KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Core Laboratories

Is this your company?

Core Laboratories

Add a Review

Core Laboratories Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Mar 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 180 reviews

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Core Laboratories Chairman, President, and CEO David M. Demshur
David M. Demshur
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Small teams and professional work environment(in 11 reviews)

  • "Good benefits as well and decent 401k match(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Management isn't the best and there is a high turnover(in 5 reviews)

  • "Current downturn in O&G industry has resulted in downsizing(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Core Laboratories and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "good benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A losing battle

      Mar 16, 2020 - Windows Systems Administrator in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid job with good benefits

      Cons

      Wrong industry to be in these days. Lack of leadership

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Nice people to work with, no room to grow

      Aug 27, 2019 - Benefits 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most people who work here are very nice and respectful. 4 weeks of vacation and 1 week of sick pay right off the bat, which is super nice. Good benefits as well and decent 401k match.

      Cons

      Management can be a little bit conservative and resistance to change. No annual bonus or very rare, raises are often delayed due to the industry. No upward movement, very little to zero chance to get a promotion, Pay is below market value.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Incompetent Management

      Apr 2, 2019 - Programmer Analyst III 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, competent employees, clean environment.

      Cons

      Incompetent management is causing employees (like myself) to quit, leaving behind employees who either (1) don't mind putting up with incompetence, or (2) are having difficulty finding another job.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good benefits, bad atmosphere

      Jan 17, 2019 - Lab Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits . . Z.

      Cons

      Negative atmosphere . . .

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      No vertical movement

      Jul 31, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met some of the most amazing people at both offices I worked. Learned a lot and worked a lot of things most will never get to. Good benefits.

      Cons

      LOW salary. My starting was $20k lower than the avg for my experience and my first super lit up when I mentioned the average. Not that I wanted it, but what the average was and she asked for our opinions on the subject! My first super, who is still there, tears the employees down, makes them feel stupid and worthless, doesn't trust them, and will openly gossip about someone behind their back to other employees. Office gossip happens, but as a supervisor you should never talk about your employees to your other employees. You do not move up. You will hit a glass ceiling very quickly and the people who care can't help you. Instead of letting go of the trash workers who sleep on the job and do no good, they let go of hard working part timers that have been there for years. The company does not care about you and the hours are awful. If you do not work over the weekend you will get a bad mid year review. Lab workers have crazy high turn over rates so no one person sticks around long enough for the job to be done right consistently. HR will argue with supervisors to mark the employee DOWN and hurt them rather than listen to the supervisor. I was DOWNRATED by HR who I have never met because they wanted a low review average company wide (words from the super). AND HR took a month to create my job title despite knowing months in advance of my transfer. I lost a couple weeks of pay because of them.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Bad management, negative atmosphere

      Jun 6, 2013 - Geologist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, health and dental insurance, friendly coworkers, no working weekends or late nights, little questioning for vacation requests

      Cons

      Little to no management, supervisors micromanage, uncomfortable work environment, HR does not really care about individual employees, super high turnover of employees

      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Profits before People

      Feb 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a place to get experience that has good benefits.

      Cons

      If there is a natural disaster they’ll expect you to rent a boat/helicopter to come in to work. During Hurricane Harvey I was flooded in and had just lost a vehicle, they threatened to fire me if I didn’t burn up my vacation or “find a way to make it in” whenever it was a physical impossibility.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Core Laboratories Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Core Laboratories? Share Your Experiences

    or