Cornell University Administrative Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Cornell University Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University President Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
3 Ratings
  1. "Awesome work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporary Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work/life balance, opportunity to advance, wonderful work environment

    Cons

    very competitive in applying to work there

    Cornell University2019-09-15
  2. "Service Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    Pleasant to work, friendly people

    Cons

    Sometimes very time consuming here

    Cornell University2019-09-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO, flexible hours, fair compensation

    Cons

    No benefits, some management should be improved

    Advice to Management

    Better benefits

    Cornell University2019-07-04
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and management, little work to do

    Cons

    Low pay, minimum wage offered

    Cornell University2019-02-25
  6. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, friendly work environment, decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    Work in academia is usually slow!

    Cornell University2018-07-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We are here to assist students in discovering their skills and interests, and identify related career options. This is a rewarding career that helps contribute to life long learning in the Cornell community.

    Cons

    At this time I don't have any.

    Cornell University2018-06-26
  8. "Great workplace overall, can be very bureaucratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Geneva, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff, working environment, great benefits and healthcare; development and social opportunities exist can can be hard to access,

    Cons

    Extensive bureaucratic policies and procedures can be hard to understand and work with and can make things difficult, relationship between colleges and academic departments can be contentious

    Cornell University2018-06-22
  9. "Student Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Student Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, can trade hours easily with co-workers and call off when I need it. I am also allowed to do homework or complete whatever tasks I need during my working hours so long as I have no responsibilities. The faculty in the office are dynamic, supportive, and friendly.

    Cons

    None; the job is a standard, boring student job

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Cornell University2018-01-15
  10. "Good Place Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant IV in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People Even better benefits So many departments

    Cons

    Hard to get into unless you know someone The degree you have not the effort you put in determines your growth

    Advice to Management

    Ignore the degree and find your hard workers

    Cornell University2017-09-02
  11. "Administrative Assistant III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant III in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornell University

    Pros

    Camaraderie. Part of a "family".

    Cons

    It can be hard to get promoted.

    Advice to Management

    Consider revising job titles and responsibilities.

    Cornell University2016-06-22
Found 34 reviews