Cortland "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Cortland Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Cortland CEO Steven DeFrancis
Steven DeFrancis
227 Ratings
Pros
  • "I am grateful to be a part of such a great company(in 15 reviews)

  • "Fast paced environment where you're free to fail and therefore learn a ton along the way(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "A policy this inflexible makes work-life balance more difficult to achieve(in 23 reviews)

  • "A bulk of the upper management roles in the Operations division are filled with outside hires(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, A lot of Room for Growth, Fast Paced, Roller Coaster Ride!

    Cons

    Not much work-life balance.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2019-08-14

    Cortland Response

    September 9, 2019

    Hey, there! We’re thrilled to hear that your Cortland experience has blown you away! We know that overseeing one of our communities is no easy task – taking care of our residents doesn’t stop when the office closes. Still, having a work-life balance that works for you is invaluable, and we encourage all of our associates to find what works best for them. We recently updated our paid time off policy, so be sure to check out Cortland Connection to learn more! #HaveTheCourageToBeBetter – Jonathan Tucker, EVP of Operations and Facilities

    Continue reading
  2. "Great culture but areas for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is rich and they put forth an effort to host special events for team members. Pay and bonus structure is fair. Community operations like landscaping, waste management, payroll, and training are organized and systematic. Resident events are fully supported and well budgeted. High focus on quality training opportunities. With so many communities coming on board regularly, the opportunity for advancement is high. High focus on customer service. Resident concerns are always addressed quickly.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is not ideal. Managers are required to complete tasks like lead management and reputation responses 7 days a week. The communities are often understaffed to achieve budgeting goals which can leave team members over extended. The helpdesk/IT assistance often goes unresolved for days up to weeks.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2020-02-16
  3. "Great Culture, Poor Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team in the Atlanta CSC is amazing - the culture, in my experience, is open, honest, and positive. There's a feeling that everyone is giving their best, which makes getting things done much more enjoyable. I don't ever feel like I'm doing busywork or working without a shared goal in mind.

    Cons

    There is no work from home and no option to telecommute, so no ability to schedule a regular work from home day. This would be frustrating anywhere, but traffic in Atlanta is a nightmare - even people that live within 10 miles of the office can spend more an hour and a half commuting every day. A policy this inflexible makes work-life balance more difficult to achieve. I really wish I had a day to work from home each week - instead of a quick walk around the office or to the kitchen to grab coffee when I need a break, I could throw laundry in the dryer, start meal prep, or spend 5-10 minutes picking up after kids. Little breaks that would make a real difference in my stress level day to day. And that's not to mention the benefits of skipping a day in traffic! I do love my colleagues and the day to day at Cortland, though! Not every company is going to be flexible and that's okay. But flexibility/work from home policy is the thing I'd change if I could.

    Cortland2020-02-14
  4. Helpful (5)

    "DFW area not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great commission program allows you to recruit and keep top leasing consultants. Assistant Manager commissions/bonuses pale in comparison unfortunately unless they lease an apartment or two each pay period. Great training program too.

    Cons

    DFW leadership is spread too thin! Even with the acquisition of the Pure portfolio, the set up does not really make sense and does not allow enough time to work closely with an immediate supervisor to resolve issues. Company does require strong leaders on each site as the level of responsibility is high, but CMs should be able to have more than a once monthly 2 hour property walk/check in the a distractiocted AOM that is spread too thin. Also, while most of the regional leadership is fairly professional, one of the leaders cares too much about drinking, smoking and partying and it is a little embarrassing to see them intoxicated at team events while other leaders are not. Also, the DO already has his mind made up on everything and claims to be open to change/suggestion, but isnt really. Also, you will see this in so many reviews, but there is no work/life balance...truly. With so much company turnover, they are now claiming they have an associate focus and will put associates first....but the residents are always first priority at all costs.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2019-11-15
  5. "No work-life balance or room for promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Starbucks coffee machine was nice, and I enjoyed our company sales rallies every quarter.

    Cons

    This company doesn't know what work-life balance means at all. We would work 9 days in a row and have two days off that weren't even consecutive. The company finally changed its commission scale once their turnover rate grew. We would get threatened that our commission would get taken away due to OSAT (overall satisfaction of residents) scores being low, which has a lot to do with poor management and crappy apartments.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2019-09-19
  6. "Cortland Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Grandview, OH

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *pay *benefits *work life balance *team unity *team building *give back to community

    Cons

    I have no complaints :)

    Cortland2019-07-30

    Cortland Response

    September 9, 2019

    Hello, Cortlandian! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We love hearing that your associate journey has been a great one – and that you’re part of the Cortland family! It’s thanks to great associates like you that we’re able to stay ahead of the game. Keep up the awesome work! #LoveWhatYouDoAndLetItShow – Niki Kingry, Director of Operations

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Nepotism, Over-Worked, Unfair Treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are absolutely no pros to this job.

    Cons

    -Upper management only favors individuals who don't speak up about things that could help the company move forward. This industry is growing at a high rate... listen to the individuals who actually perform their fullest ability. -You are encouraged to "speak-up" when things aren't going right, but that just makes you a target for upper management to get rid of you. -They DO NOT like people who are smarter than them. As soon as you show that your intelligence level is way beyond the job, out you go! -They demand an extreme amount of work from you and only point out your mistakes, never seek to speak about how wonderful you are actually doing. -NO WORK/LIFE BALANCE AT ALL. I AM SERIOUS. IF YOU HAVE A FAMILY DO NOT WORK HERE. -The right hand does not talk to the left hand. Construction will do what they want, and management in house has no idea of anything until the day of. -If for any reason whatsoever (not even work related) that someone above you does not like you, they WILL pick you apart and quite literally force you out. They will find a way to make you feel like absolute crap. I have never worked with a company like this before in my life. Trust me when I say that you are better off working at literally ANY other place. -They have way too many people working in random useless departments. If a program of theirs isn't working right, you submit a "help desk ticket" and it just gets pawned off to the next person over and over again.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2019-04-12

    Cortland Response

    May 13, 2019Senior Manager of Talent Engagement and Inclusion

    Hello, there. We wish that your time with us had lived up to your expectations. Since you took the time to outline your pain points, we’d like to take the opportunity to respond. You’re right that our industry is growing rapidly. To stay at the top of our game, we encourage our associates to speak up about ideas they have or opportunities for improvement that they see – not to make them a target, but to ensure that we’re making the right moves at every level of our organization. It’s also true that we do ask our associates to be high performing to keep Cortland ahead of the pack, and we make sure to temper our work with opportunities for fun or time off as associates need. We may work hard, but we also play hard. We encourage you to reach out to Talent Resources at talentresources@cortland.com to share your thoughts so we can better understand any steps we may need to take. We also wish you the best of luck with your future endeavors. – Megan Jackson-Cheatham, Senior Manager of Talent Engagement and Inclusion

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Too much nepotism and favoritism."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cortland full-time

    Pros

    Medical benefits were amazing, completely covered.

    Cons

    The amount of favoritism is extremely apparent and primarily due to the nepotism that runs through the company. Work-life balance is off. The renovation side of the company was unorganized and using subpar products, which caused issues with residents being unsatisfied for the amount of rent they pay. When you are off, you are NEVER off. The amount of things that cannot wait until the next day were out of control.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2019-01-10

    Cortland Response

    January 28, 2019VP of Talent Acquisitions

    Hello! We’re glad that you love our benefits as much as we do and wish the rest of your associate journey had lived up to your expectations. It’s true that we do hire family and friends – but there is no favoritism or nepotism at play. We value top-tier talent, and if an associate knows someone who fits the bill, we welcome them into the Cortland family. Although we understand that the renovation process can seem a little chaotic, we assure you that all materials used in the process were created in house, giving us unparalleled quality control. The satisfaction of our residents is important to us, which is why we work to create superior living spaces designed to inspire them to live a better life focused on what matters most to them. We also understand that work-life balance is important – so we’ve created a generous PTO policy for our associates – and encourage you to reach out to your manager if there are issues you’d like to address. It’s only through speaking up that we can take steps to correct the situation. -Ashley Gordon, VP of Talent Acquisition

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Beware of Cortland’s construction side “Cortland Build”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice office, parties, plenty of opportunities.

    Cons

    Where do I begin......the turnover rate in construction is the highest I have ever seen. They hire/fire and people quit on a weekly basis. The work/life balance is nonexistent. You will end up working nights and weekends with no acknowledgment. The development, CASK supply, interior design, and construction teams are always pointing fingers and have many internal issues. They act like they care about their employees but it is all about profit and politics. If you notice.....there aren’t many people who work with Cortland that have tenure. So many people come and go and the most of the original construction managers are no longer with the company. The project managers are treated like dirt. The preconstruction team is great but is led by incompetent managers who are not qualified and are terrible managers. At Cortland Build, it’s about who you know and how much you suck up to your boss. Your experience/work ethic will not matter if you are not buddy buddy with the upper management. I have heard stories of people not passing the interview process but still getting hired because of a connection within the company.

    Continue reading
    Cortland2018-12-15

    Cortland Response

    December 18, 2018Talent Experience Manager

    Hello, Cortlandian. As you can imagine, that was not a fun review to read. Since you took the time to list your pain points, I would like to take the time to address them. Regarding turnover rates, we are currently restructuring Cortland Build to support our growth and development in a different direction, and that can come with some turnover. We also understand that projects can sometimes take more time than anticipated, but you always have your team to support you and help you – and we wish to help you succeed as well. You mentioned investing in training for our associates, and we do. We have countless trainings, including those specific to Cortland Build, to develop associates at all levels. I encourage you to explore our Spark page in Cortland Connection to learn more about our Talent Development program. Also know that we have an open-door communication policy – meaning you should feel able to address any concerns you have with your manager or upper management. Should you wish to continue the conversation, please reach out to me at steve.mauro@cortlandbuild.com. I look forward to hearing from you. -Steve Mauro, VP Construction Operations

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Be cautious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cortland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is ok Bonuses are ok

    Cons

    No work life balance Upper management doesn’t care about the little people

    Continue reading
    Cortland2018-12-20

    Cortland Response

    December 21, 2018Talent Experience Manager

    Hey there! We’re thrilled to hear you’re a fan of our pay structure, and we hope to improve your associate experience. We’re committed to making sure that all of our associates find a role that fulfills them – both professionally and personally. Keep in mind that we practice an open-door policy when it comes to communication, and we encourage you to reach out to your manager or Talent Resources so we can help you better your experience! -Ashley Gordon, VP Talent Acquisition

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 29 reviews