Cornell University Graduate Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Cornell University Graduate Research Assistant Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
5 Ratings
  1. "Ithaca is Gorges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people & atmosphere. Beautiful area full of natural beauty.

    Cons

    In a small town- great for some things but not for others

    Cornell University2019-12-10
  2. "Good school to do research!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    friendly people and beautiful environment

    Cons

    too far from major cities

    Cornell University2019-10-31
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Awesome place to do research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    professors are nice, large database, a lot of support from other staff

    Cons

    Pay is low. Structure not quite clear

    Cornell University2019-09-06
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good people, and encourages interdisciplinary work.

    Cons

    poor work life environment and attitudes by some

    Cornell University2019-08-20
  6. "Very good for research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quite and beautiful campus with a lot of collaboration across labs

    Cons

    Can be challenging for social life

    Cornell University2019-07-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A harrowing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -There are a few people high up in the administration that really care about making Cornell a more inclusive, safe place. I just wish there were more of them. -Higher than average grad stipend and year-round health insurance, but no dental or vision

    Cons

    -Toxic work culture with a focus on prestige and appearance rather than quality research -Abuse, both sexual and emotional, from students and professors -Title IX and ombudsman office are understaffed and the processes in place to report assault or abuse are time consuming and triggering -Outdated scientific equipment in many labs -Working in isolation for years with no feedback on performance or career... advancement opportunities -High cost of living in and around Ithaca, NY

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support people in the administration who are trying to advocate for better student treatment and benefits. Offer management training to professors and lab technicians.

    Cornell University2019-06-21
  8. "Amazing School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cornell offers a supportive environment and gives the opportunity to nurture our interests

    Cons

    Ithaca is an isolated place.

    Cornell University2019-05-01
  9. "Grad student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent mentors, great resources for career advancement, great facilities, beautiful location.

    Cons

    poor mental health support, questionable treatment of sexual harassment cases, expensive housing.

    Cornell University2019-04-16
  10. "Great place to pursue PhD degree"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are really smart, nice and supportive!

    Cons

    Location. Harder to build a career network

    Cornell University2019-03-05
  11. "amazing academic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great scientists to collaborate and get feedback from. Lots of resources from teaching workshops, BEST program, writing and communication workshops for career development and a lot of the world's best scientists come to give talks, which is great!

    Cons

    slightly isolating environment at the same time.. it is hard to engage socially, i think because Ithaca is a quiet community. Also isolated from the big cities, so it is hard to network and eventually find jobs for graduate students interested in industry jobs.

    Advice to Management

    we need more career fairs catering to PhDs in life-sciences! We also need better ways to find and network with our alums

    Cornell University2019-03-17
Found 66 reviews