Costa Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 871 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
87 Ratings
  1. "Good part-time job for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, customer engagement, development of valuable leadership skills and recognition for effort. Management supports student's priorities and considers those factors when constructing working hours.

    Cons

    Lack of recognition for part-time staff, which, to be honest, does make sense from a business perspective. Students are only temporary employees.

    Costa2019-04-30

    Costa Response

    May 9, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  2. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice and chill enviroment

    Cons

    Few hours, no food staff.

    Costa2019-04-15
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Easy job, you do not need any experience for working there. The customer are very friendly

    Cons

    It is very far away from the city. You need to have a car because the transport public is always arriving late.

    Advice to Management

    Provide a trainning to the employee and the corret holidasy per year.

    Costa2019-04-04

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

  4. "Good pay, plenty of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good pay -Flexible hours, especially if working a second job or being student -Extra benefits and bonuses for hitting targets -Company looks after you

    Cons

    -Hours may not be regular -Every store has different management strategies and atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    -Store managers need to be more standardised so stores are run in the same way, to policy

    Costa2019-04-02

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  5. "barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good to study and work

    Cons

    Well work in the Costa

    Costa2019-04-01

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  6. "Organized place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa

    Pros

    Quick traning, getting skills, opportunity for growth, busy environment

    Cons

    Huge focus on team work, efficiency is measured all the time, in good team it's motivating, bad team can make it very hard.

    Advice to Management

    Try to het rid of toxic people from team, as it can ruin performance of great team players.

    Costa2019-03-14

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

  7. "Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Blackburn, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the Best place to be and go

    Cons

    Non I can think off

    Costa2019-03-08
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Costa full-time

      Pros

      good benefits, flexibility in the schedule

      Cons

      if the staff is unfriendly and unhelpful this will be hard

      Costa2019-02-27

      Costa Response

      February 28, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

    • "part time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Costa part-time

        Pros

        very nice working environment with happay people

        Cons

        cleaning and long hours someties

        Costa2019-02-18

        Costa Response

        February 28, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

        Really pleased you're enjoying your role with us. We pride ourselves on putting people at the centre of everything we do, both in our sites and at Support Centre. As such, creating a fun and enjoyable place to work is an integral part of life at Costa. Thank you for taking the time ...

        Show More
      • "Working for Costa"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Costa full-time

        Pros

        felxible work, met many friends and good clean work environment

        Cons

        have to deal with rude customers but guess that is all part of the job!

        Advice to Management

        make frequent visits to branches for reviews

        Costa2019-02-18

        Costa Response

        February 28, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

        We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

      Found 871 reviews