Corrections Corporation of America Reviews | Glassdoor

Corrections Corporation of America Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
42%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Corrections Corporation of America President, CEO, and Director Damon T. Hininger
Damon T. Hininger
117 Ratings
  1. "correction officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    working with inmates helping with everyday living.

    Cons

    working long hours and not enough days off.

    Advice to Management

    monitor workers hours.

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-09-28
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Corrections Corporation of America part-time

    Pros

    Experience in corrections, it's a good way to get your foot in the door.

    Cons

    Once your foot is firmly planted, move on.

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-09-01
  3. "Detention officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    Benefits decent pay time off.

    Cons

    No raises and long hours

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-08-04
  4. "Countroom clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Countroom Clerk in Jacksboro, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's steady job security, will always need beds for state offenders.

    Cons

    Your always watching your back, and you must treat offenders like you can't trust them. They are not your friend or buddy. They are cons. Not like working a job around free world employees.

    Advice to Management

    Have more perks for employees, better raises.

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-07-30
  5. "Correctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time

    Pros

    Worked overtime , liked my chief

    Cons

    Didn't like it much bc some people didn't work as team

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-07-11
  6. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working with these large company. Great employee benefits.

    Cons

    I really enjoyed all aspects of this job. I don't have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for team building opportunities.

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-07-07
  7. "Career Starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correctional Officer in Olney Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some amazing people. Really enjoyed the work we did. The healthcare and schedule were pretty good!

    Cons

    Some supervisors lacked real leadership. The pay could be much better

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your front end staff more often.

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-07-06
  8. "Detention Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Detention Officer in Houston, TX

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent money especially when overtime was available. Good Benefits Overtime available Camaraderie between employees was nice. Company parties were pretty nice too.

    Cons

    Must be in a locked dorm with detainees for 12 hours with very few breaks. ICE has very strict policies for employees NOT so much detainees.

    Advice to Management

    Dorm employees need more breaks ESPECIALLY night shift.

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-07-06
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Slow at making needed changes. Allows employees who are resistant to change block opportunities for company advancement.

    Cons

    CCA is much better at managing the prisons than the federal or state governments. That is CCA's expertise, the governments do not have this experience. With CCA the governments have a contract price and work within a budget. If governments run the prisons it will be no different than the United States Postal System. There will be billion dollar its governments managing.

    Advice to Management

    Employ ethical, law abiding managers. If management sets the standard for honesty and ethical business practices, fires those who fail to live up to these standards, promotes those who demand ethical behaviors, the "trickle down" theory will prevail.

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-06-27
  10. "Correctional setting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Worker in Eloy, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Corrections Corporation of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health insurance, Paid time off, Steady schedule, some people are good honest individuals, HR has open door for anyone to go over an concerns

    Cons

    Daily drama "like little kids who didn't get their way". No good raises, 401k poor

    Advice to Management

    Your alright

    Corrections Corporation of America2017-06-30
Found 261 reviews