Corner Bakery Cafe Reviews | Glassdoor

Corner Bakery Cafe Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 320 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Corner Bakery Cafe CEO Mike Hislop
Mike Hislop
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good food discount and you learn how to work hard(in 19 reviews)

  • "50% discount on food and free beverages(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours 50-60/hrs a week if you’re management(in 20 reviews)

  • "Low pay, little to no advancement(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Maintain the Front End of the house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate & Cashier in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Corner Bakery Cafe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It isn’t a hard job to work there.

    Cons

    Everyone is not able to exercise teamwork.

    Corner Bakery Cafe2019-05-13
  2. "positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Cashier and Service Attendant 

      I worked at Corner Bakery Cafe full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      friendly coworkers, quick training process

      Cons

      There was nothing that I did not like about this position

      Corner Bakery Cafe2019-06-10
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Cashier 

        I worked at Corner Bakery Cafe full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Nice place to work during school

        Cons

        A lot of people call in and you are left picking up the slack

        Corner Bakery Cafe2019-06-08
      • "not too bad"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Cashier 

          I have been working at Corner Bakery Cafe full-time

          Pros

          time goes fast because they always keep you busy

          Cons

          you have like 5 managers on you all the time, and when they are bored they just are looking for little reasons to get on you

          Advice to Management

          don't have 5 managers

          Corner Bakery Cafe2019-06-05
        • "Good"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Career Opportunities
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Corner Bakery Cafe part-time

          Pros

          Decent job for a high schooler even though the pay isn't that great

          Cons

          the pay isn't that good

          Corner Bakery Cafe2019-05-27
        • "Learned a lot about the ins and outs of running a business."

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Corner Bakery Cafe

            Pros

            Started out as a fun, family-oriented company that turned into the opposite as the years went by.

            Cons

            See below. **100% honest review**

            Advice to Management

            Tell your area directors to listen to your GMs and managers when they present an issue to them that they need help with. Mine avoided the issue despite several attempts and ended up with a big problem and then had the nerve to get pissed about it. Health insurance cost is through the roof compared to competition. Annual performance reviews only go up to 2% of your salary, no exceptions, regardless if your store is...

            Show More
            Corner Bakery Cafe2019-05-23
          • "Good summer job"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Cashier 

              I worked at Corner Bakery Cafe part-time

              Pros

              It was nice being able to come back as a seasonal employee. They were able to work with the fact that I had another job during the summer

              Cons

              Refused to let anyone work anything close to 40hrs.

              Corner Bakery Cafe2019-04-11
            • "Good first job"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Back of the House Team Member in Oak Lawn, IL
              Doesn't Recommend

              I worked at Corner Bakery Cafe full-time for more than 5 years

              Pros

              Fifty percent off on meals

              Cons

              Never allowed a break Over worked and expected to do things outside job description

              Corner Bakery Cafe2019-04-23
            • "Pretty Good Overall"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Current Employee - Front of House Staff in Highland Village, TX
              Recommends
              No opinion of CEO

              I have been working at Corner Bakery Cafe part-time for less than a year

              Pros

              Friendly co-workers, nice and relax managers, busy environment, good pay, flexible schedule, switching shifts and calling in sick was easy, we wear allowed to accept tips and we didn't have to split them

              Cons

              The schedule only covered one week at a time, we were overstaffed, people would have their hour cut down without notice and when they asked for more hours they were given less

              Advice to Management

              Don't hire more workers if you don't need them

              Corner Bakery Cafe2019-04-09
            • "Love The Round Rock Team"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Front of House Team Member in Round Rock, TX
              Recommends
              Negative Outlook
              Disapproves of CEO

              I worked at Corner Bakery Cafe part-time for more than a year

              Pros

              Best managers ever!!! Very much a family

              Cons

              Corporate is full of jerks

              Advice to Management

              Stop hiring people who you know will stop showing up!! Ditch the savoir complex

              Corner Bakery Cafe2019-04-05
            Found 320 reviews