Cortland "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cortland Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Cortland CEO Steven DeFrancis
Steven DeFrancis
223 Ratings
Pros
  • "I am grateful to be a part of such a great company(in 15 reviews)

  • "Fast paced environment where you're free to fail and therefore learn a ton along the way(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "A policy this inflexible makes work-life balance more difficult to achieve(in 22 reviews)

  • "A bulk of the upper management roles in the Operations division are filled with outside hires(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and very professional team to work with!!!

    Cons

    Is a really good place to work

    Cortland2019-11-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They’re in a great location in Buckhead across from the mall. They have a great benefits package. Employees are well compensated. They have a lot of industry related training opportunities for employee growth. They have a company wide yearly trip to get all the employees together. They have really good technology here. There’s no set time to come and leave so it’s very family friendly. They try to help you attain your own personal career goals. The office is very diverse as it pertains to staff. They try to promote from within.

    Cons

    The office is very diverse, but this isn’t reflected in the executive staff. There is no diversity in execute positions or senior management. Check the website to see that the company is extremely whitewashed from the top. The executives are very stand-offish and unapproachable.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2019-10-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, A lot of Room for Growth, Fast Paced, Roller Coaster Ride!

    Cons

    Not much work-life balance.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2019-08-14

    Cortland Response

    September 9, 2019

    Hey, there! We’re thrilled to hear that your Cortland experience has blown you away! We know that overseeing one of our communities is no easy task – taking care of our residents doesn’t stop when the office closes. Still, having a work-life balance that works for you is invaluable, and we encourage all of our associates to find what works best for them. We recently updated our paid time off policy, so be sure to check out Cortland Connection to learn more! #HaveTheCourageToBeBetter – Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

    Continue reading
  4. "A Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Groundskeeper in Denton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growing in size across the state and in the US. Great benefits offered to full-timers A genuinely caring work environment from the top down.

    Cons

    Employee Turnover can throw things off

    Cortland2019-07-24

    Cortland Response

    July 29, 2019Director of Operations

    Hey, there! We’re so glad to hear that your associate experience has lived up to your expectations! You’re exactly right – we are growing both in the US and internationally, and our benefits are some of the best around. While there can be some turnover, what never changes is our award-winning culture and the caring work environment that we foster. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam – Trey Lopez, Director of Operations

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Hourly Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn quickly about industry, real experience, great benefits, fantastic management

    Cons

    Little guidance to start, left to figure everything out on your own, long hours

    Cortland2018-10-17

    Cortland Response

    October 22, 2018Talent Acquisition Spcialist

    Hey, there! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback about our internship program. At Cortland, we have a lot going on across the organization and we love getting to share all kinds of different experiences with our interns. We hope that your time here has provided valuable experiences that you can take with you throughout your career. #GrowTogetherAndPlayAsATeam Ashley Gordon VP, Talent Acquisition

    Continue reading
  6. "Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Controller in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cortland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial company that is rapidly growing and providing tremendous value to their residents, associates, and investors. Great benefits, opportunity for growth, promotion, and personal fulfillment as well as a terrific culture. Young company with work hard, play hard mentality.

    Cons

    Rapid growth means constant change and challenges.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2018-08-01

    Cortland Response

    August 14, 2018Talent Acquisition Spcialist

    Hello, fellow Cortlandian! Thank you for leaving such a sparkling review! We love when our associates share that their experience has been nothing but top notch. The goal at all times is to create an exceptional associate experience by creating an environment that allows you to be your best self and achieve your full career potential. We feel the speed of the growth too, buckle up and enjoy the ride. #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Domino Effect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Experience Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cortland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Commission structure is phenomenal. Great benefits for personal and family plans. PTO accumulates quickly.

    Cons

    I am absolutely appalled at what this company has become. I used to take pride in working for Cortland when team awesome overseen Ohio. After team heroes took over, I slowly watched the Ohio portfolio plummet. Promoting people with no experience. Those that deserved recognition were taken for granted and ignored. If you are anything less than a manager, you are replaceable & you will absolutely feel that way. When your concerns are voiced, you then become a target. There is no structure within the Ohio portfolio anymore. Everything is Property specific. Managers abuse their power because they know they’re protected. This causes toxic environments and animosity in the work place. How can you create value for a better life when your associates aren’t valued? Also, kiss your personal life and family goodbye as you will work off the clock and extended hours just to stay afloat of their overflowing expectations!

    Continue reading
    Cortland2018-05-21

    Cortland Response

    May 25, 2018Talent Acquisition Spcialist

    Ouch, that was not a fun review to read. I’m sorry things didn’t work out for you at Cortland and that you feel like some of our latest changes haven’t lived up to your expectations. Our retention, resident satisfaction, and overall business metrics have shown us otherwise – we are seeing an upward trend in Ohio. I would love to personally address your concerns and am available at priscila.mattingly@cortlandpartners.com or you can call our 24/7 hotline at 1.800.461.9330. In the meantime, I am personally assessing the situation in Ohio to ensure that both our residents and associates are getting the same great Cortland experience across the board.

    Continue reading
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Smyrna, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cortland for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, They invest heavily in their employees

    Cons

    Not great work life balance

    Cortland2017-09-07
  9. "High growth company with lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cortland Partners has a great entrepreneurial culture, great benefits, and believes in doing the right thing for its employees. Tremendous support from each department, and the Company is full of intelligent, hard working, visionary people who work together as a team. The Company, while large with about 1,500 associates, feels like a start-up with regional pods that run the business. We are multifamily investment firm that believes in providing excellent customer service to each other, residents and our partners. We take pride in the details. I'm amazed at the number and level of support staff provided to the teams in the field. Probably one of the fastest growing real estate companies in the nation, but the way things are organized, we can scale and there is always bandwidth to do more - but have a work life balance. We get stuff done!

    Cons

    We can't buy properties fast enough!

    Continue reading
    Cortland2017-08-24

    Cortland Response

    August 31, 2017Talent Experience Manager

    Wow, what an incredible review! Cortland is passionate about its culture, benefits, and most of all – its associates! Our teams work together every day to ensure that our company thrives and our associates are given the tools to be their best selves. It’s obvious you understand our culture, and we couldn’t be happier to hear how much you appreciate working in a supportive environment with smart teammates, incredible growth opportunities, and an entrepreneurial spirit. We would not be where we are today without our associates, residents, and partners. Thank you for being a part of the Cortland family – it wouldn’t be the same without you! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Being a Manager does not equate to being a leader!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland

    Pros

    Great pay Great benefits Caring people at the corporate level growth opportunities

    Cons

    While Cortland management is an amazing company! With so much to offer, my experience with onsite management has been by far the worst experience of my life. You don't realize how important and necessary it is to have a manager who is a true leader! Until you encounter a "manager" who constantly throws their title in your face, belittles everyone who is "beneath" them etc. the manager whom I worked for did not care about the team! To have a member of a team, a "family", and not know that this persons child is on life support because employees don't feel comfortable enough to speak to them, to have a manager who tells you "do what I say not as I do", to have a manager who talks with their assistant manager about other employees negatively, to have a manager that consistently threatens the team that they will be terminated, to have a manager who does not care about your growth, does not care about anything other than their title and the power/control that it gives, is the absolute most dangerous type of manager that one could ever have as a property manager. To have an entire team/staff that does not feel valued, appreciated, and expendable is dangerous! To go home and not know whether you will be terminated or to have it thrown in your face that they are "salary" and we aren't so they are able to do whatever, whenever! To be so stressed and torn down physically, mentally, and emotionally to the point that you have a nervous break down. To have my doctor tell me that he advises that I quit due to the stress and that it is causing Me to have afflictions that I've NEVER had before! The manager constantly pointed out negatives but absolutely never gave us any type of positive reinforcement. I am writing this review not to bash the company but to enlighten people on just how important it is to listen and pay attention to the onsite personnel!

    Continue reading
    Cortland2016-08-23

    Cortland Response

    August 29, 2016VP, Talent Acquisition

    Our EVP of Operations, Melanie French, read this review and wanted to respond personally: We cannot thank you enough for sharing this feedback, and we only wish we had received it sooner so we could have found an immediate resolution for the apparent concerns at your community. I am so sorry to hear what a negative environment you’ve experienced with your onsite management, and I would love to speak with you more in depth about this situation. Our community teams are at the heart of our business, and we take great pride in the teamwork and positive culture we have built here at Cortland. Gaining a better understanding of your concerns and experience will help us to better understand our challenges and breakdowns in communication – and come to a resolution that will ensure we work through these issues now and prevent them in the future. Please reach out to me at melanie.french@cortlandpartners.com so I can personally address your concerns. Thank you very much! Sincerely, Melanie

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews