Costa Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Store Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Blackpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opening times can be better suited for family life than Bar/Restaurants as close earlier. Less admin than I’ve encountered in other Hospitality Management Roles.

    Cons

    Oh dear. What a disappointment: The IT is antiquated, not fit for purpose, and unreliable. The Supply Chains for Stock/Milk are unreliable, often placing you under pressure as a missed/wrong delivery will impact you immediately as stock holding life is short due to storage/dates. There is little true effort to resolve this and will have you pulling your hair out weekly, if not more often. Teams are small, staffing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You’re changing too much, too quickly, and without a robust enough trial or implementation plan. It’s farcical, on a weekly basis, and embarrassing. Can you buck the trend with the upcoming sale to Coca Cola?

    Costa2018-11-14

    Costa Response

    November 28, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dunstable, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great brand. Generally nice customers, flexible working, independent manager

    Cons

    No daily structure to ensure all team members have breaks, Rate of pay.

    Costa2018-08-20

    Costa Response

    August 22, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  3. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Ebbsfleet, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start with

    Cons

    Busy and not enough pay

    Costa2018-06-08

    Costa Response

    August 16, 2018Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  4. "Store Manager - Equity high Street store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent bonus structure, free drinks, uniform

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, little support from regional management

    Advice to Management

    Support store managers more and lower expectations

    Costa2018-01-23
  5. "Amazing place to work for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Fast paced and constantly growing company Well recognised brand across the UK

    Cons

    Low pay Lack of communication from the Head Office

    Costa2017-10-26
  6. "Costa life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Blanchardstown
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High brand of company, Professional approach to the staff

    Cons

    Unsatisfactory salary, no bonus for store manager

    Advice to Management

    Appreciating the work of experienced employees

    Costa2017-08-28
  7. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Dunstable, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa for more than a year

    Pros

    The only Pro that comes up in my mind is the "shifts' flexibility"

    Cons

    Pay-rate pretty lower in comparison to other companies. Bonus Package of up to £1.4k that is relatively small compared to other of its competitors. Career Opportunities to develop within the company are pretty close to 0 if you start to work within the store. The max position achievable in 99% of the cases, is that you stay stuck in the position of Store Manager for several years, with no real increase in pay... There...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Increase your recruitment level for Store Managers' level alongside a strong change in your retribution scheme.

    Costa2017-06-23
  8. "Poor pay for Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great skills available to learn.

    Cons

    The pay for the pressure an Assistant Manager has to undertake is unfair. The store manager is on a healthy salary whilst the assistant manager is expected to do their work - the pay gap between an AM and a regular team member (Barista) is less than 90p. If you are looking for a job wanting progression with a salary to compensate the progression- this is not the company for you.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the level of pay for Higher members of staff - the volume of work is not appreciated enough. The company keeps increasing team members wages - leaving AM's on a close to similar wage yet increasing our workload. No wonder the company struggles to hold on to team members for over a year.

    Costa2017-04-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant manager,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in South West
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa for less than a year

    Pros

    training, free coffee. Busy business and nice customers.

    Cons

    Not nice environment to work with . No measure for good or bad performance . It depends on favourite .

    Advice to Management

    Make more times to review staffs to understand their need for developing. More fair to everyone and look after customer not only aim for sell ..sell .. Sell

    Costa2017-05-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa

    Pros

    easy to make supervisor, assistant manager and store manager. a lot of hours if you want it training when you start uniform provided

    Cons

    long hours pay doesn't match responsibilities its not worth it pressure from the top not worth taking the promotion because managers don't make that much more than supervisor

    Advice to Management

    dont take the promotion its not worth it

    Costa2017-04-03
Found 46 reviews