Costa Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor

Costa Team Leader Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
1 Ratings
  1. "It was a good environment to work in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Team Leader 

      I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      good time, flexibility, time management,

      Cons

      No time for evaluation, super busy

      Costa2019-02-22

      Costa Response

      February 28, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

    • Helpful (1)

      "Under appreciated, but always busy and I overall enjoyed it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Leader in Chelmsford, England
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Very busy so it goes fast, chance to make good friends, learn new skills

      Cons

      Under appreciated.. people don’t realise how hard it is to make a coffee in 10 seconds for 8 hours a day.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to staff more

      Costa2019-01-23

      Costa Response

      February 5, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve

    • Helpful (1)

      "Costa Coffee, Ballina"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Leader in Ballina, Mayo
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The kind and understanding customers

      Cons

      No support from management, area managers etc, bullying tolerated, no fairness and equality shown to employees with regards to using annual leave, if a person books time off yet a more favoured employee books the same period of time off after the previous employee the favoured employee will always be granted the time off over the employee who booked it first, no proper training, no support for a victim of bullying and...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Better training for staff and more support from area managers. Set up a proper policy on bullying and more importantly, implement it or you'll lose good hard working people and be left with people who bully their way through the day

      Costa2018-02-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "So so"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Care Team Leader 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Costa for more than a year

      Pros

      Free coffee 50% discount in foods sold in Costa

      Cons

      Low wage Roster - I can't have routine. I just know on Thursday if I am going to work on Friday The management staff don't motivate or coach None of my coworkers were happy working there My manager was always something personal (like asking for car insurance quote, looking for a new car to buy, watching funny videos, and so on) while we were working hard

      Costa2016-05-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "team leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader in Dublin, Dublin
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      when is a good team a work became more easy

      Cons

      very quickly can learn how can you work so hard, no benefits not at all, even when you really sick not paid not of even one day!!!!!!, not benefit from targets!!!!!!!!, not rise not at all!!!!!!!

      Costa2015-10-28
    • "The job itself is not hard once you get use to it, but most of the regular customers are incredibly rude and immature."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader in Finsbury Park, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Chance to grow fast in the compania and as position

      Cons

      Rude customers (most of them); on Sundays we have to open again at 6:30, unlike 7:00 like all the other Costas of this franchise do

      Advice to Management

      None

      Costa2015-06-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "High stress, few prospects"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader in Bowness-on-Windermere, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Customer satisfaction, sociable, skillbase, standards

      Cons

      Upselling, Onselling, Stagnant, Disrespect, Corporate

      Advice to Management

      More meetings and communication. Support for intermediary roles

      Costa2014-03-26
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not a very good company for me in terms of career progression."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Leader in Saint Albans, England
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      To be honest I can say any good thing about the company. I was not satisfied about my experience in that organisation.

      Cons

      very bad management, no bonuses, no career development and no training opportunity. So far I would not recommend to anyone to be honest.

      Costa2013-06-10
    • Helpful (4)

      "Insulting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader in Belfast, Northern Ireland

      I have been working at Costa

      Pros

      If you're lucky enough to end up in a shop with a good team it may make you stay even though the company as a whole's attitude towards you is that of disrespect and insult.

      Cons

      The insults just keep coming. The pay is fair enough if you're team member level however for staff who do the same work as managers it's completely underwhelming. In summation, over worked, under paid, under valued, under staffed.

      Advice to Management

      Stop losing great people because you can't follow through on what you say. Pay increase promised for years then finally comes in as additional 10p per hour.

      Costa2011-11-19
    Found 9 reviews