Cortland Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cortland CEO Steven DeFrancis
Steven DeFrancis
238 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cortland is one of the best companies to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working for Cortland! Everyone is like a family. All my supervisors/managers are amazing, I’ve grown so much overall as a leasing consultant in the past 2 years just because Cortland strives to teach you and make you the best associate you can be, with in house training, peer coaches and overall awesome managers. Benefits and pay are very competitive. If your looking to get into the industry Cortland is known for training and moving up within.

    Cons

    I have no negative/downsides about Cortland

    Cortland2020-06-03
  2. "Awesome place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Technician in Grand Prairie, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice. Bonuses and commosions good work enviorment

    Cons

    Taking after hours calls And

    Cortland2020-05-29
  3. "LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is easy to love what you do and let it show while working for Cortland. We are given the support and tools that we need to succeed. Not only is customer satisfaction at the top of our list, but employee satisfaction is of top importance. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Not sure if this is really a bad thing, but we do have a lot of meetings.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2020-05-29
  4. "Fantastic and Innovative Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cortland is a team oriented company. The focus is on both personal growth as well as career growth. The company Core Values are not only written, but are practiced and implemented in the day to day operations.

    Cons

    Multiple levels of upper management

    Cortland2020-05-29
  5. "Exciting, Energizing, & Empowering"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Carrollton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cortland's Core Values and what the organization stands for allows the employees to do more than just the work of your ordinary multi-family management company. Theywant to make a difference and we all want to contribute! A place where growth in encouraged, feedback is given without disparegement, and recognition is timely and consistent. The best part is the talent. Serviing with the best to learn and grow each day and all are eager to share!

    Cons

    Workload can be really heavy at times as we try to do more with less. A con for those who are used to the traditional multi-family management companies. You will work harder but will be rewarded appropriately.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2020-05-29
  6. "Whole new gateway to endless opportunities."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    one of the main things i value about cortland is the acknowledgement of good work. having worked for some other very large management companies i have never felt valued or appreciated at any community as i do within cortland. everybody is good about recognizing hard workers and giving hard workers new opportunities to grow and better themselves. cortland is an amazing place to go if you feel you’re stuck in a thankless rut.

    Cons

    many things within cortland are done very different than how most other management companies would do but i see this more as something to get used to rather than a con.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2020-05-29
  7. "Cortland is awesome."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cortland is a great company to work for. They take care of their employees better than any company I have ever worked for. Great benefits and retirement plans.

    Cons

    The only thing I find wrong with insurance is it is a very high deductible plan.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2020-05-29
  8. "Really, really great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upper management in DFW is wonderful and very supportive. AOM, DO, Regional Landscaper, Regional Pest Control, Regional Service and Quality Manager are always available and ready to help. I have also felt very well taken care of during the COVID-19 pandemic. Lots of room for growth if you work hard and meet your goals.

    Cons

    None really, I'm very happy working for Cortland.

    Cortland2020-05-29
  9. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Allen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cortland is great company to work for. They always support their employees and help them Grow.I’ve learned a lot working with Cortland specially customer service and how to be positive in the worst situations.

    Cons

    I did t have any downsides working with Cortland.

    Cortland2020-05-30
  10. "The best of the best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time

    Pros

    people, home work life balance, growth opportunities

    Cons

    non, they are truly amazing

    Continue reading
    Cortland2020-05-21

    Cortland Response

    May 22, 2020EVP of Operations & Facilities, Jonathan Tucker

    Hey, Cortlandian! We appreciate the positive feedback. As you may know, our main focus is to provide associates with a great overall experience. We achieve this by hiring like-minded people to create a collaborative and fun working environment. With that being said, we also prioritize associates’ professional growth because we care about the people we’re investing in and believe it only makes Cortland stronger. We hope you continue to enjoy your journey with us! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow

Found 296 reviews