Costa Barista Maestro Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Barista Maestro Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
5 Ratings
  1. "-......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro 

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    good team for work short shifts

    Cons

    not good payment same drinks always

    Costa2019-06-29

    Costa Response

    July 22, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process.

  2. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility Time off Free coffee on shift

    Cons

    Low pay Long hours Terrible management

    Costa2019-06-18

    Costa Response

    June 20, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

  3. "Barista Maestro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro 

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very easy to balance with your lifestyle

    Cons

    It can be boring sometimes

    Costa2019-04-23

    Costa Response

    April 24, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good for young employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Folkestone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good bond with customers and colleagues and always nice to get compliments from customers my , can get promotions easily if you work hard and are committed to the job.

    Cons

    Not always acknowledged for your hard work by higher management, would be nice if they listened to employee needs more. Pay is minimum wage and below average if you want to be a manager.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with better care and understanding, which I think will help keep employee turn over low because people will be more inclined to stay. Give more insentives to keep the job interesting.

    Costa2019-04-03

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Really pleased you're enjoying your role with us. We pride ourselves on putting people at the centre of everything we do, both in our sites and at Support Centre. As such, creating a fun and enjoyable place to work is an integral part of life at Costa. Thank you for taking the time ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pocket money for a stressful job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Bournemouth, England

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will get to know a lot of people and work with youngsters still full of hope that life can get better.

    Cons

    Busy stores are stressful to work in.

    Costa2019-03-19

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  6. "Great fun working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro in Uxbridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn to make coffee, high velocity in promotion of job roles, good training facilities. The Costa feelgood points are a good bonus.

    Cons

    Managers come and go all the time due to high turnover rate, some are not suited for the job.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure the correct training is given to managers before they get the job, not whilst they are on it.

    Costa2019-03-13

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

  7. "Barista Maesto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very Flexible hours Free Coffees

    Cons

    Hard to get many hours Average to low pay

    Costa2019-02-12

    Costa Response

    February 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Really pleased you're enjoying your role with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Harrow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Working Hours Respect for employees private life

    Cons

    Long hours Lack of appreciation for the effort Micro Mangement

    Advice to Management

    Make sure people are treated in a fair way by the store managers. The managers happen to be favouring certain people because of their personality more than those that actually work hard and are effective.

    Costa2019-02-05

    Costa Response

    February 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  9. Helpful (1)

    "WORST JOB. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. YOU'LL PROBABLY END UP DEPRESSED (not even joking, it's happened to several people)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks.... that is all.

    Cons

    There is clearly something wrong with this company. I was underpaid by at least a couple of pounds an hour. I would be left alone in store for ridiculous amounts of hours at a time with a queue out of the door. Can't even list the discount card you get for working there for other companies connected to costa because in the 2 years working there I never received it. Managers would sit in the back and avoid coming...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together and don't just sit in the back and work out a budget a LOT better to not be stingy so you have enough staff on shift, who are getting enough hours

    Costa2019-03-05

    Costa Response

    March 12, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Barista Maestro Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Costa Coffee provide staff with 50% reduction of products when working, so food and drinks mainly. Always busy, so you are never clock watching

    Cons

    It's hard to progress, to make it worth your while, and the contracted hours are not fair. I am currently on a 30hour contact, which is what I was offered, but then I was told in the interview, there would be loads more hours, which there was, to begin with, but then when the business doesn't perform, they cut your hours sometimes the same day in my case.

    Advice to Management

    Clear communications, with staff about progression, and just more support.

    Costa2019-01-16

    Costa Response

    February 5, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

Found 69 reviews