KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
Best Places to Work 2021

Costco Wholesale

Is this your company?

Costco Wholesale

Add a Review

Costco Wholesale Reviews

Updated May 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great benefits a d starting pay(in 1033 reviews)

  • "Good pay compared to other wholesale places honestly(in 826 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No flexibility in schedule for part time employees(in 268 reviews)

  • "Long hours but rewarding colleagues(in 141 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Costco Wholesale and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company for the Industry

      May 15, 2021 - Food Service Worker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Above Average Pay Great Benefits Strong Company Culture

      Cons

      Advancement can be slow Can be hard to reach full time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Real Pros and Cons

      Oct 25, 2014 - Cashier Assistant (Front End Assistant) in San Luis Obispo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very affordable high quality health insurance benefits even for PT employees. Great for working parents who split up child care and need coverage. The key to succeeding at Costco is to work hard, have a good attitude and be nice to people. It's hard work and fasted paced, you have to be down for that to succeed.

      Cons

      At this warehouse you are required to work 5 days per week, even if you are PT at 24 or so hours. This means lots of 4-5 hour shifts rather than fewer 8 hour shifts which is tough for those who commute a long distance to work or have to cover day care.

      Continue reading
      1465 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not what you would expect

      Apr 22, 2021 - Analyst in Issaquah, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great health benefits, home office has a food court, most entry level positions are hourly so breaks and overtime are required, some degree of job security

      Cons

      Generally below average pay in home office, same benefits as warehouse employees no matter your level of education, most promotions are time based, little to no investment in home office staff's development, difficult hiring process, extremely poor handling of Covid, and a laughable maximum wage increase.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Mar 12, 2021 - Cashier in Tustin, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are amazing. We have 20 free chiropractic or massage seasons a year. I have an EPO with Aetna Select, which has been accepted most places with and co-pays are only $15. For one person it's $20 a pay check for vision, dental, health insurance and life insurance. If your married it's $60 a check with you and your spouse, who will receive vision, dental and health insurance equal to yours. The vision is through Costco Optical Department and you receive free exams and $170 toward glasses, contacts, etc. Honestly, I could keep going, but you get the idea. You start current at $16 and you get a raise every 1050 hours, which easier if your full time, then you top out around $25-25 an hour. Once your topped out twice a year you receive bonus checks about $1500 and will increase with years of service. They start you with about two weeks vacation and then it increase by a week every 5 years.

      Cons

      Your schedule and your days off can be change to fit the needs of the company at anytime, but primarily applies during the holidays. Probably one of the worst feature is the member is usually right like most costumer service jobs.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Pay, Bad Work Life Balance

      May 13, 2021 - Cashier Assistant (Front End Assistant) in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Above minimum wage pay, 1.5x overtime pay on Sundays, free Costco membership, holiday pay, 401K and health insurance after working there for one year, fun & hardworking coworkers.

      Cons

      Overdemanding managers that are constantly watching your every move inside and outside the warehouse so they can give you a writeup, standing 8+ hours a day unless you're on your break, pushing carts in the hot sun or cold rainy days, you're not allowed to talk to coworkers, your shifts usually last all day so you don't have time to see friends and family unless you have the day off.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great but difficult to progress as a student

      May 6, 2021 - Front End Assistant in Lynnwood, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Costco is really flexible for students and accommodate my changing schedule every quarter. The base pay is great and it is really easy to move up in the company if you were to decide to stay with the company long term. The benefits are pretty great if you work at least Part-Time. Free executive membership is also a nice plus as I am a college student.

      Cons

      Since I am Limited Part-Time I am not really given many chances to do many things other than assist on the front. I have seen a lot of my coworkers move up in the company and be trained to do new things while I feel like I have been "stuck" in the same place I started in. As LPT, I also get the last choice in hours so I have only ever worked closing shifts since I have started working there 1.5 years ago. I also don't qualify for the benefits I mentioned earlier since I don't work enough hours in the week.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Could be great, but stuck in legacy mentality

      May 14, 2021 - Cloud Solutions Architect in Issaquah, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong ethics to be honest and provide value to customers above all else. Great training opportunities. Solid job with little chance to be laid off

      Cons

      Poor treatment of IT professionals, both in terms of being allowed to solve problems and in pay/benefits. Nobody gets fired for failing to do their job, so you will have to deal with people that want to stop your progress, and nothing you can do about it. Pay is bottom of the barrel, with no bonus or stock program, and laughable 401k match.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Seniors merchandising manager

      May 13, 2021 - Senior Merchandise Manager in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is great, company is awesome to work for.

      Cons

      Salary employee get the short end of the stick. Long hours and work holidays even though the store is close most you are still required to be on call and check up on the store those days.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not really part time

      May 14, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Manahawkin, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits. Nice people.

      Cons

      They can schedule you up to 39 hours even if you are part time and you still pay the part time rate for benefits instead of the better full time rate. What is the point of working part time when you have to work so many hours?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Exciting Work Culture

      May 12, 2021 - Costco Cashier Assistant in Woodinville, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work Culture - Great Managers & Supervisors - Surrounding Work Ethic - Employee Work Motivation - Pay & Benefits - Employment opportunities and high ceiling for growth

      Cons

      - High hours for students, be expected to work a lot + school

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 8,397 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Costco Wholesale Job Seekers

    Stocker
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Costco Wholesale? Share Your Experiences

    or