Costa Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Store Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
8 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa

    Pros

    Great opportunities to progress, theirs always a good challenge in the company and if you work hard the results pay off - great if you like working in a team.

    Cons

    None that I can think of - love the company as a place to work and have great job Security so no cons at all

    Continue reading
    Costa2017-01-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lost its flare."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Lewes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free coffee, company is loosing its way, estate growing too quickly. Used to be wonderful. Years ago I would recommend every single person... now I wouldn't recommend anyone.

    Cons

    No social life, deadlines come without notice, no support from senior management, pay not great for volume of work expected.

    Continue reading
    Costa2017-02-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Nobwork life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks on shift

    Cons

    No work life balance, unrealistic expectations with regards to labour budgets, lack of support, favouritism.

    Continue reading
    Costa2016-11-22
  4. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa

    Pros

    good bonus and benefits. Fun working enviroment

    Cons

    work-life balance too poor.

    Continue reading
    Costa2016-10-07
  5. "great for progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Progression - After joining the company as a part time barista at 16 within 5 years (2 part time) i was a store manager after being clearly recognised for my talent and passion. Friendly people everywhere.

    Cons

    Somewhat capped after hitting SM level and feeling like i then had to put in atlas another 5 years of work to get any higher. You have to live for your bonus and some of the variables are out of your control.

    Continue reading
    Costa2016-09-04
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Just don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free drinks (if you have enough staff on to give you time to drink it, usually not)

    Cons

    -Poor Area Management -Expected to work over contracted hours without extra pay -CEO voted to keep minimum wage low - Costa starting to fail due to fresher, better indy coffee shops. The failing is seen as the staff's fault - Atrocious pay at all levels - Expected to pick up extra shifts and looked down on if you refuse - Unrealistic targets to hit at management level - Bonuses taken away for trivial things - female managers actively kept down so higher ups won't have to pay maternity pay as 'all women get pregnant ' (heard from costa executive) Costa are out to save money and increase profits, they employ cheap and don't care if staff are unhappy or leave. Money driven not employee driven.

    Continue reading
    Costa2016-07-12
  7. "depends on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexible shifts, fast paced environment, the training scheme in principle is good

    Cons

    long hours, managers vary in usefulness. Systems out dated and level of skill needed is not reflected in salaray

    Continue reading
    Costa2016-05-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Weston-super-Mare, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa

    Pros

    Regular customers, decent salary, felt good when my store looked good and my customers were happy

    Cons

    Most Insubordinate team I have ever managed. Tried to manage them out and my RDM undermined me every time

    Continue reading
    Costa2016-04-06
  9. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Killarney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for self development, place which gives chance to project your career and match it to your own life goals. Gives great coffee skills and chance to have fun with latte art.

    Cons

    It's hard work, but it doesn't look like this from outside. So new employees are usually shocked.

    Continue reading
    Costa2016-02-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company but very challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Kingston upon Hull, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are fantastic and provide excellent support. Can choose your own working hours and can earn great bonus if given a store less than 3 years old

    Cons

    Turning into a financially focused company instead of people focused due to rapid expansion. The maintenance system is very poor

    Continue reading
    Costa2016-02-14
Found 46 reviews