Corrs Chambers Westgarth Reviews | Glassdoor

Corrs Chambers Westgarth Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Talks well but doesn’t always follow through"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Paralegal in Brisbane

    I have been working at Corrs Chambers Westgarth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The ability to work flexibly was openly available and used by many at the firm ( not just parents)

    Cons

    The group I was the management took a head in the sand approach and did not properly use the opportunity of a probation period for new staff and regularly had bad people stay and cause issues which others had to sort out.

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2019-09-16
  2. "Relaxed environment but little recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Corrs Chambers Westgarth part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and relaxed environment but not many benefits and push for billables.

    Cons

    New CEO communicating in media more than to staff

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2019-08-04
  3. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Corrs Chambers Westgarth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing leadership, best culture and team synergy that i have ever encountered, work hard play hard, exposure to diverse high quality work

    Cons

    Long hours is a given. You can't separate work/life they are intertwined, it's a given when you choose private practice.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work in striving to be better and listening to employees.

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2019-06-28
  4. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Corrs Chambers Westgarth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent facilities, great strategy and leadership.

    Cons

    Hours can be long at times

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2019-06-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Corrs Chambers Westgarth full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, they look after their people, growing firm doing some amazing things!

    Cons

    They could do more to look after their business services staff as the focus tends to always be on just the lawyers.

    Advice to Management

    Legal and non legal should be treated as equals.

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2018-09-03
  6. "Avoid like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Corrs Chambers Westgarth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that come to my mind

    Cons

    Partners do what they want, favourtism, blame culture

    Advice to Management

    Work on your culture and quit playing politics

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2018-08-20
  7. "Great training and access to great clients but competitive, cut-throat culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Corrs Chambers Westgarth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Blue chip clients, working with and learning from extremely smart people

    Cons

    Competitive , extremely long hours, not enough time spent on learning and development.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people - develop your partners and senior lawyers' EQ skills .

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2018-02-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Corrs Chambers Westgarth full-time

    Pros

    consistent hours and no other pros

    Cons

    not flexible with hours or lunch breaks

    Advice to Management

    none

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2017-10-25
  9. "Above average workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Corrs Chambers Westgarth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Focused on improving culture and engagement with its employees, promotes flexibility in work schedules and growing with innovative ideas

    Cons

    Lack of benefits and sometimes slow with change

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2017-07-09
  10. "It all depends on the Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Corrs Chambers Westgarth full-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot from my experience at Corrs. Provided you have a partner 'sponsoring" you, there is a lot to be learned and a lot of opportunity to advance. However that almost always comes at the cost of work life balance. Pay was broadly market rates.

    Cons

    Work life balance was an available option, however only following a few years of service and at the cost of some of the better quality work. When I brought a better offer to the table, the management effectively said you should take that, we wont match it.

    Advice to Management

    Consideration of what is important to the employees and what will retain staff and set realistic expectations. Marketing to candidates was always along the work life balance lines, but it doesn't necessarily translate.

    Corrs Chambers Westgarth2016-09-06
Found 16 reviews