Costa Assistant Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Assistant Store Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
3 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Progression , incentives , training

    Cons

    Unpredictable, balancing work life with social life

    Costa2019-06-23
  2. "Working at Costa experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, busy and interaction with a lot of people

    Cons

    Rota, some bad days and the occasional rude customers

    Costa2019-02-17

    Costa Response

    February 28, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  3. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Ebbsfleet, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start with

    Cons

    Busy and not enough pay

    Costa2018-06-08

    Costa Response

    August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  4. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Dunstable, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa for more than a year

    Pros

    The only Pro that comes up in my mind is the "shifts' flexibility"

    Cons

    Pay-rate pretty lower in comparison to other companies. Bonus Package of up to £1.4k that is relatively small compared to other of its competitors. Career Opportunities to develop within the company are pretty close to 0 if you start to work within the store. The max position achievable in 99% of the cases, is that you stay stuck in the position of Store Manager for several years, with no real increase in pay... There...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Increase your recruitment level for Store Managers' level alongside a strong change in your retribution scheme.

    Costa2017-06-23
  5. "Poor pay for Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great skills available to learn.

    Cons

    The pay for the pressure an Assistant Manager has to undertake is unfair. The store manager is on a healthy salary whilst the assistant manager is expected to do their work - the pay gap between an AM and a regular team member (Barista) is less than 90p. If you are looking for a job wanting progression with a salary to compensate the progression- this is not the company for you.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the level of pay for Higher members of staff - the volume of work is not appreciated enough. The company keeps increasing team members wages - leaving AM's on a close to similar wage yet increasing our workload. No wonder the company struggles to hold on to team members for over a year.

    Costa2017-04-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Nobwork life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks on shift

    Cons

    No work life balance, unrealistic expectations with regards to labour budgets, lack of support, favouritism.

    Advice to Management

    Don't do it!

    Costa2016-11-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Costa Coffee-Compass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Has a good training programme * There are opportunities for additional training courses * Company wants to see its employee's grow and move up within Costa

    Cons

    * Compass wage very rarely accurate * Low wage compared to Whitbread Costa * No employee discounts and other benefits * Rarely see senior management and will not talk to staff

    Advice to Management

    Don't tell someone to do something you will not do yourself.

    Costa2016-02-21
Found 7 reviews