Costa Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 115 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Bother if you want a life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Non really. Free drinks if you have time to drink them. Cut price food if you get a chance to eat it.

    Cons

    Over worked and understaffed due to ridiculously tight Labour Budgets. Expected to maintain Brand Standards but without the support and understanding from Senior Management that is required. Said Management has no understanding at all of the variance between different stores and how they operate and seem to think every Costa is the same and treat them as such.

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip. Think about your store staff and ensure that every member is looked after and treated with respect. THEN you can worry about Shareholders Dividends and Senior Managements Bonus, because without the support of the front line there wouldn't be any.

    Costa2017-08-12
  2. "Working at Costa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people who work with our customers are what makes this company what it is. The enthusiasm, pride and commitment is inspiring.

    Cons

    As the senior leaders have changed, so has the culture... sell, sell, sell (almost at any cost) over customer service, hospitality and customer lifetime value.

    Advice to Management

    Providing genuine care for our people is what made our company great.

    Costa2019-07-02
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Progression , incentives , training

    Cons

    Unpredictable, balancing work life with social life

    Costa2019-06-23
  4. "is it what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    different stuff every day, varies from store to store what that store needs

    Cons

    programs used are outdated and can sometimes be left to figure stuff out alone

    Costa2019-06-19

    Costa Response

    June 20, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  5. "Poor poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Haywards Heath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off food and drink when working

    Cons

    Managers don't care about their staff, just their targets

    Advice to Management

    When someone approaches you with an issue and a solution to that particular issue you should take them more seriously and follow it through rather than palming them off.

    Costa2019-07-03
  6. "Always apply, never stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy to quit some control over work enviroment

    Cons

    Middle manegment have little undeerstanding what goes on in the cafes detrimental competitve enviroment

    Costa2019-06-02

    Costa Response

    June 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

  7. "Deputy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing really the owners are awful

    Cons

    Everything From the owners top the

    Costa2019-06-22
  8. "Costa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Long hours, bad hygiene, not evolution

    Cons

    Average pay, bad environment

    Costa2019-06-13

    Costa Response

    June 20, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

  9. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment You get to meet a lot of people 50% off food or beverage while working

    Cons

    Long shifts (8am-8pm), short breaks Hard work

    Costa2019-05-11

    Costa Response

    May 14, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  10. "Easy if you know what you are doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours days and hollidays

    Cons

    Company constraints with labour are never ending. Bonus scheme is never based on what work you out in but the luck in the draw of maintenance and budgets

    Advice to Management

    Maintenance should not be on pace as its not a controllable factor with alot of matters.

    Costa2019-04-21

    Costa Response

    April 24, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Found 115 reviews