Corizon Health Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
27%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Corizon Health Chief Executive Officer Stephen A. Rector (no image)
Stephen A. Rector
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay, eventually possibly a gratifying position where you might make a difference(in 21 reviews)

  • "Decent salary with good benefits(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be dangerous, don't forget these are INMATES(in 26 reviews)

  • "Ie hospital is the same as correctional is the same as private practice(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist 

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time

    Pros

    We had one hour lunches

    Cons

    Small cubicles to work in

    Continue reading
    Corizon Health2020-05-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Reorganization killed the job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Brentwood, TN

    I have been working at Corizon Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In the beginning, it was a good place to work. CEO was Awesome.

    Cons

    Board got rid of the CEO and replace him with one that did not know the details and the culture to succeed. Fired and let people leave who had the knowledge.

    Corizon Health2020-05-04
  3. "Always understaffed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Kuna, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Corizon Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unique environment to work in

    Cons

    No support, was threatened to be forced to work overtime

    Corizon Health2020-05-20
  4. "Horrifying experience"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Physician Assistant 

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I honestly cannot think of a single thing.

    Cons

    Corizon is the kind of company who would not balk at suing me for going into specific details about why I would write a negative review about their organization, so I will keep to generalities. Reading this from a fellow medical practitioner should tell you enough to know you shouldn't work for this company under any circumstances. These people are brazenly dishonest. Working for them is dangerous to your medical license and your reputation as a medical provider. They will smile to your face and then stab you in the back if it suits them. Following their SOP is no guarantee of protection- for I did so, and was run through a gauntlet of medical board investigations, litigation, and media coverage. Work for this company at your own extreme risk.

    Corizon Health2020-05-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Unfortunate"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time

    Pros

    The work was great. Writing evaluations and helping inmates strive for a better life was worth the daily hassles.

    Cons

    There was not much support from management. Unfortuantely it looked like it was a contractual issue and there was usually not much room for improvements. I found a new and innovative therapy and it was not looked into for a new therapy modality for the inmates.

    Continue reading
    Corizon Health2020-03-07
  6. "Nothing Special"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corizon Health full-time

    Pros

    -Good Pay -Mission to serve inmates

    Cons

    -Culture (the company has no culture) -Processes keep changing and unorganized -No recognition

    Continue reading
    Corizon Health2020-03-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent employer"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Cheyenne, WY

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, hours and work life balance. I worked with great people.

    Cons

    Poor benefits- costly high deductible HSA plans. Political and job promotions are difficult/given to employees based on reasons other than being based on job skill/knowledge or who would be the best candidate for the job. This hurt our contract extremely bad and created for poor morale.

    Continue reading
    Corizon Health2020-02-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "job is ok but.."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nursejob IS Ok But in Westover, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in prison you get a good insight for psych nursing, you will be participating in or leading situations to intervene with serious acute cases

    Cons

    Same pay as you can get anywhere else for working in prison. Untrusted leadership aim to only use you and plays some shady games, favoritisms.

    Continue reading
    Corizon Health2020-02-04
  9. "I got a chance to learn about the medical operations of the county jail."

    3.0
     

    I worked at Corizon Health

    Pros

    I felt secure at all times.

    Cons

    Give information early as possible for prn workers.

    Continue reading
    Corizon Health2020-01-18
  10. "Neutral"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Corizon Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not the worst place I have ever worked. Staff is great

    Cons

    Hard work. Great staff but poor pay and management make it not a long term job

    Continue reading
    Corizon Health2020-01-08
Found 396 reviews