Costa Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 876 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
88 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Costa salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Datchet, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off when on shift, 25% off rest of the time. Room for progression

    Cons

    Some 12.5 hours shifts, but nothing else

    Costa2018-08-11

    Costa Response

    August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Really pleased you're enjoying your role with us. We pride ourselves on putting people at the centre of everything we do, both in our sites and at Support Centre. As such, creating a fun and enjoyable place to work is an integral part of life at Costa. Thank you for taking the time ...

    Show More
  2. "Supervisor/key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Costa part-time

      Pros

      Life insurance, discount on products, good pay and guaranteed shifts.

      Cons

      No downside, as the place was very chilled and the customers were all regulars.

      Costa2018-07-06

      Costa Response

      August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

    • "Barista"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Costa part-time

      Pros

      Great company to work for with a really encouraging team

      Cons

      Hours are not set each week, changes every week

      Costa2018-06-23
    • "Costa Coffee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Coffee, Pride and Passion, all the coffee you can drink and the coaching to run a great business

      Cons

      Hard work, extreme expectation, constantly moving goalposts and an apparent lack of respect from senior management team

      Advice to Management

      Remember we are people work hard - deal with the individuals who dont rather than penalising everyone

      Costa2018-04-29

      Costa Response

      August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this

    • "Great work and passion"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Barista in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Costa part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good coffe and great service

      Cons

      You could be more quicker at serving.

      Advice to Management

      I have nothing to say.

      Costa2018-04-16

      Costa Response

      August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with Costa

    • "Great part time job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Barista in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      worked at costa for 4 years, great wage and great rota system

      Cons

      Management in some stores isn't great

      Costa2018-04-02

      Costa Response

      August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with Costa

    • "Assistant manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Costa full-time

      Pros

      Always getting pushed to advance

      Cons

      Competition from other companys and too many shops too close to each other

      Advice to Management

      Already there

      Costa2018-03-15

      Costa Response

      August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with Costa

    • "Great Place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Barista in Luton, East of England, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice people, great work environment

      Cons

      Little amount of money for the work done.

      Advice to Management

      Advice for senior manageent: if you want good people to stay, you should pay them properly.

      Costa2018-03-13

      Costa Response

      August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

    • "Support Centre"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Costa full-time

      Pros

      Family orientated environment with a corporate business mindset. Able to make a difference as the business evolves in the current trading conditions. Good progression possible across the group.

      Cons

      Communication can be disjointed.

      Advice to Management

      Lots of opportunity to improve communication across all of the business

      Costa2018-03-04

      Costa Response

      August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with Costa

    • "Best Company I have worked so far"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I started as a Barista and became Manager in a short period of Time. I believe it was not me(although it requires some focus and hard work) but the cultures that was created by the company. Based on leadership, standards and consistency. The company happens doesn't sell coffee, it sells the experience and happiness of Life in a cup.

      Cons

      It takes time to get better, and many people that came and went did not appreciate the value of practice.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the fun levels up, and the Team will do amazing things.

      Costa2018-02-21
    Found 876 reviews