Cornell University Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Cornell University Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
1 Ratings
  1. "Great job with ANSC Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job with a good group of students

    Cons

    Professor wasn’t always organized

    Cornell University2019-08-14
  2. "Fun but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a TA at Cornell is a lot of fun since you get to help students learn material better, and it's genuinely interesting to get to know how people conceptualize course material differently than you do. It's also a good way to make connections within the computer science major.

    Cons

    The pay isn't great, but there lots of non-monetary benefits to being a TA, so this isn't that big an issue.

    Cornell University2019-11-21
  3. "Great Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University for less than a year

    Pros

    Role is fulfilling Staff is very nice The course is structured very well, so there is no chaos There's always protocol you can lean on

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons - I love this job!

    Cornell University2018-09-17
  4. "Fun Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Completely flexible hours when TAing a large class but classes without enough TAs are a pain.

    Cons

    Late night grading sessions after exams.

    Cornell University2017-06-28
  5. "Physics Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great faculty, learn a lot!

    Cons

    None, it's a great program. One of the best student jobs on campus!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, the Physics Department's teaching is superb.

    Cornell University2017-04-05
  6. "Great university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Students are very eager to learn and come to office hours with insightful questions. Recitations are always an active back and forth between me and my students.

    Cons

    One of the negatives is large class sizes. This can make it difficult to balance one on one sessions with students with helping everyone on the whole.

    Advice to Management

    Have a better guide for how to reserve rooms for office hours. Other than that everything else is run pretty smoothly.

    Cornell University2016-09-08
  7. "[Dept. of CompSci] Excellent to TA in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent hourly wage for an undergrad, generally a great work/life balance as you're able to TA and review the material on the side of your own coursework.

    Cons

    Can't think of many, it's highly dependent on the professor(s) you work for, some are better than others when it comes to course staff.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, it seems to be going fairly well and that's what's important.

    Cornell University2016-05-02
  8. "Great place to learn and teach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Good opportunity to help out other students 2. Reinforces own knowledge of subject matter 3. Usually easy to fit in with academic schedule 4. Good source of extra salary

    Cons

    1. Balance between coursework and other responsibilities can be difficult 2. Limited space available for office hours

    Advice to Management

    Provide more comprehensive training opportunities

    Cornell University2015-02-20
Found 8 reviews