Costa Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Jill McDonald
Jill McDonald
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "free drinks and 50% OFF on food while on shift(in 103 reviews)

  • "flexible and good pay for students(in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours due to staff sickness that effects whole team(in 88 reviews)

  • "No cons unless you dislike hard work and a busy fast environment(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Technician 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy Nice Cool Comfortable Climate Great atmosphere

    Cons

    Not flexible Over expect Too much work Not enough time

    Costa2019-04-01

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  2. "Creating great coffee and sweet smiles"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Ireland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, flexible shifts and decent working place.

    Cons

    Some not so nice managers, minimum pay.

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-11-10
  3. "Good colleagues, bad management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues; Free Drinks; Half price food

    Cons

    Bad Management; High turn over: Could be very stressful sometimes

    Costa2019-08-11

    Costa Response

    August 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process

  4. "Terrible"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    promotions seem quick up to management if you are capable

    Cons

    everything else was pretty bad. Managment wasnt good

    Costa2019-08-15

    Costa Response

    August 29, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We’re sorry that this was your experience whilst working at Costa Coffee. Its not what we want to hear. We will take your comments on board and let the relevant managers know so that we can change our ways where appropriate. Thanks for taking the time to tell us.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job ever"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Barista 

    I have been working at Costa full-time

    Pros

    i got paid regularly that was good

    Cons

    management was the worst i wanted to cry everyday

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-04-20

    Costa Response

    May 9, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  6. "Barista"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for. Whitbread look after their staff.

    Cons

    Having worked at various stores, the lines between management and baristas can sometimes blur and I have witnessed staff go above and beyond their job roles.

    Costa2018-08-07

    Costa Response

    August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

  7. "I loved working at Costa"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is almost always something to do, you're very rarely standing around and bored. You get to talk to lots of people. I loved the people I worked with.

    Cons

    I worked there for 4 months and never got fully trained up. I was able to do everything they just never signed my training books and all which meant that I was always on the training pay level.

    Costa2018-06-11

    Costa Response

    August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Bother if you want a life"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Non really. Free drinks if you have time to drink them. Cut price food if you get a chance to eat it.

    Cons

    Over worked and understaffed due to ridiculously tight Labour Budgets. Expected to maintain Brand Standards but without the support and understanding from Senior Management that is required. Said Management has no understanding at all of the variance between different stores and how they operate and seem to think every Costa is the same and treat them as such.

    Continue reading
    Costa2017-08-12
  9. "Hard but enjoyable"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista & Key Holder in Dorset, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good, close-knit team and always busy. Sense of ccomplishment when making beautiful coffees and nice community feel. Equity stores provide good bonus system for store performance.

    Cons

    Dependent on store management is questionable. Equity stores are much better for both management and benfits. The franchise store I worked in had appalling regional management and drove the good store managers out.

    Continue reading
    Costa2017-04-28
  10. "Assistan"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa

    Pros

    Nice people, very professional, very knowlegebale

    Cons

    None, people was friendly and respectful. Good oportunities to develope your career.

    Continue reading
    Costa2016-03-24
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1158 Reviews