Costa Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
7 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Progression , incentives , training

    Cons

    Unpredictable, balancing work life with social life

    Costa2019-06-23
  2. "is it what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    different stuff every day, varies from store to store what that store needs

    Cons

    programs used are outdated and can sometimes be left to figure stuff out alone

    Costa2019-06-19

    Costa Response

    June 20, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  3. "Poor poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Haywards Heath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off food and drink when working

    Cons

    Managers don't care about their staff, just their targets

    Advice to Management

    When someone approaches you with an issue and a solution to that particular issue you should take them more seriously and follow it through rather than palming them off.

    Costa2019-07-03
  4. "Always apply, never stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy to quit some control over work enviroment

    Cons

    Middle manegment have little undeerstanding what goes on in the cafes detrimental competitve enviroment

    Costa2019-06-02

    Costa Response

    June 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

  5. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment You get to meet a lot of people 50% off food or beverage while working

    Cons

    Long shifts (8am-8pm), short breaks Hard work

    Costa2019-05-11

    Costa Response

    May 14, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  6. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Romford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wages are good and working teams are excellent

    Cons

    Not enough staff to meet demands of customers

    Advice to Management

    Give more labour hours to stores

    Costa2019-04-22

    Costa Response

    April 24, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  7. "Working at Costa experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, busy and interaction with a lot of people

    Cons

    Rota, some bad days and the occasional rude customers

    Costa2019-02-17

    Costa Response

    February 28, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  8. "Good for begineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Kilmarnock, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training program for beginners. Opportunities for career advancement. Good benefits from Feelgood system.

    Cons

    Very low pay rate - 40p/h difference between a Barista and an Assistant Manager role...not adequate when comparing responsibilities Not much support for people with high potential...

    Costa2018-09-27

    Costa Response

    September 27, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  9. Helpful (2)

    "long hours who knows when ill get home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free coffee and discounted food

    Cons

    soul taken on a daily basis

    Advice to Management

    put more staff on close

    Costa2018-09-03

    Costa Response

    September 11, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve. We take our teams welfare very seriously and have numerous channels available for them to raise any issues, with their Line Manager in the ...

    Show More
  10. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Employee Benefits - Above average £/hour - Flexible contracts and work hours - Ability to progress

    Cons

    - Long hours - Lots of pressure regarding sales targets - Increasingly restricted labour

    Advice to Management

    - Less pressure on targets, more push on customer service - Invest in product design and quality to keep up with competitors

    Costa2018-07-24

    Costa Response

    August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

Found 52 reviews