Corizon Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Corizon Health Reviews

Updated October 21, 2017
302 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

302 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Pay is better than most agencies and good benefits (in 17 reviews)

  • As far as pros of working for them pay and benefits are good (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management unsupportive and distant (in 12 reviews)

  • Intense work environment if you're not used to working in a locked facility (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Mental Health Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Corizon Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay is better than most agencies and good benefits

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Advice to Management

    None

    Corizon Health Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Senior Leadership

    We are happy to hear you are enjoying your Corizon Health experience, and appreciate your review. We value the work of our field staff do and try to make sure ensure our people grow both personally... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time

    Pros

    Helping a population who is in desperate need of medical help.

    Cons

    Lack of investment in true talent. Enforcing policies when they fit a hiring manager's need and not on a consistent basis. Lack of transparency and backhanded leadership who avoid the ability to lead by example (except a few who remain from the original CMS and PHS leaders). Stretching employees too thin at the corporate level and increasing burnout. Based on the announcement of the sale of the company, I agree with the previous review of Corporate leaders not being focused on running the business but on selling the business.

    Advice to Management

    Get back to basics, invest in your current talent and walk the talk to show your employees you really do care about them, their family and their future with the organization. You have a company rich in tradition and proven success. Figure out where it went wrong and fix it - stop pointing fingers. Stop asking for employee feedback and sweeping the words of the employees (the heart of your organization) under the rug when they don't suit you.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Masters Behavioral Science Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corizon Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    *The pay is excellent; quite possibly the highest non licensed salary in the area
    *Some shift flexibility; this could be the facility I work at, however
    *Interesting and diverse clientele; nowhere else in TN will you work with this amount of different individuals

    Cons

    *There is very little respect for unlicensed professionals
    *Nurses run the process and is a med culture
    *Very little actual respect for the inmates
    * Nit picky management

    Advice to Management

    Stop nitpicking the schedule, don't implement policies that make it hard for your employees, remove the favoritism, and go to bat for your employees. They are not happy and you will lose them.


  4. "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Corizon Health full-time

    Pros

    Fellow employees and CO's are good.

    Cons

    Management is the worst, no leadership training at all. Supplies are always a maybe, maybe we have it, maybe we don't.


  5. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corizon Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I enjoy my co-workers and the work is interesting.

    Cons

    No onsite Human Resources. The job is so much that I never feel caught up.

    Advice to Management

    Give all HR responsibilities to an educated and trained HR expert. More onsite training for employees rather than webex trainings.

    Corizon Health Response

    May 5, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I’m glad that you are enjoying your time, for the most part. I understand the desire for onsite HR representation. In fact, many of our larger state contracts, do in fact have embedded HR... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Pacific, MO
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Pacific, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I had a bad experience there as well as the other two nurses who hired in with myself whom were also all excused from full time employment the same weekend.

    Cons

    Very poor management, harrassment, workplace violence, poor orientation, poor management whom never was accessable to night shift and who were not involved on the floor.

    Advice to Management

    Education, assertive status improvement with staff issues

    Corizon Health Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Sorry to hear this was your experience with Corizon. I will certainly pass along your concerns, about site management, to the Missouri Regional team.

    We do adhere to a zero tolerance policy in... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    none this company shouldn't be in business

    Cons

    Everything mandatory overtime without asking, your name will appear on schedule the days you're suppose to be off, racist atmosphere headquarters is in Kentucky.

    Corizon Health Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – Employee Relations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Corizon Health.

    Mandatory overtime is sometimes necessary due to staff call offs or other operational emergencies. Same is true with... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Unprofessional management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Records Clerk in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Medical Records Clerk in Phoenix, AZ
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The medical records work was interesting. There were many hardworking people who went above and beyond to be successful and dedicated employees. The prisoners were respectful and it was not uncomfortable to work around them.

    Cons

    Negative and unfriendly members of management who were not welcoming to new employees. Lack of skilled leadership that was responsible for creating a miserable work environment. There was an excessive amount of turnover, with many long term employees being fired or resigning.

    Advice to Management

    You will never keep valuable and honest team members if the current negative atmosphere is allowed to remain.

    Corizon Health Response

    May 5, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I’m glad to hear you enjoyed certain aspects of your position when you were with Corizon. We have multiple facilities in/around Phoenix, so without knowing which location you worked, or when you... More


  9. "Great Pay but management sits in office and don't care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time

    Pros

    Pay is great but the people who work there will try to throw you under the bus all the time

    Cons

    Managment sits in office and never care to see peoples performances or how people act

    Advice to Management

    If you stick around you can easily move up due to high turnover

    Corizon Health Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I’m sorry to hear your time with Corizon fell short of expectations. I am more than happy to pass the info re: your management team, to my employee relations partner, if you could let me know which... More


  10. Helpful (5)

    "corizon are a bunch of morons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in Larned, KS
    Former Employee - Therapist in Larned, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Corizon Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    they overpay. but they are not good bosses.

    Cons

    They can't keep staff even though they overpay because the Corizon management are NOT good people. They are a joke. They get rid of good employees even when they are short on staff. What a joke.

    Advice to Management

    get a life and get a heart. If you go to church on Sunday and claim to be 'christian" then for God's sake, ACT LIKE IT!

    Corizon Health Response

    May 5, 2017 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your time there, we’ve notified upper management of your concerns, and wish you the best in your career going forward.

    Sincerely,
    Courtney Penning
    Director of Talent... More


Showing 302 of 312 reviews
Reset Filters