Costco Wholesale "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "No weekends off unless you are a full time employee(in 266 reviews)

  • "if limited part time hard to move to(in 237 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Makes me believe retail can be a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1.) Amazing benefits for $46 a month or $23 a paycheck. I am Part-Time and get to reap the benefits. Good stuff. 2.) Guaranteed 24hr week if you are a regular part-time employee. 3.) Old-Styled Company Environment(also a con.) 4.) Great pay. You get a raise every 1046 hours or something like that. If you're full-time that's one every 5-6 months. Cap out in six years unless you promote. 5.) Management genuinely... cares about quality in its department, workers, and products. It's a breath of relief compared to where I use to work. 6.) Corporate Leaders are actually likeable. I met the CEO a few months ago alongside some of his comrades and genuinely liked the experience. Other district/regional leaders have been generally fun to listen to for advice and making the department upkeep it's quality, purpose, and continue offering the best for the members.

    Show More

    Cons

    1.) Old-Styled Company. Promotions are based off of seniority alongside qualifications, but seniority bares heavy influence when it comes to promotions. 2.) Five-day Availability required, so expect a lot of five-hour shifts. Not an issue for me since I am five minutes away, but I know someone who drives nearly fifty miles for a five-hour shift. 3.) If membership sales are down, your hours will go down. It's not... your fault, the warehouse just doesn't have enough payroll. Even if it's busy every day, Costco makes such a low-profit margin outside of memberships it might not even matter that much. 4.) Don't ever skimp out on remembering certain commandments, quality commandments, and certain policies. You will regret it. Not really a con, but there's a lot to remember. It's usually common sense but when you try to go for a promotion you may be asked to state word-for-word specific policies and commandments. 5.) It's still a retail job. Your schedule may be inconsistent, your days off will be split, you may be asked to work an odd-ball shift here and there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seriously, just keep doing what you're doing. You take everything seriously but you aren't micro-managers. You trust your employees, you don't look over their shoulders, you don't harp on employees unless the issue is a big deal to you, and you keep the work-place fun, even if there is a lot to be done. Your attitudes are seriously the best I have ever come across and instead of being managers, you guys are... LEADERS. Coming to work is fun and I get off of work and I don't feel mentally drained EVER. You try to offer a consistent schedule to me and others, and by that I mean if I'm working every day except Thursday-Saturday, it'll be the same next week if they can schedule you like that again. I've worked with lots of managers who have pre-set everyone's schedules to be the same and just update the schedule if someone has time off or there's a hole that needs to be filled.

    Show More
    Costco Wholesale2019-10-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "An amazing company to work for, but not the best location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tire Center Technician in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great pay and benefits (even for part-time) -Clean working environment -Clear advancement structure -Plentiful employee resources -Management works with student schedules

    Cons

    These cons are mostly associated with the individual warehouse that I worked in and may not be present in other locations. -Lower-level employee work ethic was very low -The higher wages with no incentive programs promote employee complacency and laziness -Unreliable coworkers with constant call outs -Employees promoted based on warehouse needs and not the employee's abilities -Outdated and non-integrated... systems cause for issues -Unreliable coworkers with constant call outs

    Show More
    Costco Wholesale2019-11-05
  3. Helpful (226)

    "Costco is awesome to shop at and work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tire Technician in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I tell everybody that if you do not have a Degree or know a trade, or if you are going to school and need a part time job, you need to work at Costco. To anyone reading this considering working for Costco, know that you could be a part time cart pusher making $25/hr getting bonuses twice a year, with excellent insurance and a 401k. Getting sick/vaca, and all the benefits you can think off. Just for being a good... retail employee. The best way to get in at Costco is you have to know someone already working there who can vouch for you. OR, do what I did and ask for the hiring manager and make sure they know your name and face. That way when they are hiring, and they see your name, they can schedule an interview. Costco main hiring season is March/April. They also hire extra seasonal temporary employees in October. But just know that they can just let you go in January when seasonal position is done. It is a temp job. BUT when March comes around, you can ask for the hiring manager and let him know you worked there seasonal and loved it and want a permanent position. It is best to create a relationship with either the dept manager or hiring manager while working seasonal so they remember you when permanent positions open up. You start off making $13, IF you can get in. You get benefits (incl. sick/vaca) after your 9 month probation. The thing about Costco, if you are reliable and a good worker, meaning you aren't calling in, hardly late, and give excellent customer service, you will make it past your probation. Its that easy. So as long as you make it past your probation period, you will make it at Costco. Costco does not keep bad employees. They have a strict tardy/sick call policy. They have a strict attitude policy. You cannot go to work with a bad attitude and show it. Hint, that's why every time you go to Costco, everyone seems like they love their job. its easy and Costco takes care of them. You get raises based on the amount of hours you work, not by your work ethics like most companies. Like I said earlier, if you are employed at Costco, there is no reason you aren't a good worker or have good work ethics. So raises are based on amount of hours you work. they reward based on how much time you put in. Typically its 50 cents for the first 3 or raises then its $1 after that. Top out pay is near $25. That's how you can be a cashier assistant making great money. It's just based on the amount of time you work. You start out part time, min 24 hours a week. But you can always pick up shifts, ask other dept. to be crossed trained to further your knowledge at Costco making you able to pick up more hours easily. Plus, it lets managements know you are serious about being employed at Costco. Once a full time position opens up, you can apply for it. But know, there are other part timers who are putting in for that spot too who been there longer than you. But if you have no tardys/sick calls, and great relationship with managements/supervisor, and the others have lots of tardys/sick calls, you can easily be picked. The same goes to applying for supervisor positions. I've seen 2 year employees go from pushing carts, to becoming a supervisor and go from $14/hr (24hr/wk) to $26/hr (40wk) because they took care of business. Once you put in enough hours, you start to earn bonuses twice a year (after each inventory). and bonuses are based on, again, the amount of time you work. And its for full timers AND part timers. Another thing that is true about Costco - Sunday Pay. Its time and a half. So if you are making $25 mon-sat, you are making $37.50 on Sunday. You do not get employee discounts. You do get a executive membership ($120 yearly value) and 3 basic members to give out to family/friends ($180 yearly value) The good thing about getting the executive membership free, is that anything you buy (other than gas, pharmacy, and tobacco) you get %2 back yearly. So if you shop there, every year, Costco gives a check of what you earned and you can use it there, or cash it out. SO the pay is great. And like I said before, if you are working there, you are good employee. Which translate to, the people working at Costco are great to work with. You make friends, sometimes long lasting friends. I've seen employees meet their wives there. It is a family oriented retail store. They have EAP (employee Assistant Program) if you ever need it. Costco does care about their employees. Costco have Christmas parties and give away things. You get all major holidays off. Costco is an excellent place to work at. Costco does not mind hiring students. If you are in school, they work around your school schedule. You have to turn in your school schedule and let them know when you can work. They will never make you pick Costco over School. A lot of Costco employees who went to school and graduate sometimes just stay at Costco. I know an employee who finished their teaching degree, but ended up staying at Costco because of pay and everything else great about Costco. That how great working at Costco is. But they will never be a secondary employer. Meaning, if you work for Costco, and have another job, they will not work around another job you may have.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have not read any of the other reviews here, but I will I be honest as I can about any 'cons' working at Costco: Nights and weekends. you give that up. At least until you make it to the top of the totem pole in your dept.. That can be hard if you are in a big dept like 'front end' or in a dept. where employees have been there for a long time. You can ask to have more opening shifts and maybe a weekend off. But... be careful asking for Sunday off (Sunday pay is time and a half). If you are trying to have a family, it is rough working nights and weekends. That is why I went to a different career path. Wife worked 8:30 - 5 m-f. and I wanted to as well. But I know Costco employees who make it work. Favoritism/Friends - I don't see that much. But I know it exists. Costco recognizes that. Their warehouse managers and warehouse manager assistance are rotated with other warehouses to prevent that. However, lower level management usually aren't. I can see how they can create a relationship with their employees. It's honestly just human nature. But it is also unintentional in my opinion. It is your responsibility to recognize that and report it if you feel like you aren't being treated fairly. Costco has an open door policy. Tardy's- That is the only thing that bothered me. If you are late more than 3 times in a 30 day period, you will get written up. This has bit me in the butt a couple of times being that I didn't get out of class in time for whatever reason. Its easy to loose track how many tardy's you have sometimes, but it is your responsibility. The upside to that is, write ups fall off your record after 9 months. Their policy is, if you get written up 3 times within 9 months for the same thing, you will get suspended. if you get written up 4 times within 9 months for different things, you will get suspended. They make it hard to get suspended. You have to be a joke to loose your job at Costco. If you notice you are not able to make your shift on times, it is your responsibility to let you supervisor/manager know to work with you on your shift so you are not late. No call/no show - this is also something that bothered me, but understood why it is like that. According to the handbook, you have to call in no later than an hour before your shift or it is considered a no call/no show. Which means, if you call in 30 mins before your shift, its a no call/ no show. And a no call / no show is an automatic write up. Again, it falls off in 9 months. no biggie. its just, even if you called, if it is within the hour, its a no call no show. Black out days for vacation - This was also annoying working there. But not a deal breaker. Costco busiest time of the year is November and December. You cannot request vacation during November or December. So if you have a family tradition, know you may not be able to attend unless you work something out with the warehouse managers. Sometimes they might work with you, but most of the time, they might tell you 'if I let you have vaca then I'd have to let everyone have vaca'. Inventory - Costco does their own internal inventory twice a year, and the week inventory falls on, you will not be able have that week off. For instance, lets say inventory for your building is the second week of February, more than likely, you won't be able to take that week off. And you for sure will work inventory day. Whether you are running the business, counting that night. So if you anniversary or birthday is on inventory day, the best you can do is just ask to run the business so you can celebrate that night instead of counting inventory after the store closes. If you are counting inventory, your shift will most likely be 6pm-2am. However, inventory is not miserable. It can be fun, especially if you like counting. They do feed their employees who are counting with good food. Also, know if you are eligible for bonuses, you get your bonus on your check shortly after inventory. Which is a good way to keep tract when inventory is, or when you get your bonuses. My cons are not really cons. Like I said, I haven't read any of the other reviews. I am sure most of the bad ones are from losers who couldn't hold a retail job and wanted to come here to talk down about Costco. Like I said before, It is hard to get in, but it is hard to get fired. You have to be a loser to get terminated form Costco. I know I wasn't going to make Costco a career because I was in college. So I wasn't striving to be a manager, even though I did become a part time supervisor in the end. I loved working at Costco. I always knew, had I needed to, I could have made Costco my Career and been happy. I just didn't want to give up my nights and weekends with my wife. Costco is a retail store, but it is not just a job. You can make it a career and become a manager in a dept. making about $60k a year. Or a supervisor making about $40k-$50k a year. you might have to just give up your nights and weekends for it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The only thing I wish Costco did was ask lower level employees (full timers-part timers) surveys about how they think the managers are doing. All level of management. From immediate supervisors to warehouse managers. Then have the warehouse manager review them. Just to get more input from the front line employees who almost matters most in Costco.

    Costco Wholesale2018-02-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Incompetent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker 

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits, can move up if you work long enough

    Cons

    Incompetent management and seasonal hiring plus 90 days is often 6 months before you are an actual employee. Minimum of five days a week working even when part time

    Costco Wholesale2019-10-10
  5. "Good pay hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits for part time employees Time and a half on Sunday

    Cons

    Too much micromanaging when you are a front end associate

    Costco Wholesale2019-09-10
  6. "Best company, great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier, Administrative in Selma, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay at Costco can not be beat. Also giving full benefits to part time employees and having them be affordable was amazing

    Cons

    No real issues, some seemed to have a bit more pull in getting advanced in the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Costco Wholesale2019-08-31
  7. "its a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Major Sales Associate in Saint Cloud, MN

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefits even for part time employees

    Cons

    worker parking is far from building

    Costco Wholesale2019-08-28
  8. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Assistant in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    depending on the location the hours are good whether you want more or less with a minimum of 24 hours each week. Environment is super friendly and fast-paced, a lot of room for growth within the company. Also the benefits are so good! for part time you get dental health and vision which is almost unheard of.

    Cons

    Honestly if you aren't a hard worker you won't last here but I wouldn't say there was much of anything that I didn't like. They rotate supervisors often at my store and sometimes they don't know how to run the board properly which keeps accountability for all of the front-end employees which could be upsetting with break times being off, but if you have a good attitude and want to work this job is great!

    Costco Wholesale2019-08-28
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gas Station Attendant in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, pay raises, growth opportunity

    Cons

    hard to get out of part-time

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Costco Wholesale2019-08-19
  10. Helpful (4)

    "This company is horrible to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End/Meat Wrapper in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The starting pay is the only decent thing but they expect you to do $25 per hour worth of work for only $15 per hour.

    Cons

    If you work in any department except front end you are not guarenteed your breaks which is against labor laws. No matter how hard you work and try they will always tell you there is " a lack of urgency". They do this to try to get you to work harder even if youre giving everything you have and more. They make you start off with part time hours to take advantage of the new hires and will only schedule you 4-6 hours... per day and then they will look down on you if you dont " volunteer" to stay over and help them close the store til 11pm to midnight. Thats also against the labor rules its called involuntary overtime even though you haven't hit overtime it still counts because it was not schedualed on your shift. This place is not family oriented. Not recommended if you have a family.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Forcing people to work past their schedualed shift is never good for the staff. And making your new hires all close and work every weekend makes it impossible to see family which is the main reason I quit. Also the managment telling employees that they arent working hard enough or have a sense of urgency is pathetic if someone is there everyday, always ontime, always doing their job, and lives 1 hour away. This was... by far the worst company I have ever worked for in my 19 years of working. 1 week of vacation after 1 year of employment is also a joke. The standard is 2 week vacation after 1 year with most companies.

    Show More
    Costco Wholesale2019-09-21
Found 539 reviews