Costa Barista - Costa Coffee Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 875 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
87 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Technician 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy Nice Cool Comfortable Climate Great atmosphere

    Cons

    Not flexible Over expect Too much work Not enough time

    Costa2019-04-01

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Barista 

      I have been working at Costa full-time

      Pros

      i got paid regularly that was good

      Cons

      management was the worst i wanted to cry everyday

      Advice to Management

      dont suck so much

      Costa2019-04-20

      Costa Response

      May 9, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

    • "Barista"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Costa part-time

      Pros

      Amazing company to work for. Whitbread look after their staff.

      Cons

      Having worked at various stores, the lines between management and baristas can sometimes blur and I have witnessed staff go above and beyond their job roles.

      Costa2018-08-07

      Costa Response

      August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

    • "I loved working at Costa"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Barista 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        There is almost always something to do, you're very rarely standing around and bored. You get to talk to lots of people. I loved the people I worked with.

        Cons

        I worked there for 4 months and never got fully trained up. I was able to do everything they just never signed my training books and all which meant that I was always on the training pay level.

        Costa2018-06-11

        Costa Response

        August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

        Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

      • Helpful (1)

        "Don't Bother if you want a life"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Store Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Non really. Free drinks if you have time to drink them. Cut price food if you get a chance to eat it.

        Cons

        Over worked and understaffed due to ridiculously tight Labour Budgets. Expected to maintain Brand Standards but without the support and understanding from Senior Management that is required. Said Management has no understanding at all of the variance between different stores and how they operate and seem to think every Costa is the same and treat them as such.

        Advice to Management

        Get a grip. Think about your store staff and ensure that every member is looked after and treated with respect. THEN you can worry about Shareholders Dividends and Senior Managements Bonus, because without the support of the front line there wouldn't be any.

        Costa2017-08-12
      • "Hard but enjoyable"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Barista & Key Holder in Dorset, VT
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good, close-knit team and always busy. Sense of ccomplishment when making beautiful coffees and nice community feel. Equity stores provide good bonus system for store performance.

        Cons

        Dependent on store management is questionable. Equity stores are much better for both management and benfits. The franchise store I worked in had appalling regional management and drove the good store managers out.

        Advice to Management

        Appreciate the effort the staff do, give some sort of bonus/benefits in franchise stores.

        Costa2017-04-28
      • "Assistan"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Costa

        Pros

        Nice people, very professional, very knowlegebale

        Cons

        None, people was friendly and respectful. Good oportunities to develope your career.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up

        Costa2016-03-24
      • "Barista"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Costa

          Pros

          Had a great time interning at Costa Coffee the summer I graduated from high school. Really good experience and learned a lot about the way coffee shops operate.

          Cons

          - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

          Advice to Management

          - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

          Costa2015-11-02
        • Helpful (1)

          "Not worth it for a part time job."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at Costa part-time

          Pros

          Discount on food and drink but only in certain Costa's as a franchise. A good reference to have due to customer service and always being busy.

          Cons

          Never enough staff. Holiday's are not planned out enough, so staff are given time off with no one to cover and then are told at the last minute that shift's need covering. Superviser's or older staff members look down on new or younger members of staff and are made to feel like crap when drinks aren't 'up to THEIR standards'. Audit checks are a joke and the blame always goes onto the baristas, never supervisers or managers....

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Have enough staff to help cover shifts. Realise that staff have lives outside of work which sometimes come first before taking extra unneeded hours to cover managers who spend all day in the office or out the back doing stock check.

          Costa2015-09-24
        • "job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          they are flexible with the schedule.always try to give the best option as they can to u.nice management.

          Cons

          you have to work on Saturday and Sunday night as well and the money not as good if u compeer with a daytime shift.

          Advice to Management

          be more friendly

          Costa2015-08-26
        Found 875 reviews