Corrections Corporation of America C/O Reviews | Glassdoor

Corrections Corporation of America Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
42%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Corrections Corporation of America President, CEO, and Director Damon T. Hininger
Damon T. Hininger
117 Ratings
  1. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    Staff was great to work with

    Cons

    Understaffed and supervisor broke policy

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-07-21
  2. "Not the best place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Correctional Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to pay the bills

    Cons

    Mandatory Overtime, Favoritism, Roster changes even when you volunteer.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more and hire more people so there would be less overtime, maybe you would be able to boost moral and decrease the turn over rate.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-05-30
  3. "Core Civic/CCA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Detention Officer in Lumpkin, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay; benefits; pto; not hard labor

    Cons

    Management; shift selections; mandatory overtime

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with more respect

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-03-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Cold, Unfeeling, Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good perks, good people

    Cons

    As a whole, headed away from all of the goods listed above. Every new decision is against the employees, for the good of the company, and against common sense, toward modernity and typical group-think. Becoming a non-human-company, like so many other big companies that just exist on their own, where people are just an inconvenient necessity to be tolerated.

    Advice to Management

    Creative thinking and solving problems got you were you are... listening to societal lies and pleasing the masses is taking you down.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-02-07
  5. "Corrections Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Correctional Officer in Florence, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked for this company for 18 years. The pay depends on who the contracting agency is for your facility. I work at a facility in Florence Az under contract to the United States Marshall Service. Officers at our location are one of the highest paid corrections officers in our area. We make substantially more than officers who work at AZ Dept of Corrections.

    Cons

    A little cliquish... There would be a lot more favoritism but we are a union facility covered by a collective bargaining agreement. Overall good place to work

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-01-14
  6. "Hiring Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Supervisor in Dilley, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    Salary is good, Different posts daily.

    Cons

    Background investigation is somewhat lengthy but worth it.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-01-08
  7. "Line Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    Fun Place To Work At

    Cons

    The Pay Is Not Good For The Work You Do

    Advice to Management

    Up The Pay An Cut The Hours

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-12-30
  8. "Worth a try."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits may be make a career with this company worthwhile.

    Cons

    Personal Safety, Slow and limited process to make things happen for inmates.

    Advice to Management

    Need to be more approachable.

    Corrections Corporation of America2018-01-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Correctional Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corrections Corporation of America part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits and Pay, A lot of overtime if you want it.

    Cons

    Some of Management is no good. People are smart mouthy and very disrespectful, extremely high turn over rate, too relaxed environment, no structure whatsoever, inmates are treated better than the staff, what good is it to have days off if you have to work barrel days and give up 4 of your days off every month because people won't come to work. Never relieved on time. Facility is way out of hand. Hopefully, the State will take over real soon. They tell you that you can advance up, but they hold you back from climbing higher. Very unorganized and unprofessional. Nobody is ever in the same page.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more helpful to employees, take charge of the things that need to be corrected inside the facilities for our safety as far as STRUCTURE. Create much needed STRUCTURE soon as possible. Remove the barrel days. 12hrs are long hours.

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-12-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correctional Officer in Milan, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free inmate food for employees. Great insurance packages. Decent pay. Great coffee. Overtime pay, lots of it. Nothing else I can think of.

    Cons

    Just about everything else. High turnover rate, immature staff, long hours. Bad work environment culture. Administration always on your back. Lazy staff. Inmates have more rights than staff. You spend more time at this job than at your own home. Rumor mill.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to work together. Stop throwing co-workers under the bus.

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-11-18
Found 261 reviews