jobs being very unorganized and the more experienced...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show more respect to veteran employee's. Implement proper training programs for new employees instead of putting them into the field when they are not ready which causes more stress on the current employees and the staff in general.

    Core Laboratories2017-08-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience. My supervisor was very helpful. I learned a lot in the time I was there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Core Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits were good. My supervisor was very understanding and willing to work with my schedule once I started attending school part time.

    Cons

    Compensation was not very competitive. Did not seem like it there were many opportunities to grow within the company. But it was a good company for an entry level technician.

    Core Laboratories2017-08-06
  4. "Core analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Core Laboratories

      Pros

      Science, interesting work environment, lots of freedom to plan out work schedule

      Cons

      Low pay, slow to promote

      Core Laboratories2017-08-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don't Trust These Folks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inspector I in Memphis, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Core Laboratories full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      40 hr pay week, easy physical worl

      Cons

      Lies about how much you will travel, constant threats from management, you are responsible for EVERYTHING, they will force you to train on procedures that they refuse to follow......They will constantly threaten you over overtime pay and expenses.....and gladly hold up your pay for any reason

      Advice to Management

      Grow up and hire people, Tell people the truth about how much they will travel

      Core Laboratories2017-08-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Inspector 1"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marine Cargo Surveyor in Ashland, KY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Core Laboratories full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Guaranteed pay and a great launching pad. Training is great for other industries

      Cons

      Management is off site and never visited. Jib hours were very different day to day, and changed last minute. Employees are expected to travel and work out of town and to pay for everything and get reimbursed a few weeks later. This company is going under and the customers see it. The pay is terrible for the industry.

      Advice to Management

      Fix the problem by reviewing the people. Review pay.

      Core Laboratories2017-07-18
    • "Chemist I"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Core Laboratories full-time

      Pros

      I don't know if have sometido one

      Cons

      The schedule, low salary and poor working conditions

      Advice to Management

      Need to improve the working conditions

      Core Laboratories2017-07-05
    • Helpful (6)

      "If you have no other options, then this might be a good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geologist in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Core Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Core Lab employees get paid less and receive less benefits BUT, there is [SOME] increased job security at Core Lab vs. at operating companies within the oil and gas industry. Up to 4% company match with your 401k contributions.

      Cons

      Very few opportunities for training/professional development. Very few opportunities for promotion within the company. Favoritism is the norm. Horrible location off 290 surrounded by strip clubs. No paid family or medical leave offered to employees. Merit raises discontinued indefinitely since 2014 due to poor market conditions. No cash bonuses. Health insurance benefits are not competitive with other companies. Culture...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      It is time to restart merit raises in order to boost employee morale.

      Core Laboratories2017-03-28
    • Helpful (6)

      "Stay Away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Core Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Worst career experience I have ever had. Nothing but dedication for my 3.4 years working here. Never received a raise. Never received education from the company and asked for guidance and learning constantly only to get the reply, "here read this method". Now I find out that after all this time I qualify for a .35¢ raise. Really?

        Cons

        Ever walking into the interview. Hey Glass door, why can't I leave a zero star rating?

        Advice to Management

        I am too polite to post that here.

        Core Laboratories2017-04-28
      • "Overall a good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Core Laboratories full-time

          Pros

          Good people to work with

          Cons

          Hard working people are not fully appreciated

          Core Laboratories2017-03-15
        Found 117 reviews