KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Cornerstone Home Lending

Engaged Employer

Cornerstone Home Lending

Add a Review

Cornerstone Home Lending Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 431 of over 432 reviews
4.4
90% Recommend to a Friend
97% Approve of CEO

Found 432 of over 432 reviews

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Cornerstone Home Lending Chairman & CEO Marc Laird (no image)
Marc Laird
344 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is decent, but depending on your title, not enough for the amount of stress the job entails.(in 8 reviews)
  • "They require you to commute to the office, however, they hired direct senior managers in which that did not apply.(in 5 reviews)
  • "no bonus structure/incentives(in 3 reviews)
  • "Something I foolishly believed could be okay but was swiftly brought back to reality when I witnessed the favoritism first hand.(in 3 reviews)
  • "That was a total shocker as I have time off scheduled and I'm essentially borrowing next year's time at this point.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Cornerstone Home Lending and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    A nice place to conduct your life's work

    May 16, 2022 - Officer in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Supportive culture and strong mission 2. Sound financial condition and getting stronger 3. Adaptive opportunities with expansion plans 4. Good benefits and good rewards 5. Great technology

    Cons

    I wish there was more room for others. This is the sort of place a long career can be made.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Aug 9, 2022 - Loan Officer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a family friendly place to work, absolute dream. The support is amazing.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Jul 12, 2022 - Sr mortgage underwriter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great family atmosphere; Team work was awesome; LOS was easy to learn; Excellent written guidelines

    Cons

    Not really any cons from me

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Location takes priortiy

    Jul 19, 2022 - Business Development Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Allowed you to build your team and grow within the sales area.

    Cons

    There isn't much communication or involvement with Upper management and supporting branches.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great atmosphere

    Jul 17, 2022 - Front End Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team support, responsive, family feel.

    Cons

    Small teams, lots of back and forth between teams instead of getting to the root of an issue

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Decent workplace, not super loyal to longtime employees

    Jul 13, 2022 - Client Experience Administrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Immediate and competitive benefits/insurance Fancy offices and equipment Lots of team outings

    Cons

    No yearly evaluations or regular raises, no matter how long you have been employed. Pay is not very competitive HR issues not handled very professionally

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to work

    Jun 27, 2022 - Mortgage Loan Officer Assistant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good family environment, great flexibility

    Cons

    There is a lack of opportunity to grow and learn.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work - Needs Improvement in Pay

    Jul 6, 2022 - Mortgage Closing Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The atmosphere and coworkers at CHL are great. They really do value work/life balance.

    Cons

    The pay is fairly low compared to the rest of the mortgage industry. Not letting employees work remote with high gas prices, when they have no clients that come in.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cornerstone Home Lending Response

    CHL Leadership Team

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are happy you benefit from the work-life balance we hold so dear at Cornerstone. All of your feedback is important to us and will be shared with our leadership team.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jul 5, 2022 - Underwriter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well run- great resources and training. They provide a lot of support and make it easy to do your job.

    Cons

    none that I've seen. Its a tough market right now, so I'm sure there will be downsizing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Loan Officer

    Jun 16, 2022 - Loan Officer in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment, managers and benefits

    Cons

    None great place to work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 432 Reviews
</>Embed

Cornerstone Home Lending Reviews FAQs

Cornerstone Home Lending has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 432 reviews left anonymously by employees. 90% of employees would recommend working at Cornerstone Home Lending to a friend and 80% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Cornerstone Home Lending employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Cornerstone Home Lending. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

90% of Cornerstone Home Lending employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Cornerstone Home Lending 4.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.7 for culture and values and 4.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Cornerstone Home Lending to be senior leadership, career development, management and the cons to be workplace, compensation, benefits.

Popular Careers with Cornerstone Home Lending Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cornerstone Home Lending? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Cornerstone Home Lending

61 days ago

Culture
We believe happiness is an inside job. So, when we knew it was time to refresh our brand we did some soul searching. We looked deep within our continuing legacy, we listened to our inner “Judy Belanger” and remembered her words: “Party on dude!” and “Let’s build a fun, happy workplace!” Our team fosters and creates happiness, and that positivity impacts everyone we touch. We have a rare and beautiful culture and we want to share it with the world. So what do we do? We make our branding, our look, our feel — HAPPY! From happy team members to making partners happy and getting clients happily home — the way it should be — our new voice and visuals embody happiness. Cool, calming blues. Light, airy feels. Cheerful, upbeat photos and images. We believe being happy never goes out of style and we look forward to all the happiness this new branding will bring team members, clients and partners alike.
Shared image
Logo

Cornerstone Home Lending

78 days ago

Community
This Memorial Day we honor those who made the ultimate sacrifice in service to our country and to their families. Wishing you and your family a safe weekend as we remember those who gave it all. “How important it is for us to recognize our heroes and she-roes.” – Maya Angelou
Shared image
See all

Cornerstone Home Lending Photos

+ Add Photo
Cornerstone Home Lending photo of: CEO Marc Laird at a Top Producer trip
Cornerstone Home Lending photo of: Team Members after a volleyball tournament during the President's Club Trip
Cornerstone Home Lending photo of: Top Producer Trip team members singing karaoke
Cornerstone Home Lending photo of: Team Member appreciation party
Cornerstone Home Lending photo of: Houston team members
Cornerstone Home Lending photo of: Oklahoma, California, and Arkansas team members in Texas for a regional retreat
Cornerstone Home Lending photo of: Team members having a great time at a Top Producer Trip
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 432 Cornerstone Home Lending reviews submitted anonymously by Cornerstone Home Lending employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Cornerstone Home Lending is right for you.