Costco Wholesale "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "No weekends off unless you are a full time employee(in 266 reviews)

  • "if limited part time hard to move to(in 238 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Major Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Pay, and Chance for Growth

    Cons

    Management Styles change based on locations

    Costco Wholesale2019-11-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Highest starting pay in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the highest starting wages for any retailer Flexible schedules Great benefits

    Cons

    Breaks are scheduled twice a day (not including lunch), but in 4yrs of working there it was rare that I ever got one. Promotions largely based on networking and nepotism rather than individual performance ratings.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate believes that warehouse management is providing breaks to their employees. Managers consistently ordered me to swipe my badge out for breaks, but to not actually take them, just so that it showed up positive on corporate's end that they were providing them. I would not actually be allowed to take them though and immediately resumed working. Managers often used little tricks like this to usurp corporate... policy and get more production out of employees. New time-out procedures should be implemented and monitored to make sure managers can't cheat the system so easily and that employees are being treated fairly.

    Show More
    Costco Wholesale2019-11-30
  3. "Lots of pressure, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very great benefits, some of the best pay in the retail industry.

    Cons

    Lots of pressure during the holidays. Seniority rules over everything so trying to work your way up the ladder can take a long time.

    Costco Wholesale2019-12-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was just a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier Assistant in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Overall a great company to work for, with great benefits and pay for the amount of work.

    Cons

    At the warehouse I worked at the culture and management was not the best. It was a lot of favoritism so it was nearly impossible to get promoted if you weren't in the clique.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up the management inside of some warehouses. Based on what the company stands for and how certain warehouses run, a lot of employees are scared to speak up and call corporate because of the retaliation within the warehouse Promote within based on who deserves it, not because you are their friend or they are your family.

    Costco Wholesale2019-11-27
  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits And very good salaries

    Cons

    Working at every weekend

    Costco Wholesale2019-11-07
  6. "Great at some locations, terrible in others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Monroe Township, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great co-workers. You can advance if you’re willing to put in the work regardless of having a college degree or not

    Cons

    Managers and supervisors need better soft skills training. Code of ethics not followed at all locations and not even by VP’s. I had a clear cut retaliation by a VP and if I had a tape recorder I’d probably be a rich man now. Even when I escalated the matter I was told “what did I expect?”and then they covered up for the VP. Many instances of cover ups in one Division

    Advice to Management

    Walk the walk and not just talk the talk of having a code of ethics. Many complaints in the one location in NJ yet you ignored it for years.

    Costco Wholesale2019-11-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier Assistant 

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits . Great company

    Cons

    Hard to move up to full time

    Costco Wholesale2019-10-23
  8. "Very pleasant place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Oxnard, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good job experience, my store was a union building so contract was excellent.

    Cons

    Retail hours, and no weekends off.

    Costco Wholesale2019-10-26
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Sales Associate in Dedham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay. Insurance is alright.

    Cons

    Management can be questionable at best

    Costco Wholesale2019-10-24
  10. "Overall great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, pretty good work/ life balance and great job security

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for upward mobility at the regional office level

    Costco Wholesale2019-10-24
Found 859 reviews