KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cornell University

Engaged Employer

Cornell University

Add a Review

Cornell University Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Nov 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 111 of over 2,637 reviews

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University President Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
471 Ratings

What people are saying about Cornell University

Join the conversation on

Salary Negotiations

18h

a 

Project Manager

Running in my 8th year in construction here in the SE. In my second job right now as a PM and Risk Management (5th year). I have a Masters Degree in Construction and additional certification programs from Cornell University, I think I am good with the pay I am getting (FOR NOW!) BUT Currently get paid 10 PTO+6 holidays in addition to winter shutdowns from December 24th to Jan1st. Hence the PTO is limited to 10 for new hires upto completion of 5 years. Is this a fair PTO for someone in year 8?

2

3 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people are great; they are flexible and always there for you to ask questions of.(in 166 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and health resources.(in 165 reviews)
  • "Flexible Hours were convenient for my schedule(in 82 reviews)
  • "Quite and beautiful campus with a lot of collaboration across labs(in 78 reviews)
  • "The staff is friendly and polite.(in 46 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay and part time status(in 78 reviews)
  • "Salary is low and housing difficult to find.(in 50 reviews)
  • "Management was poor and didn't listen to the needs of the staff(in 21 reviews)
  • "Lack of accountability in management, particularly with 'trailing spouses' who won't be held accountable if they are toxic, bad managers because of their spouses position.(in 12 reviews)
  • "While management strictly enforces the rules of 'no overtime' it is impossible to complete work as assigned under the constant stress, distractions, changing strategies and leadership who uses fear and intimidation due to an inability and clear lack of experience.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Cornell University and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Contractor

    Research Associate

    Oct 27, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Innovative and collaborative work environment.

    Cons

    Location is remote and has limited access to goods and services if you are used to big cities.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work

    Jan 3, 2022 - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Professional and caring environment. My department shows that they care about students. The work environment is pleasant and the administration's concern for our health during the pandemic is thourough.

    Cons

    Parking is either expensive or very far from job location.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Temporary Employee

    investment

    Sep 11, 2021 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very friendly and kind work environment

    Cons

    The life balance were not too good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good place

    Feb 7, 2021 - Library Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good environment and fun to work at

    Cons

    None really, people were nice

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    nice working environment and better balance work and family

    Oct 8, 2021 - Research Associate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice working environment and better balance work and family

    Cons

    I have not find any of it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great

    Jan 20, 2020 - Tss 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment and people

    Cons

    No cons i can think

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cornell University Response

    Thank you for taking time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback!

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Cornell Business Intelligence Role

    Oct 14, 2017 - Software Engineer in Ithaca, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic and cutting edge work environment. A counterpoint to a typically staid and slow-moving impression of the organization

    Cons

    Salaries are commensurate with the location in Ithaca, NY.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Scientist

    Jan 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Ithaca, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a Tier 1 University.

    Cons

    The work environment was toxic and destructive. The size of the grant that researchers bring determines how compliant with regulatory/safety rules.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    College of Engineering Marketing and Communications Internship Review

    Dec 18, 2013 - College of Engineering Marketing and Communications Intern in Ithaca, NY