Così Reviews | Glassdoor

Così Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 141 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Così CEO R. J. Dourney (no image)
R. J. Dourney
31 Ratings
  1. "Management trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Così part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice area, easy to get to; right across the street there are various metro bus stops and metro rail stations down the street

    Cons

    Because this downtown Cosi location is centered around office buildings it was often very slow during nights and weekends. Slow business = less work hours

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to schedule less people (staff) during the slow periods and to schedule more staff during lunch (busiest) hours

    Così2017-09-06
  2. "tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Così full-time

    Pros

    it's good place to work

    Cons

    it's a frustrating place to work

    Così2017-07-20
  3. "Cosi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Così

    Pros

    job was pretty easy when fully staffed

    Cons

    restaurants were frequently understaffed during busy periods

    Così2017-07-15
  4. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Così part-time

    Pros

    The job was fast paced, and I had a lot of fun there with everyone. The management was friendly.

    Cons

    Schedule was different every week, and even if you were scheduled to work you could get sent home if it was slow

    Advice to Management

    Standardize schedule

    Così2017-05-26
  5. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Così

    Pros

    It's always a different day even though you have regular tasks to do. The hours and benefits. I love the regular customers , the staff and of course the amazing flatbread!

    Cons

    Lack of corporate support, lots of upper management staff changes. Communication to the operators. Long hours. Corporate needs to work on making their people feel important!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to operations & take care of your people. Make them feel important- they'll work for you.

    Così2017-03-31
  6. "Put Your Foot In The Door At Cosi, But Don't Get Stuck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Baker 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Così full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upbeat atmosphere, considerably better than fast food, simple food prep and service model provides a great opportunity for entry level people, flexible scheduling for students

    Cons

    Unmotivated longstanding managers drown your chance for advancement as Cosi appears to not fire subpar people short of extreme offenses, nature of business provides for unanticipated last minute schedule changes (on/off)

    Advice to Management

    Complaining about your disdain for your job whilst being a lazy oaf is highly uninspiring to up-and-coming employees, the company would improve with removing such people from payroll

    Così2017-02-08
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Così full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Good schedule Organized Good structure Systems in place Clear bonus structure

    Cons

    Managing minimum paid employees Profit oriented, not people oriented Structure doesn't give room for personal input Very repetitive work Labor management pressure

    Advice to Management

    If you are looking for an sensitive schedule, structured, well paid job; this could be the place. Be prepared to be hands on as you will be expected to help during the rush but what is hard is to be able to keep your team motivated and not think but instead just execute what is already set and planned by corporate.

    Così2017-01-16
  8. "So/So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in New Rochelle, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Così part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours Access to management Constant encouragement to become a shift leader(room for growth) 50% discount on food

    Cons

    Low Pay Incompetent Management No paid breaks

    Advice to Management

    COMPETENCE

    Così2017-01-09
  9. "Bad Management Ruins Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caterer/Prep in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Così full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a caterer/prep, you got to work by yourself and set your own pace a lot. I even listened to music or headphones most of the time. Tips varied a lot, but they were generally $10+, because the catering orders were usually $150+. I took an average of 3 per day.

    Cons

    Management was terrible. They focused on the wrong problems and didn't know how to make employees feel valued. They also hired anyone, thus leading to workers that don't want to be there.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the staff you do have, value them, insensitive them to keep them around and go from there.

    Così2016-12-13
  10. "Previously great company, bad future outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Così full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary Good food Great people Opportunity to move up within the company

    Cons

    Poor support system in upper management Prices Company is going under

    Così2016-10-18
Found 141 reviews