Cortland Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Cortland CEO Steven DeFrancis
Steven DeFrancis
314 Ratings
Pros
  • "Cortland is a great company to work for(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and retirement plans(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be challenging at times(in 29 reviews)

  • "Multiple levels of upper management(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cortland and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      I have no words!

      Jun 16, 2020 - Community Manager in Smyrna, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cortland is more than just a company, it’s a family. It truly is. Cortland is a fast-paced, ever-evolving company that puts constant emphasis on the needs and wants of its residents, future residents and associates. Cortland’s culture focuses on putting the residents first and that positivity drives their associates to strive to be better. #lovewhatyoudoandletitahow #growtogetherandplayasateam #havethecouragetobebetter #listenwithyourheartandyourmind #dotherightthingfortherightreason

      Cons

      Cortland is a fast-paced company that continuously strives to adhere to the most current wants and demands of its residents and associates. If you are a creature of habit, this may be a challenge for you. You’ve got to be able to embrace the changes and implement them at a moments notice.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cortland Response

      Brian Baker, Director of Operations

      Hi, Cortlandian! We couldn't have said it better. Cortland is a place where we want everyone to feel like family. Family pushes one another to grow and they'll always support you! Therefore, we truly care about our associates, and most importantly our residents – they both play an enormous role in our continued success in the multifamily industry. Our hard work and fast-paced environment is how we've become successful, so yes you're right not everyone has what it takes to keep up with us! However, those that do, prosper at Cortland. Thanks for your awesome feedback. #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Company Culture

      May 25, 2021 - Property Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone shares the same values and pride in what we do. Everyone is happy and friendly and humble. It's unlike any company I know of.

      Cons

      Can't think of any cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cortland Response

      Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

      Hey! At Cortland, we aim to provide a work environment for our associates that encourages togetherness. We’re glad to know your team believes in the core values and portrays what it means to be a family. We hope you continue to enjoy your associate journey with us!

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Cortland - Leasing Agent

      Jun 9, 2021 - Leasing Agent in Kingwood, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission and bonuses (when in lease up).

      Cons

      Your HR reports will likely not be taken seriously. Residents have free range to treat you however they choose (this includes yelling in your face and cussing you out via email or phone). Living onsite you get a 20% discount which is not worth it, due to you being on call basically and not compensated?? The toxic work environment (Me and another associate were cussed out by a coworker and she was never written up)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not worth the time

      Apr 27, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cortland started off as a great company, but really went down hill.

      Cons

      Cortland would be amazing if C.M's were held accountable, but most of them think they are invincible, which has sadly been proved correct. Multiple HR complaints were made against a C.M and all they did was tell her and allow her to make fun of us. We dealt with racial slurs and sayings along with lots of unprofessionalism. Even went as far as cutting ties with Cortland altogether. I know a few employees considered lawyers due to the environment we were put in.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Cortland Response

      Rina Sharpe, VP of Talent Engagement

      Hello, there. We hold every associate at Cortland accountable for their actions, and we do not tolerate the use of any racial slurs or forms of discrimination. In fact, we do take associate complaints very seriously – just like we did for this one.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Entrepreneurial, empowering, and engaging company and leadership. Smart, intelligent associates who constantly challenge you to become better version of yourself.

      Cons

      Extremely fast paced. This company behaves like a start-up, constantly innovating and improving. Not for the faint of heart, or for someone who doesn't like to be challenged, or likes the easy way out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cortland Response

      Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

      Hey, Cortlandian! As you may know by now, we like to recruit individuals who believe in our mission, themselves, and their ability to grow. We do move at a fast pace – it's in our nature to get better and better every day. It’s our innovation that helps us remain a top player in the multifamily industry, and our associates are a huge part of that!

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company

      Jun 8, 2021 - Leasing Professional in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good healthcare benefits for employees

      Cons

      sometimes can seem only profit driven

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      They don’t care

      Jun 12, 2021 - Property Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have great swag, and throw great parties

      Cons

      Everything else, they just don’t care

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great!

      May 20, 2021 - Resident Experience Manager in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission, flexible schedule, uncapped commission

      Cons

      Variety of residents personalities, weekends

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cortland Response

      Tiffany Barnett, Director of Operations

      Hi, Cortlandian! It's always great to receive positive feedback about our associate experience. We work hard to ensure that associates who work hard reap the rewards of their success. Cortland’s top priority is taking care of our residents, and as you know, sometimes that requires long days, weekends, and varying personalities – but that’s why we continue to climb the ladder in the industry.

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Nice environment

      May 6, 2021 - Leasing Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is nice and there's good commission

      Cons

      You have to be organized and good with time management or it's very easy to get overwhelmed

      1 person found this review helpful

      Cortland Response

      Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

      Hi, we’re glad you enjoyed your time with us and our Cortland camaraderie! It’s true that without time management and organizational skills, our fast-paced environment isn’t for everyone. However, if you decide you want to rejoin the Cortland family, we encourage you to look at our available opportunities in the future!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      "Culture"

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very modern and millennial. The strive to have great benefits for employees.

      Cons

      Cortland preaches about a culture I haven't seen.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cortland Response

      Rina Sharpe, VP of Talent Engagement

      Hello! At Cortland, we try our best to stay progressive and adjust our culture as we see fit. The benefits we offer play a crucial role in that – along with our core values and our people. Since we’ve been distanced for the past year, we’ve had to adjust how we share our culture with our associates. We hope that you get the chance to experience the camaraderie we preach about and enjoy your journey with us!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 410 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cortland Job Seekers

    Investment Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cortland? Share Your Experiences

    or