Costco Wholesale "great pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews about "great pay"

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "No weekends off unless you are a full time employee(in 266 reviews)

  • "if limited part time hard to move to(in 238 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "GREAT PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier Assistant in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, reasonable, great pay

    Cons

    No cons, they were always great

    Costco Wholesale2019-12-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "An amazing company to work for, but not the best location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tire Center Technician in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great pay and benefits (even for part-time) -Clean working environment -Clear advancement structure -Plentiful employee resources -Management works with student schedules

    Cons

    These cons are mostly associated with the individual warehouse that I worked in and may not be present in other locations. -Lower-level employee work ethic was very low -The higher wages with no incentive programs promote employee complacency and laziness -Unreliable coworkers with constant call outs -Employees promoted based on warehouse needs and not the employee's abilities -Outdated and non-integrated... systems cause for issues -Unreliable coworkers with constant call outs

    Show More
    Costco Wholesale2019-11-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Works around your school schedule Great pay for a student Sick time/vacation/benefits

    Cons

    Can work late nights Seniority prioritized over work rate

    Costco Wholesale2019-11-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Makes me believe retail can be a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1.) Amazing benefits for $46 a month or $23 a paycheck. I am Part-Time and get to reap the benefits. Good stuff. 2.) Guaranteed 24hr week if you are a regular part-time employee. 3.) Old-Styled Company Environment(also a con.) 4.) Great pay. You get a raise every 1046 hours or something like that. If you're full-time that's one every 5-6 months. Cap out in six years unless you promote. 5.) Management genuinely... cares about quality in its department, workers, and products. It's a breath of relief compared to where I use to work. 6.) Corporate Leaders are actually likeable. I met the CEO a few months ago alongside some of his comrades and genuinely liked the experience. Other district/regional leaders have been generally fun to listen to for advice and making the department upkeep it's quality, purpose, and continue offering the best for the members.

    Show More

    Cons

    1.) Old-Styled Company. Promotions are based off of seniority alongside qualifications, but seniority bares heavy influence when it comes to promotions. 2.) Five-day Availability required, so expect a lot of five-hour shifts. Not an issue for me since I am five minutes away, but I know someone who drives nearly fifty miles for a five-hour shift. 3.) If membership sales are down, your hours will go down. It's not... your fault, the warehouse just doesn't have enough payroll. Even if it's busy every day, Costco makes such a low-profit margin outside of memberships it might not even matter that much. 4.) Don't ever skimp out on remembering certain commandments, quality commandments, and certain policies. You will regret it. Not really a con, but there's a lot to remember. It's usually common sense but when you try to go for a promotion you may be asked to state word-for-word specific policies and commandments. 5.) It's still a retail job. Your schedule may be inconsistent, your days off will be split, you may be asked to work an odd-ball shift here and there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seriously, just keep doing what you're doing. You take everything seriously but you aren't micro-managers. You trust your employees, you don't look over their shoulders, you don't harp on employees unless the issue is a big deal to you, and you keep the work-place fun, even if there is a lot to be done. Your attitudes are seriously the best I have ever come across and instead of being managers, you guys are... LEADERS. Coming to work is fun and I get off of work and I don't feel mentally drained EVER. You try to offer a consistent schedule to me and others, and by that I mean if I'm working every day except Thursday-Saturday, it'll be the same next week if they can schedule you like that again. I've worked with lots of managers who have pre-set everyone's schedules to be the same and just update the schedule if someone has time off or there's a hole that needs to be filled.

    Show More
    Costco Wholesale2019-10-23
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, and stock options. Bonus 2 times a year

    Cons

    Seniority is often chosen over actual skill when applying for job postings

    Advice to Management

    Assess the applicant for a job posting not the time spent working for the company

    Costco Wholesale2019-10-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Pay and Benefits. Super Repetitive and Demanding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great pay, and you get benefits

    Cons

    Repetitive, must work on the weekends, and no privacy

    Advice to Management

    Once I left Costco, I realized how bad management at my warehouse actually was. Staying in your office all day, talking down to your employees, picking favorites, and calling your employees "lazy" were just some of the horror stories from my time at Costco. Management was definitely one of the reasons I left after two years.

    Costco Wholesale2019-10-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Cashier Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing pay, great work environment, many opportunities to learn new departments, great insurance.

    Cons

    Very difficult to get hired

    Costco Wholesale2019-10-08
  9. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Sales Associate in Avon, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, amazing benefits, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Management needs to be evaluated and rotated out occasionally

    Costco Wholesale2019-10-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Department 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great pay, good work life balance

    Cons

    Negative mentality towards those who don't plan on staying for the rest of their lives

    Costco Wholesale2019-09-30
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Best retailer you can work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great starting hourly. Great pay raise structure. Great benefits. Pay + Time x1.5 on Sundays. Great 401K

    Cons

    Hard, fast paced work but worth it if retail is the route you choose.

    Advice to Management

    keep making members and employees the people to please and everyone else will fall in line and be happy too.

    Costco Wholesale2019-09-25
Found 587 reviews