Costa Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Store Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Bother if you want a life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Non really. Free drinks if you have time to drink them. Cut price food if you get a chance to eat it.

    Cons

    Over worked and understaffed due to ridiculously tight Labour Budgets. Expected to maintain Brand Standards but without the support and understanding from Senior Management that is required. Said Management has no understanding at all of the variance between different stores and how they operate and seem to think every Costa is the same and treat them as such.

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip. Think about your store staff and ensure that every member is looked after and treated with respect. THEN you can worry about Shareholders Dividends and Senior Managements Bonus, because without the support of the front line there wouldn't be any.

    Costa2017-08-12
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Progression , incentives , training

    Cons

    Unpredictable, balancing work life with social life

    Costa2019-06-23
  3. "Easy if you know what you are doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours days and hollidays

    Cons

    Company constraints with labour are never ending. Bonus scheme is never based on what work you out in but the luck in the draw of maintenance and budgets

    Advice to Management

    Maintenance should not be on pace as its not a controllable factor with alot of matters.

    Costa2019-04-21

    Costa Response

    April 24, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bromsgrove, England

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job is very good and challenging Great experience Flexible hours Great bonus potential

    Cons

    The individual person is not valued

    Costa2019-04-02

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  5. "Costa Coffee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great pay for under 25s as everyone is paid just over national wage

    Cons

    - Store managers are expected to do more than their job description at all times. - Salaries low compared to working for other companies or even some independents.

    Costa2019-03-09

    Costa Response

    March 12, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  6. "Working at Costa experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, busy and interaction with a lot of people

    Cons

    Rota, some bad days and the occasional rude customers

    Costa2019-02-17

    Costa Response

    February 28, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, discounts bonuses and perks at work

    Cons

    Team members. Regional managment, in regular hours. Not enough team members on shift

    Advice to Management

    Focus on people not money. Stop cutting get hours and budgets

    Costa2019-02-07
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place , good discount

    Cons

    Salary it’s not so great

    Costa2019-01-30

    Costa Response

    February 5, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Really pleased you're enjoying your role with us. We pride ourselves on putting people at the centre of everything we do, both in our sites and at Support Centre. As such, creating a fun and enjoyable place to work is an integral part of life at Costa. Thank you for taking the time ...

    Show More
  9. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good line managers and their supports

    Cons

    long hours , always busy , short staffs

    Advice to Management

    more training need for the people comes from outside the coffee industry

    Costa2019-01-30

    Costa Response

    February 5, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Blackpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opening times can be better suited for family life than Bar/Restaurants as close earlier. Less admin than I’ve encountered in other Hospitality Management Roles.

    Cons

    Oh dear. What a disappointment: The IT is antiquated, not fit for purpose, and unreliable. The Supply Chains for Stock/Milk are unreliable, often placing you under pressure as a missed/wrong delivery will impact you immediately as stock holding life is short due to storage/dates. There is little true effort to resolve this and will have you pulling your hair out weekly, if not more often. Teams are small, staffing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You’re changing too much, too quickly, and without a robust enough trial or implementation plan. It’s farcical, on a weekly basis, and embarrassing. Can you buck the trend with the upcoming sale to Coca Cola?

    Costa2018-11-14

    Costa Response

    November 28, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve

Found 45 reviews