Costa Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Jill McDonald
Jill McDonald
146 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good discount, free drinks and food(in 128 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours of course depending on the location(in 75 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours shifts patterns stress(in 115 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage possible and not good tips(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Apr 1, 2019 - Computer Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy Nice Cool Comfortable Climate Great atmosphere

      Cons

      Not flexible Over expect Too much work Not enough time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Costa Response

      Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Long hours, good fun

      Jan 15, 2021 - Cultural Representative in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team with Career development opportunities

      Cons

      Long hours Not a lot of flexibility

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      not the best

      Dec 9, 2020 - Barista 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      perks of free food when closing

      Cons

      only good as a first job

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good colleagues, bad management

      Aug 10, 2019 - Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good colleagues; Free Drinks; Half price food

      Cons

      Bad Management; High turn over: Could be very stressful sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Costa Response

      Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Creating great coffee and sweet smiles

      Nov 10, 2019 - Barista in Ireland, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours, flexible shifts and decent working place.

      Cons

      Some not so nice managers, minimum pay.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible

      Aug 15, 2019 - Barista 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      promotions seem quick up to management if you are capable

      Cons

      everything else was pretty bad. Managment wasnt good

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Costa Response

      Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      We’re sorry that this was your experience whilst working at Costa Coffee. Its not what we want to hear. We will take your comments on board and let the relevant managers know so that we can change our ways where appropriate. Thanks for taking the time to tell us.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst job ever

      Apr 19, 2019 - Barista 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i got paid regularly that was good

      Cons

      management was the worst i wanted to cry everyday

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Costa Response

      Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not worth it for a part time job.

      Sep 24, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount on food and drink but only in certain Costa's as a franchise. A good reference to have due to customer service and always being busy.

      Cons

      Never enough staff. Holiday's are not planned out enough, so staff are given time off with no one to cover and then are told at the last minute that shift's need covering. Superviser's or older staff members look down on new or younger members of staff and are made to feel like crap when drinks aren't 'up to THEIR standards'. Audit checks are a joke and the blame always goes onto the baristas, never supervisers or managers. Long hours and are sometimes pulled away from break to help cover when it gets busy. I work part time and more than happy to just work my contracted hours due to college and other commitments, but I am constantly being bombarded every week with phone calls and texts to do more shifts. Rota is changed without managers asking you to do the certain shifts, so you never know when you are actually working so can never make any plans.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I loved working at Costa

      Jun 11, 2018 - Barista 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is almost always something to do, you're very rarely standing around and bored. You get to talk to lots of people. I loved the people I worked with.

      Cons

      I worked there for 4 months and never got fully trained up. I was able to do everything they just never signed my training books and all which meant that I was always on the training pay level.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Costa Response

      Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Barista

      Nov 2, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had a great time interning at Costa Coffee the summer I graduated from high school. Really good experience and learned a lot about the way coffee shops operate.

      Cons

      - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,782 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Costa Job Seekers

    Barista Costa Coffee
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Costa? Share Your Experiences

    Costa logo
    or