Cornerstone Chemical Reviews | Glassdoor

Cornerstone Chemical Reviews

Updated Jul 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
1 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornerstone Chemical for less than a year

    Pros

    - Plenty of opportunity to learn more about desired field - Kind employees - They kept me involved - Employees often got free snowballs/smoothies on hot days

    Cons

    - The smell of the plant stays in your sinuses

    Cornerstone Chemical2019-07-24
  2. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - I&E Technician in Waggaman, LA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cornerstone Chemical for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back, plenty of overtime, cost of living raise every year, transcredit and 401k matching, on site gym.

    Cons

    No bonuses for hourly workers, safety record, owned by a investment company, inexperienced supervision due to high turnover, no sick leave

    Cornerstone Chemical2019-02-04
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator Trainee in Waggaman, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cornerstone Chemical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture and small plant make this a great place to work.

    Cons

    Lower pay than other plants in the area by 2-3 dollars an hour. Atmosphere of this plant more than makes up for this shortcoming.

    Cornerstone Chemical2018-01-13
  4. "Process Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Operator in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornerstone Chemical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cornerstone is a great place to start and end your career. The compensation and benefits are below average for a Process Operator in Louisiana but the atmosphere makes up for it.

    Cons

    Very low starting pay compared to other chemical manufacturing plants and refineries in the area. The plant is owned by an investment firm and not a large corporate company like most other chemical plants in the area. Operator Trainee's start as packaging technicians at $18/hour and have to wait 6-8 months before bidding into an Operator job in a production unit.

    Advice to Management

    Improve compensation and benefits. Improve Operator Trainee program and job bidding process.

    Cornerstone Chemical2017-05-24
  5. "Process operator at Cornerstone Chem Co."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Operator in Waggaman, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cornerstone Chemical

    Pros

    Great group of people and a relaxed yet safe work environment. Benefits are alright but does have room for improvement. Although, compared to today's economy they are good.

    Cons

    Pay is not horrible but is lower than most operator positions you will find at other companies. As far as the job I can't complain. I enjoy it emensly.

    Advice to Management

    I really don't have any critiques or complaints about managent. Everything I feel needs to improve is in pay and benefits.

    Cornerstone Chemical2016-02-13
  6. "Engineering intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Waggaman, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cornerstone Chemical for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Everyone is very friendly and willing to help you if you have any problems. It is a great place to learn about working in a chemical plant and it is also a great place to grow your career.

    Cons

    Technology is behind in some aspects and sometimes the capital budget is almost nothing.

    Cornerstone Chemical2015-10-13
  7. "Mechanical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Reliability Engineer in Mobile, AL

    I worked at Cornerstone Chemical for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting synergistic chemical processing environment

    Cons

    some scary potentially lethal processes

    Cornerstone Chemical2015-10-15
  8. "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Operator in Waggaman, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cornerstone Chemical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a union job with family like employees.

    Cons

    Adverage pay compared to other chemical companies in the area.

    Cornerstone Chemical2014-11-20
Found 8 reviews